We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Clean, Convenient”
Review of Garden Inn Hotel

Garden Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were mother and daughter (adults) who stayed Saturday and Sunday of Mother's Day weekend 2012. The room was quite adequate in size, w/ 2 queen beds, very comfortable and very clean, featuring a separate desk area with extremely comfy large office chair and wi-fi connection. Air-conditioner worked very well and quietly. Ceiling fan was a plus. Room-darkening drapes kept light out at night. There was a flat screen tv with Direct TV. Good tub shower, though there was a wait for hot water one time. We made good use of the micorwave and fridge, and were pleasantly surprised to find a cabinet that provided a small counter-top space, with dishes and utensils inside. Dirty dishes could be left in a covered plastic tub for housekeeping to wash each day. We enjoyed the lovely plants and flowers in the charming patio areas. Outdoor shaded tables were nice in the spring weather. It was a very quiet small single story hotel, with locked entry gates front and rear. Convenient rear access to parking lot, but it is a bit tricky to turn car around to exit the tiny lot. It's best to back into your parking space for easier exit. Everything in the cozy town (with plenty of restaurant options) is within walking distance anyway. Both John and Karen, who alternate managing the front desk are very friendly and helpful. Variety coffees, sweet rolls and fruit are offered in the lobby in the mornings. We felt the price was fair and will stay again on our next trip to Los Gatos.

Room Tip: If you like more space, just ask for one of the larger size rooms. It seems the smaller size rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 63 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel has a charming courtyard, resembling old world charm. The rooms are small but well
arranged. A separate space is marked off for an office desk, very comfortable office chair, and good lighting. We found the manager to be very helpful, teaching us how to adjust the heat, &
answering questions. There are laundry facilities for registered guests, free of charge. We loved the area in which it is located, with fine shops, restaurants, larger stores (Whole Foods, etc.), lounges, & a movie theater. Spring had arrived, & the flowers were lovely. We stayed there 10 days the last of March. We hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhnwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here over the 13-15 April weekend and were very pleased with the experience.

We were in room 41 in the Garden Court area of this small property. Yes, the rooms are small but this is clearly presented in sales channels.

The room we had was cozy, and we expected that. But it was immaculately clean both in the sleeping room and bathroom, and very nicely furnished.

I went to high school in Los Gatos (at the beautiful high school just two blocks away from the Garden Inn) and had always been curious about this place. I'm happy to say that its cute exterior fronts for an equally nice interior. If you don't like small rooms then stay at one of the other properties in town, but if you appreciate a classic 1930s/1940s ambiance updated for this era (wifi worked flawlessly) then this is a wise and economical pick. (We paid $109 + tax per night.) Also it's very quiet at night, even though restaurants and bars are anywhere from steps away to only a few blocks distance in this very safe town.

The parking is the one drawback in that the spaces are small, and the lot is difficult to maneuver. The continental breakfast is sparse (couple types of fresh fruit and cellophane wrapped Danish) but the flip side is both Keurig machine coffee and a Nespresso machine.

Front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

Runners tip: one of the most popular places for local runners is the trail to Lexington Dam (1.8 miles one way) which starts 2 short blocks from the Garden Inn. Ask the front desk for details. Two running stores are a short distance away, and two coffee joints are close (one is next door to the hotel in the Los Gatos Soda Works complex.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoomForRent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Booked o room on there website as I had a dinner in Los Gatos and knew it would be a late night..
Should of spent the extra 69.00 and stayed at the Toll House.. Room was SMALL I mean very small!!
shower and bathroom were something out of 1940 Parking was a joke as the lot behind the hotel ws full so I had to walk 3 blocks and park.. DO NOT USE YOUR MONEY FOR THIS PLACE.. Motel 6 is WAYYYYYYYYYY BETTER

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBMORR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We've stayed here a couple of times, and it's a cute place. We paid $99 for a large room (their executive suite :-)), and it is worth it. I would have given it five stars, except my shower went cold very quickly, and the manager did not make any attempt to compensate me. I didn't ask for compensation, and just mentioned the shower going cold in a friendly manner, but wasn't offered anything. I thing a good front desk manager would offer something.

When I give it 4*, it is not a 4* resort, but it deserves 4* for location and what you pay, plus the rooms, while on the small side, are very comfortable.

I would stay here again. Also, be sure to pay the extra $20 to get the larger rooms. I have also stayed in the smaller ones and they are a bit too small, with small bathrooms.

Room Tip: Get a suite, pay a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegraduate07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I so enjoyed my short stay. My room was comfortable and clean and it is a perfect location. The desk staff was helpful and the outside garden area smelled like heavenly jasmine!

Room Tip: I had the executive suite so I had a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redheadtraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We had booked a night here so we could visit old friends. We found it to be just right for what we needed. It is right in the middle of Los Gatos, so it was easy to find and very close to everything. It is very much like an inn/motel. In the lobby, there are pictures of Marilyn Monroe and Joe Dimaggio, evidently they spent their honeymoon here. The rooms were just a tad small, but it was very comfortable. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. They also had Internet access. For the price, this was well worth it..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdGoingSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.3 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
1,264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
0.5 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
5.2 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
3.9 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn Hotel

Address: 46 E Main St, Los Gatos, CA 95030-6906
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range: $99 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in convenient downtown of Los Gatos, about 15 minutes from San Jose in Silicon Valley. You may walk to restaurants and shops just across the street. Over and above standard hotel services, you get free high speed internet, daily dining vouchers for 5 restaurants, athletic club, all free. We also have kitchenette and free overseas calls for extended-stay guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Garden Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Los Gatos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing