We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere and the Best Burger!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of California Cafe - CLOSED

California Cafe
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main
Description: Located in charming Old Town, California Cafe offers an escape from the outside world. We feed the senses - California style - through our chef-driven creations, engaging service, and relaxing ambiance.
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and the Best Burger!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I must say the blue cheese burger is the greatest. No need to add anything to this one. Bun, everything is delicious. The greek salad was good. Nice seating outside enjoying the local flare. Service is a bit slow and could be more professional. Have the burger when you go, they are noted for this.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbe570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    51
    31
    21
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“"Build-your-own-Bento-Box" a huge hit with the kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Our 3 kids love building their own dinner with the "build-your-own-bento-box" item. It's also an unbelievable $5.25. What value.

For the adults the mushroom bisque is to die for, and my wife and I usually order either the Angel Hair Pasta & Prawns, the Tuna Poke, or both. If you're into desserts, don't stop, go straight to the bread pudding.

Also enjoyed the organic Bonterra Cab.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nieroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent ambience, and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

we sat on the porch, with a few friends - had some brunch around 2pm, which was excellent, and of course, the weather was to die for.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sxb075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“decent food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Predictable food, decent service, nice place for a business lunch

Helpful?
1 Thank cadagility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
529 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Our first visit in ten years! Had Sunday brunch at an outside table in glorious weather. Friendly welcome and shown straight to our table. The staff a re clearly well trained as everything works like clockwork and they are all very pleasant without being over familiar or intrusive. Drinks ordered came immediately. I had beef hash with potatoes and peppers and my wife had eggs benedict - these were on scones which she didn't like, but the eggy bit was great! The restaurant is huge inside and about half of the tables were occupied. This is still one of Los Gatos's jewels in restaurant terms and will be on our list of places to revisit - I just hope it's not another 10 years! Bill was about $50.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing