We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”
Review of Nick's on Main - CLOSED

Nick's on Main
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We came here for lunch. Parking in Los Gatos is quite difficult. So be prepared to drive around for a while and walk a distance. This place is very busy. We called ahead of time before arrival so we do not have to wait. The service was good also. We started off with the complementary foccaccia bread (very good). I had a couple of lemon drops. Those were good too. We had our wild mushroom soup...the taste was exquisite! I had a dungeness crab sandwich (very good) it came with a side salad and french fries. My husband ordered the lobster tacos (very good). For desert, we had banana bread pudding we shared together. (excellent). Yes I would recommend this place to a friend. But just let people know about the parking situation in Los Gatos to give people more time to find a place to park and walk.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcbauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“So Enjoyable Every Time”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nick's is a cozy place to dine. We enjoy everything and try to go back often. It is a very popular place so reservations well in advance are a MUST. Nick is always there greeting people, which I like to see.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orlando1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stellar Cuisine in Los Gatos”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This popular restaurant is arguably one of the top restaurants in the Silicon Valley area. We went for dinner recently on a dark and stormy night, and the warm ambiance and hum of quiet conversation were a wonderful start to the evening. The selections on the menu looked enticing and our choices turned out to be even more delectable as they arrived at the table. Our server was also professional but gracious, and offered excellent suggestions on the wine and dishes. Everything was simply superb, leaving us with a desire to make a return visit to this gem as soon as possible. Kudos to Nick, his chef, and the entire staff!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pvecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good and fun”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We go to Nick's (now called Nick's Next Door) frequently, and the food is consistently excellent, portions are generous (not small bite French style), and the atmosphere is upbeat and fun. Never disappointing. And Nick has a great personality and really appreciates his customers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Over the Top”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

When Nick opened on Main in a small cozy but smart and upscale place we went and had a very good meal, experienced good wait staff and a fine selection of both California and imported wine selections. He soon outgrew this location. So there were times we could not be accommodated without advance reservations. Even at lunch there could be a wait outside but it was always worth it. Now Nick has moved just off Main in what was a former restaurant and has both indoor and when clement outdoor seating. The place is larger but maintains the warmth and feeling of a upscale French bistro and is just a half block away from the former location.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank floydyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's on Main also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing