We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Los Angeles
Post
Inbox
Search

“Italian at a reasonable price”

Maria's Italian Kitchen
Order Online
Ranked #2,228 of 12,466 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Description: TO GET THE MOST AUTHENTIC ITALIAN FOOD, YOU NEED AUTHENTIC INGREDIENTS Maria’s Italian Kitchens is one of those grand American success stories. Maria’s Italian Kitchens often remind guests of the casual, sometimes boisterous, neighborhood eateries of another era. It began in the Italian quarter of Hoboken, New Jersey, where Madelyn’s mother, Maria, grew up learning the recipes for real Italian food of Naples from her mother, Luisa. This home-grown education in the fundamentals of Napolitano sauces, soups, dressings, ravioli, lasagna and other regional fare was put to delicious use in 1968 when the Alfano’s and their five young children moved to Los Angeles and bought a tiny grocery store called the “Village Mart” in L.A.’s prestigious Brentwood Village located at Barrington Street and Sunset Blvd. and converted the one car garage into the first Maria’s Italian Kitchen in 1975. She must have learned her lessons well because that first Maria’s Italian Kitchen was a huge success.
Restaurant details
Description: TO GET THE MOST AUTHENTIC ITALIAN FOOD, YOU NEED AUTHENTIC INGREDIENTS Maria’s Italian Kitchens is one of those grand American success stories. Maria’s Italian Kitchens often remind guests of the casual, sometimes boisterous, neighborhood eateries of another era. It began in the Italian quarter of Hoboken, New Jersey, where Madelyn’s mother, Maria, grew up learning the recipes for real Italian food of Naples from her mother, Luisa. This home-grown education in the fundamentals of Napolitano sauces, soups, dressings, ravioli, lasagna and other regional fare was put to delicious use in 1968 when the Alfano’s and their five young children moved to Los Angeles and bought a tiny grocery store called the “Village Mart” in L.A.’s prestigious Brentwood Village located at Barrington Street and Sunset Blvd. and converted the one car garage into the first Maria’s Italian Kitchen in 1975. She must have learned her lessons well because that first Maria’s Italian Kitchen was a huge success.
Reviewed May 29, 2019 via mobile

We were staying in the area so wanted somewhere casual and in walking distance.

Had the Margherita pizza which was good. It measured up to pizza that one gets in NYC.

We ate early so place was not busy. Wait service was fast.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank IluvHoratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 24 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

This tiny spot in Brentwood was so great for my nephews birthday dinner! We had a party of 12 and they had a long table waiting. Service was great, friendly on the phone and in person! The food was super! The rosemary bread and calamari were delicious! The Caesar salads were great as was the pasta! The prices were fair and portions were large. I’d certainly go back!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 437KimA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

good place if you have children, or if you want a more relaxed atmosphere, good size portions and great garlic bread.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank barbarabuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelyn A, Owner at Maria's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2019

It is my pleasure to provide you with nothing short of excellent service and food and we truly appreciate you sharing with us! We strive to be your neighborhood Italian restaurant and we're happy to read that you and your family enjoyed! Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon! Grazie, Maddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018

I had the chicken paramegana with pasta and hubby had an Italian Sausage pasta. The sauce on the chicken and the pasta was quite bland..had to ask for salt which I never do! His was a bit better. We had a GREAT server, however the other servers at other tables were quite inattentive and even rude at times. I don't think I would come back.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank keithflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018

Really tasty itallian cuisine. I liked their penne with shrimps and in vodka saouce. Also they have good wines.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank 786malgorzatac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelyn A, Owner at Maria's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review, as consistently providing delicious food from the best and authentic Italian recipes is something we are incredibly passionate about. We appreciate your loyalty to our restaurant, and hope to see you soon! Grazie, Maddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Maria's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing