We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this getaway close to home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Gatos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Los Gatos
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
San Francisco
Level Contributor
199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Loved this getaway close to home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was surprised to find a wonderful, perfect place to get away for a night or two so close to where I live in the San Francisco area. The Hotel Los Gatos is in the main downtown area of Los Gatos only a block or so from restaurants and shops. The hotel is gorgeous, a true Spanish or Tuscan villa with all amenities. We had a suite that had a separate living room area and every piece of furniture and every color scheme was so beautiful that I felt I could just move in.

There's a lovely small pool in the courtyard area and there was outdoor music on this Sat. night. The lobby is a huge area that also felt like part of grand villa. The people are nice and they have been schooled in making you feel very special and welcome. I can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We had room #248. There are many suites exactly like this one, and I think it is worth the extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tapestries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear tapestries:

Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Los Gatos. We would be delighted to be your local getaway! We are grateful for your kind message. We hope to see you again in the near future. Enjoy your day.

Sincerely,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    92
    35
    16
    10
See reviews for
86
162
16
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night with a great experience! We booked late and arrived late. The hotel has a beautiful setting, friendly staff and good atmosphere. The room was very very nice with a rustic and mexican feeling and we got to spend the whole afternoon by the pool after check-out. It felt very luxuries!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikaelfanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mikaelfanny:

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to share your feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Los Gatos. On behalf of the entire staff we are grateful for your comments. We hope to see you again in the near future. Enjoy the day.

Sincerely,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for four days in August, 2013. The service was great, the people friendly and accommodating. the rooms were clean, attractive and well maintained and the hotel was just on the edge of town, so walking distance from everything. In addition, the hotel's restaurant was awesome. Dio Deka, while having slipped just the tiniest notch from their Michelin star perch, served great food and was one of the highlights of our stay. Make a reservation, bring your wallet and leave your budget at home. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Our room faced the lovely courtyard and pool. This is an "adult" hotel and while there wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ_Traveler214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear AZTraveler214:

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Hotel Los Gatos and can't say enough great things about it. The size of the hotel (71 rooms) is just perfect. The old-world style of decor is beautiful. But we were MOST impressed with the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Everyone was wonderfully service-focused and there really wasn't a single negative experience throughout our stay. So would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. The only suggestion we'd have is that if you need a bit more room to spread out, book a junior suite. We had a regular king room, but wish we had just a bit more space. Overall, fantastic experience! We will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjsinop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear PJ:

We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review!!! We hope to see you again in the near future. Enjoy the rest of your Summer. Thanks again!
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The location was perfect. Walking distance to restaurants and the town was very nice. The service at the hotel was really good. A special thanks to the man in the breakfast restaurant!! The rooms were very romantic and the cleaners did a great job. Stayed for 12 nights and couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Californiaforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear CAforever:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Los Gatos. We are so grateful for your kind words. We hope you think of HLG again for your vacation spot. Enjoy your Summer!

Sincerely,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Lost Gatos was perfect. Our family stayed in a Parlor Suite and loved every minute of it. The decor was Euopean and tastfully done, so relaxing. The kids slept in the Parlor on a very comfortable sofa sleeper. Every morning we relaxed on the Parlor Patio with coffee and then off to the pool for more relaxation. I loved how convenient the location is to town and of course coffee shops and shopping. Thank you for such a great stay Hotel Los Gatos.

Room Tip: Parlor Suite is very comfortable for couples or a family of 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Yvonne 7777:

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on your recent visit to Hotel Los Gatos. A perfect way to start the week!!! We appreciate your comments & we hope to see you again in the near future. Enjoy your Summer.
Sincerely,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Nido, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I don't understand the 5s in previous reviews. This is a nice hotel with spacious, well-designed rooms, but there are some gaps that would keep me from rating it a "Excellent".

The Pros:
my room had a living room and bedroom
very helpful staff
great Spanish/California design
amazing Greek restaurant downstairs

The Cons:
limited breakfast offering
dinner is expen$ive with other restaurants a good walk away
I had trash left in my room
spa is no longer on-site
the fitness option is to walk down the street to a gym that didn't impress at least from the outside
walk to the 7-Eleven if you want snacks

So yes, I would definitely stay here again if called to Los Gatos, but it's a not a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Wayne:

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on your recent visit to Hotel Los Gatos. On behalf of the entire staff we appreciate your comments. Enjoy your Summer. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.4 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos
9.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
#2 of 2 in Saratoga
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Gatos

Property: Hotel Los Gatos
Address: 210 East Main Street, Los Gatos, CA 95030
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Gatos 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean sophistication blends with California charm to create a hotel reminiscent of a private villa. Hotel Los Gatos is nestled in historic downtown Los Gatos at the base of the Santa Cruz Mountains and a short drive from hyper-paced Silicon Valley and the soothing Santa Cruz coast. Atmospheric guestrooms capture the color and detail of a private villa. Dio Deka restaurant serves its award-winning Hellenic cuisine, and the Spa Elia offers wellness and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Los Gatos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing