We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Castle

Magic Castle
Ranked #53 of 9,854 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a fun evening here, were able to get in as we were guests at the Magic Castle Hotel next door. This old mansion has been converted to a private club. The experience starts with saying the password to an owl, which opens the door to let you in. Three levels of rooms--bars, various sized stages, lounge areas, dining room--all filled with pieces of magical history and caricatures collected by the owners over the years. Multiple performances going on all the time, some requiring a ticket or lining up, some you can just sit at the table and join in. The quality of the acts varied but we had fun at all of them. It was nice to be able to engage with some of the performers. The meal was very good--we had prime rib and filet--and with a bar in every room we were never thirsty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    90
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Amazing experience, great service and dinner. The ambiance is incredible and a wonderful place to visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bethanmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel and went to the Castle for an evenings entertainment it is a one of a kind experience recommend it to all.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did not live up to the expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have heard about this place for years and have been invited many times and finally decided to see what it was all about. It is basically an old mansion with different magic shows going on in different rooms all night. The food was not great. The magic was not great. It is very crowded and there is some waiting involved. You can interact with magicians at small tables and we enjoyed that more than the shows. Overall, I wouldn't personally go back, but there are many people who love the place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went with a member to the castle, which was wonderful. He knew the ins and outs of the place, and its a big place! Wonderful way to spend the evening. The building is gorgeous and there's so much life and history all around you. Every single room we went into had a stellar performance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeboOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Castle also viewed

 

Been to Magic Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing