We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Orlando is a real find”
Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #36 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
La Crescenta, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Orlando is a real find”
Reviewed March 22, 2006

My friend and I stayed at the Orlando and couldn't have been happier. I arrived early for check in and they were able to accommodate me. From the moment I pulled in to the valet parking area, I felt welcomed. After arriving in my room, the front desk attendant called to make sure everything was alright. The bedding is wonderful and the beds comfortable. The parking is outrageous ($20 per car), but includes in and out privileges.
The restaurant was great - a nice open space. The complimentary breakfast was also top notch - not some day-old rolls, but granola, milk, yogurt, fruit and meat and cheese. Also, was able to order eggs and/or pancakes.
Wasn't able to check out the pool - it was closed.
Also, I think there was some remodeling going on in the room next door, so you might want to ask about that when you make your reservation.

Helpful?
3 Thank Robin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    280
    70
    37
    29
See reviews for
173
218
77
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago IL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2006

The Orlando's staff is attentive and helpful but as others have mentioned, the rooms are a bit junky for the price, especially the bathrooms. If you are there for shopping, there's plenty of good places around there -- Plastica, Built By Wendy, Paul Frank et al but other than that, the neighborhood is rather boring.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beans and Cornbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 22, 2006

The lobby area is lovely. But, the individual rooms are worn, tired and quite unkempt looking. The rugs and chairs were very stained and dirty. We didn't even want to sit in the chairs. The bathrooms are very much in need of repair and updating.

Service was less than responsive. We waited at the pool almost one hour and several calls later for towels. Several of the front desk/guest relations gentlemen seemed rude and condescending. However, the staff in the restaurant were very nice and willing to please.

Other than the gracious staff in the restaurant and good hotel location, there is nothing else to compliment.

I would not recommend this facility, even with its competitive price. It is worth spending a few more dollars to stay somewhere clean and where staff are responsive and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2006

Stayed two nights here over Christmas.

Good sized room but the bathroom could have done with a lick of paint.

Swimming pool is small, as is the gym.

Breakfast was ok, but the deal we had meant some things were excluded - including orange juice for some strange reason. Not a great amount of choice in the buffet either. We had a meal in the restaurant on Christmas Day night which was very good though.

Great location, extremely central and the ten dollar taxi voucher they give you is a nice touch but the taxi drivers won't ask if you've got vouchers, even if they pick you up from the hotel.

Staff were helpful and generally courteous.

Overall an ok place for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peejdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2006

The Orlando was a wonderful place to stay during our brief visit to LA. My husband and I along with many other Texas Longhorn fans,spend several nights at this boutique hotel. Great location, great breakfast, courteous staff.

Helpful?
8 Thank newtonSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2005

I really stuggled with choosing a hotel for our most recent Los Angeles 4 day trip, but was very pleased with our choice of The Orlando. I discovered a special on their website which rewarded us with and Ipod nano with a 3 night stay in one of their Executive Floor rooms. These rooms have been recently renovated and were very up to date and pleasant. The bathrooms are small, but fine. Our stay also included full breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, La Terza, which was excellent. We had dinner there one night as well and the meal was very good. I was most pleased with the hotel's location on 3rd St. which has many "hip" shops and wonderful restaurants. It is also an easy walk to the Beverly Center for those who need a mega-mall and a bit longer walk to the famous Farmers Market which is also a great spot for a variety of great cuisines. Probably the biggest downfall is the traffic noise from 3rd St, but I must say, I am a light sleeper, but slept just fine. The staff is very accomodating with helping with tour and restaurant reservations as well as directions and advice on good restaurant choices.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank teedeeandchelchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 10, 2005

Good location. Friendly and attentive staff. Nice restaurant with a good breakfast as part of our rate. Tired and rather dirty rooms - stains on carpets, furniture, etc. No fitted sheets on the mattresses - just top sheets tucked under which tended to come out during the night. Our room was unavailable on the first night so we were sent to another property. The first night was comped although we are still waiting for the charge reversal on the credit card - 10 days later.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,348 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 20 in West Hollywood
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#40 of 351 in Los Angeles
535 reviews
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
963 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#97 of 351 in Los Angeles
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Property: The Orlando Hotel
Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing