We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, reasonable price”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #26 of 9,887 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cajun & Creole, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Universal City Area
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable price”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My friend and I had lunch at Bubba Gump as a break from the Universal Studios theme park.
The restaurant was quiet when we got there and we were quickly shown to our table.
Our drinks order was quickly taken and although we had been to a Bubba Gump’s before, we were shown the system of letting your server know when you needed service (just turn the sign from Run
Forrest Run to Stop Forrest Stop!)
The food was delicious – I had Accidental Fish & Shrimp and my friend the Fish & Chips.
The portions were on the large size for us Brits, but we made a good attempt at finishing!
The only criticism would be the lack of atmosphere in the restaurant, but this may have been because of the time we went in. In other Bubba’s we have had more interaction with the server, with Forrest Gump quizzes, but there didn’t seem to be any of this at the City Walk location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank disneyholic_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    332
    122
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level Contributor
124 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Visited Bubba Gump previously in Miami and after a long day at Universal, decided to try it out at Citywalk. The shrimps were delicious and are most definitely the chain's speciality. Good meal, good atmosphere and good prices. No need to try all the outlets, as the food taste the same at every one, Cajun shimps were delicious !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IpscLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bubba Gump City Walk”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We attended Bubba Gump's at about 7PM on a Friday night .We only waited for approx 5 minutes before we were escorted to a table .The staff were attentive and fast .We had our entrees before we finished our appetizers .Our waiter attended our table and engaged us in a game of Forest Gump trivia .We had a great time .The chowder was comparable to anything I have had in Boston or Halifax .Quite good .I recommend the Shrimp combo .The staff really made our experience .We look forward to a return visit .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomchuck19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An experience not just a meal.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

As regular's at Bubba Gump's we knew what to expect but this was probably one of the best one's we have visited in the US. Our server, Zeke was great, a real character who added to the experience. We didn't have to queue and were seated quickly, our food was served promptly and was excellent. I had the shrimp tacos which were really nice but be aware before you order, they are spicy. My wife's pear and berry chicken salad was excellent. The chocolate chip sundae desert was amazing but one was enough for three of us!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for a stop off after visiting the park”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having visited Bubba Gump after a day in Universal in Florida a few years back without the kids, we couldn't resist but do the same with the kids this time. It didn't disappoint. The waiters were great fun, the Forrest Gump memorabilia added a great touch and although the food isn't the greatest, it's good and especially filling for someone from the UK (although we did have desserts!)

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing