We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the best place within 40 miles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Los Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Central California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely the best place within 40 miles”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

What a pleasant surprise. Friendly staff, clean room and bathroom with nice linens, a safe and well lit parking lot -- we felt safe getting stuff out of the car in the middle of the night -- and next door to a very good and reasonably priced Italian restaurant full of locals -- always a good sign. There's a clean and attractive indoor pool with cool murals at either end, and good workout equipment in the adjacent gym room. Next time we head north, we'll plan our drive around this oasis in the middle of the otherwise unremarkable San Joaquin Valley.

Room Tip: Really, do you prefer upstairs or down? Otherwise, we don't know if there's any advantage/di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WattaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you "very much" for the nice review. You are "welcome" anytime to our "Oasis" in the valley.
It is the greatest compliment!
Look forward to seeing you in the new year!
Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    60
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
67
54
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed one night on the way to San Jose from Los Angeles. Front desk clerk was very friendly when we arrived and made us feel welcome. No elevator so we had to walk our luggage to second floor room. The room was large enough and clean but the bathroom was just "adequate".
No extra soap, no extra towels which were pathetically thin and hardly dried us. Water pressure not too good. But the place has the largest indoor pool I have ever seen at a hotel. Water was nice and warm. The pool made the stay worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel & staff.
We appreciate your comments.
I apologize for the "shabby towels". I did realize these were unexceptionable and have removed them from our inventory since your stay. I hope not having a elevator will discourage you from staying with us again. We can certainly accommodate you with a 'ground floor' room for your convenience. At the time of your next stay if there is a missing item or simply not enough, please call the front desk and we will bring that item to you. We want you to have a "good experience" when you stay with us. I am so glad you took advantage of our pool. Winter swims are the "Best!"
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Enjoyed a very nice stay here.Very comfortable room and nice and quiet. Good complimentary breakfast and lovely hot-tub. Very convenient for Merced N.W.R. where there is excellent birdwatching. The staff were all very helpful and offered us coffee and homemade muffins when we arrived.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the "nice" review. We are glad you enjoyed our property.
We hope to see you back soon. Spring time is really nice for bird watching too!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our reservation was ignored/given away at the Economy Inn down the street (just as well), so we came here. The place is beautiful, the staff went out of their way to help us, and we had a nice, quiet room and a good breakfast the next morning. Do yourself a favor---when in Los Banos, stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slclou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for making 'Vagabond Inn Executive' your choice for your lodging needs.
We are very glad we were able to help you with your "situation".
We look forward to seeing you again. And "Thank You" for the "Great" review.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel was nice. It was clean and had very nice rooms for the price. The staff was VERY nice and helpful. The breakfast was decent and seemed to be plentiful. The pool area was large and looked nice.

The only downside to this hotel was it's lack of elevator. Not a major deal, just a little inconvenient for hauling luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the ally, they tend to be warmer on that side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommytoomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
I know it is difficult for some to have to carry luggage upstairs. Hopefully in the near future we will start construction for additional rooms, and an elevator!
Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were in town for a wedding .and stayed 2 nights .Hotel was clean , has a friendly staff, and a good breakfast. It was reasonably priced and centrally located. If I ever passed through Los banos again I would stay here .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. I am so glad you stayed with us.
Hope you enjoyed your stay and hopefully see you again some time.
Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were only here for one night on our way to LA. This place is surprising--from the very nice, spacious lobby to the gorgeous indoor pool. Pretty good breakfast - waffles (no other hot food), cereal, yogurt, some fresh fruit, juices and coffee. Rooms face away from the main street in town, so stay quiet. Sink area is outside the bathroom (where shower and toilet are), so two people can be freshening up. Rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. We would certainly stay here again if we need a place near highway 5.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your "kind" words. We do our best to
keep our hotel running to its optimum.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Banos
0.2 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Los Banos CA
Travelodge Los Banos CA
#5 of 9 in Los Banos
99 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Andersen's Inn
Best Western Andersen's Inn
#1 of 5 in Santa Nella
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Los Banos
Red Roof Inn Los Banos
#7 of 9 in Los Banos
49 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Mission de Oro
Hotel Mission de Oro
#4 of 5 in Santa Nella
100 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maple Inn & Suites, Los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos
Address: 20 W Pacheco Blvd, Los Banos, CA 93635-4041 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Executive Los Banos)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Banos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Los Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Exec Los Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing