We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fancy Creative Food!”

The Bazaar by Jose Andres
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bazaar by Jose Andres is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 9,887 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: San Vicente Blvd.
Description: Deemed "Four Stars" from the Los Angeles Time, finalist for the James Beard Awards' "Best New Restaurant," named Esquire Magazine's "Restaurant of the Year" and Zagat's "Top Newcomer," The Bazaar by Jose Andres is a vibrant mix of sophisticated cuisine and playful lounge spaces where dining transcends into fete extraordinaire. Experience a collection of magical dining experiences, entwined in a modern-day, European-inspired "indoor piazza" -- savor pioneering culinary creations, delicacies from roving carts and delicious libations by James Beard Award-Winning Chef Jose Andres. **From October to November join Jose Andres in celebration of the opulence of white truffle season with the third annual White Truffle Dinner Series at SAAM . The multi-course dinner unearths the flavors of the truffle through the playful imagination and inventive gastronomic vision.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fancy Creative Food!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Have been visiting here since 2011.
I love this place even though the portion is very tiny tiny....but it's worth coming here with friends!

The food and the drinks are very creative here. One of the few outlet that has gastronomic cocktails...that actually tastes good!!

It's a popular place to hangout in the evening, on the weekends, so ofcourse it's noisy and crowded... but if you want to enjoy this place you can try out in the afternoon as well.
Their high tea is good as well.
Here...you pay for the atmosphere and their creativeness! because everything here is fancy. from the decor to the food :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HYX-Curious-Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    190
    77
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connectict
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We came for our daughter in law's 30th birthday dinner- four serious "foodies" and a month-old baby in a stroller. The food was indescribably delicious, and beautifully presented. Every bite was a revelation. The service was friendly but supremely professional.The high-style decor was a blast, and made the occasion extra festive. Yeah, it's loud-- but it covered up a few fussy baby moments very sucessfully! We particularly loved the way the incredible desserts are served in another part of the restaurant. And the cocktails!! Don't miss splurging on one of the amazingly weird and wonderful ones!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning food in a stunning location!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I absolutely LOVED this restaurant!! We had the tasting menu, and every single course was beautiful!! The restaurant gets very busy, and therefore noisy, and the restaurant/hotel is very trendy, so maybe it's not for everyone, but I absolutely would go back and would recommend it in a heartbeat!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Who wants a friendly restaurant?”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our last restaurant to try on a recent weekend trip to Los Angeles. So we were comparing Bazaar to other restaurants in the same area like STK, Bagatelle, and SUR. The restaurant was very LOUD, which we don't mind. Just means there are lots of people with lots to say. They always say First Impressions are the most important. When we checked in with the Hostess, we were a full hour early as we wanted to enjoy the bar first. Our usual thing is sit side by side as my wife and I feel this is always more romantic and easier to people watch and talk without yelling across the table. Our hostess just said "We don't do that here. All the tables for two must sit across from each other." To which my usual reply to any restaurant that has said that to us in the past (Maybe two that I can remember) "Well, that won't work for us".

So, we found our way to the bar. There were plenty of open seats at the very long communal table. After about 10 minutes of neglect from any bar server, I approached the bartenders where I noticed nobody was standing. I was politely told that they couldn't take my order, it had to be through one of the servers and he would send one over promptly. Another 10 minutes went by before a server did come to see what she could do for us. She casually complained to us that the German group next to us was harassing her. We didn't observe anything like that but figured she was overworked and underpaid at least in her own humble opinion. The drinks were ok and expensive but you should expect that at this caliber of a restaurant. Since were side by side at the bar, we chose to order food and stay there. No complaints with the food we ordered off of the bar menu. Will we go back? Not likely. We received much better service at STK, SUR, and Bagatelle. Too many other fine restaurants to try in this area also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Southpawfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly an wonderful experience...”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Bazaar is truly a experience in every way, including the food, ambience, and service. Of course I was fortunate to be a "special guest" as my friend and I were doing and advance test of the food for an event. The executive chef recommended courses for us to try and took care of us in every way. The best way I can explain it is that the food popped with flavor! Their special drink mixology is amazing as well. It is an upscale and trendy place for that special occasion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bazaar by Jose Andres also viewed

 

Been to The Bazaar by Jose Andres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing