We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”

Hot City Barbeque & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 62 Restaurants in Los Banos
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Squaw Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

You just can't beat those ribs and delicious side dishes! A must eat for us every weekend when we are in the area. The beekeepers from MN

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced food by long shot”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Sandwich are overpriced and lacking meat most time food fair service slow small place overrated bbq ok dry sometimes sauce is lacking flavors meat was over cooked one sandwich dry

Helpful?
1 Thank portugessboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
234 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Delicious stop for on the way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were on our way to Bakersfield and we stopped here for Lunch. I took the pulled chicken sandwhich and my dad took the pulled pork sandwhich. They were absolutely delicious! The sauce was amazing and the meat was just so tasty. Dad talked to the man standing at the BBQ saying how the food was amazing. Then the man said how they slow cooked the meat for like 10 hours and put it in the oven for 15 I believe (it might of been the other way round, can't remember exactly).

I really recommend this place if you go through Los Banos.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZooGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife is from West Texas and pronounced this to be authentic pit-style slow smoked "Q". What more do I need to say?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“King of BBQ in the Central Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We used to travel through Los Banos quite often in route to Monterey. We always tried to time our visits with a stop at Hot City BBQ. The days and hours are limited so call ahead to make sure they are open. But the trip and stop is well worth it for some excellent BBQ. Ribs, Chicken, Pulled Pork and sides are all top notch. The owners are very friendly and glad to share how they cook the Cue. Having tasted BBQ in Fla., Texas, Ga., Ala., S.C., Tenn. etc. I can attest that Hot City is genuine BBQ. The seating and parking is limited but one can also call ahead for an order to go and eat it later.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gadams84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot City Barbeque & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Hot City Barbeque & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing