We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seats A bit crammed together.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Castle

Magic Castle
Ranked #50 of 9,846 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Seats A bit crammed together.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The food was delicious, overpriced but that's expected. Order the NY strip! I thought it would be part of the experience to eat here. But you can do without.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neversayneverFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    90
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Still Magical at the Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This historical venue is a great place to explore, have a drink, a meal and be amazed. The close-up rooms feature performers in a very intimate setting, and are the most impressive. Excellent value and very entertaining.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank madmadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best time we had in Hollywood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel with my 16-year-old grandson, and we went to the Magic Castle Sunday morning brunch. It was truly a magical morning for us, as two of our favorite TV and movie stars were there at the same brunch, and we got to meet them. It's hard to separate the brunch experience from the experience of meeting those stars, but I'll try to. All of the food at the brunch was very good, but I'd have to say that there was nothing that was outstanding or different from other brunches I've been to. We went to three magic shows afterwards and really enjoyed all of them. Both my grandson and I were invited to participate on-stage, which was fun. This is a great place for family fun on Sunday, but I believe that you have to be invited by a member or be a guest at the Magic Castle Hotel in order to attend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cranelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We came for the magic, but really enjoyed the food. Salads and dinner were great and wait staff was excellent. I appreciated the explanation of why I couldn't take a beautiful picture through the window of the Roosevelt Hotel. (Cary Grant was watching). We weren't there for dinner so didn't relax over dessert.

The rest of Magic Castle was excellent, from the shows to the various impromptu acts to the helpful staff to the bartenders providing libations. It ain't cheap, but it is worth the price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank knight2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Level Contributor
167 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A chance to see real magicians performing in their club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The exclusivity of this place is the drawcard. If you are not a member or invited by a member or not staying at the Magic Castle Hotel next door, you simply won't get in.
$25 cover charge allows you to watch several local and sometimes international magicians from the Academy of Magical Arts perform up close and personal.
A pre-show meal is mandatory. Food and wine was excellent as well as the service.
That's all I will say and will leave the rest for you to find out, oh, and don't forget to say the magic words that will let you enter the club ;-)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Castle also viewed

 

Been to Magic Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing