We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice proprietor nice property”
Review of Sun Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Star Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Los Banos
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice proprietor nice property”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel owner greeted me with a smile and provided a very fair price for the room. We were happy with the room. We really appreciated that the lights were on timers/sensors that auto shut off after a while, saving energy. The only draw back was that we prefer bathtubs and our room only had a shower. But we did not ask for the bathtub, so perhaps we could have had one, if we had asked the owner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwc9322777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunstar839, Manager at Sun Star Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out to write this review.
It is wonderful that you visit at Los Banos , ca.
We are honored that you chose our hotel for your stay.
We hope to see you back real soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
20
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great little place we find. We checked in and the lady on the front desk was very welcoming. We were able to check in quickly and was given a choice of room. The room was very clean and tidy. The room and towels were all clean.We found the owner to be very pleasant, when we asked a particular question, the gentleman answered us comprehensively and also chased us down the street when he recalled something else which may be helpful to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigduckhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunstar839, Manager at Sun Star Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoy your stay and see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sac
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I try to be charitable in reviewing cheaper properties. Here again, an option of "fair" would be more accurate than "poor" but I can't in good conscience rate this property "average." Lots of road noise. Pretty shabby room. Old and tired property. Towels worse than my high school gym towels. Two very skinny pillows. The management was friendly, though.

Room Tip: As far away from the highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dscgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunstar839, General Manager at Sun Star Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We offer clean and comfortable room with Lower price. Please do not expect executive amenities with lower price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean but a bit old, e.g. the carpet. Overall it was an okay room. The hotel staff was very friendly. One big minus: the towels were totally worn-out, we also found some bit of hair in one of the towels which was really gross!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel has the nicest people running the place. They are friendly and make you feel welcomed and safe. There's a restaurant next door for breakfast. I agree with MJC that it's the ideal stop off place if traveling in CA.

Thank you to the staff.

RDJ

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseabella71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice room, nice people running the place and ideal stop off place if travelling around california.
Only $55 for the room! No breakfast but there is a great place next door which does breakfast including waffles, try the strawberry waffles!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunstar839, Manager at Sun Star Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for the Review.
It is always a "pleasure" to have satisfied guests'.
We will always do everything possible to make your stay comfortable...
Will see you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

No breakfast but the staff was friendly and the room clean and comfortable. Another review talked about the breakfast? Good place to stay if you are watching your bucks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunstar839, Manager at Sun Star Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your "excellent" review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Banos
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Los Banos CA
Travelodge Los Banos CA
#5 of 9 in Los Banos
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos
0.3 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Los Banos
Red Roof Inn Los Banos
#7 of 9 in Los Banos
48 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maple Inn & Suites, Los Banos
8.7 mi away
Hotel Mission de Oro
Hotel Mission de Oro
#4 of 5 in Santa Nella
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Star Inn

Property: Sun Star Inn
Address: 839 W Pacheco Blvd, Los Banos, CA 93635-3940
Location: United States > California > Los Banos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Los Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Star Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing