We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the middle of Los Gatos!”
Review of Garden Inn Hotel

Garden Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a cute little hotel in the middle of Los Gatos. Everything is in walking distance. It's quit economical... definitely not fancy, but clean, and many rooms of kitchenettes or microwaves. Did I say that it is smack in the middle of Los Gatos, with the Purple Onion, next door and the Pasteria across the street.

I live in India right now and my house in Los Gatos is rented out, but when we come back for a visit, this is where we stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Okaapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

The standard deluxe room ($115) was excellent. Although small, the room is beautifully decorated, nice furniture and everything you would need including free wireless and drinking water. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large, spotless and well equipped. The setting in little bungalows is really nice too and the property well maintained. The only thing worth keeping in mind is that there seems to be poor noise insulation between the rooms (mine also had a connecting door). If the clock alarm next door goes off, or the TV is on, or people are talking loudly you will hear it.

Despite that one gripe (sorry) I must say this hotel is excellent value for money, absolutely brilliant location right in the town and the staff are super helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

One last tip - the hot water tap in the shower is adjusted (understandably so) not to be scolding hot. But if it is not hot enough, the maintenance guy will come and adjust it. Just ask.

Room Tip: Get a room on an end unit and not with a connecting door between rooms - it may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryGilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The rooms are a bit small...but who cares! The hotel is in the middle of everything! It's a quick walk to restaurants and shops. Plus, the staff are very nice and helpful. This is my second stay, and I'll be headed back!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

They gave us a deal for $89 because the AC was out in this particular room. We were fine with the open window and ceiling fan. This is a very quaint, small, prewar garden courtyard place. There's nothing fancy going on here. The architecture is fantastic, the landscaping is superb, and you easily can picture the historical significance of the place/influence of old Hollywood (Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMaggio stayed here on their hotel night in room 34). I enjoyed the concept of it, and mostly enjoyed my experience. However, whoever did their renovation in 1999 made some poor choices in things like the bathroom cabinet, hooks, bedspread, lamps....all this stuff is from Target...I recognize it. It had a cheap look. For example, the bathroom tiles and tub were recovered with that ceramic paint stuff. However, there was plenty of hot water and I loved the vintage huge tub and took a great hot bath. Somebody with an eye for the style of this place needs to take over the decorating, and understand that you get what you pay for as far as mattresses, furnishings, etc. I was told they have new owners and that they're slowly fixing up the place. It's gorgeous and should not be left to somebody who doesn't know what a gem they have.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a new mattress. Supposedly they're being replaced soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sloopy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

First the good things: this is one of the less-expensive hotels in the Los Gatos area. The rooms are elegant and decorated in a homey way. The rooms are clean and well cared-for.

That's about all the positive things I can say though. I don't recall ever staying at a hotel that did not have someone available at the front desk after 10:30. Our air conditioner went out on our second night's stay and we had a very difficult time sleeping in the 80-degree heat. When we called the after-hours phone number, the woman was nice, but recommended we "open the windows and turn on the fan." Apparently, the maintenance man was out of the area that night and we couldn't be moved to another room. As far as I'm concerned, that's unacceptable service. When we checked out the next morning, we informed the front desk clerk of the broken air conditioner and she didn't even offer an apology - much less a discount on the night's stay.

In addition, our queen-sized bed was slanted towards the center so my wife and I were clinging to the outsides of the bed all night. In combination with the heat, that makes for an uncomfortable night of sleep. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnH33045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were mother and daughter (adults) who stayed Saturday and Sunday of Mother's Day weekend 2012. The room was quite adequate in size, w/ 2 queen beds, very comfortable and very clean, featuring a separate desk area with extremely comfy large office chair and wi-fi connection. Air-conditioner worked very well and quietly. Ceiling fan was a plus. Room-darkening drapes kept light out at night. There was a flat screen tv with Direct TV. Good tub shower, though there was a wait for hot water one time. We made good use of the micorwave and fridge, and were pleasantly surprised to find a cabinet that provided a small counter-top space, with dishes and utensils inside. Dirty dishes could be left in a covered plastic tub for housekeeping to wash each day. We enjoyed the lovely plants and flowers in the charming patio areas. Outdoor shaded tables were nice in the spring weather. It was a very quiet small single story hotel, with locked entry gates front and rear. Convenient rear access to parking lot, but it is a bit tricky to turn car around to exit the tiny lot. It's best to back into your parking space for easier exit. Everything in the cozy town (with plenty of restaurant options) is within walking distance anyway. Both John and Karen, who alternate managing the front desk are very friendly and helpful. Variety coffees, sweet rolls and fruit are offered in the lobby in the mornings. We felt the price was fair and will stay again on our next trip to Los Gatos.

Room Tip: If you like more space, just ask for one of the larger size rooms. It seems the smaller size rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel has a charming courtyard, resembling old world charm. The rooms are small but well
arranged. A separate space is marked off for an office desk, very comfortable office chair, and good lighting. We found the manager to be very helpful, teaching us how to adjust the heat, &
answering questions. There are laundry facilities for registered guests, free of charge. We loved the area in which it is located, with fine shops, restaurants, larger stores (Whole Foods, etc.), lounges, & a movie theater. Spring had arrived, & the flowers were lovely. We stayed there 10 days the last of March. We hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhnwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.3 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
235 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
164 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn Hotel

Address: 46 E Main St, Los Gatos, CA 95030-6906
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range: $99 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in convenient downtown of Los Gatos, about 15 minutes from San Jose in Silicon Valley. You may walk to restaurants and shops just across the street. Over and above standard hotel services, you get free high speed internet, daily dining vouchers for 5 restaurants, athletic club, all free. We also have kitchenette and free overseas calls for extended-stay guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Garden Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Los Gatos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing