We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise”
Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #35 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We arrived to find a very large room with 2 queen beds, soft linens and complementary bathrobes. The one drawback was the platforms that held the beds, the wood corners stick out far beyond the mattresses and we left with large bruises from bumping into them. The staff was friendly. Our car came back from valet parking the last day with what looked like coffee splashed all over it. They denied any responsibility and we are quite sure we did not bring the car in that way. They finally, reluctantly, offered to clean it for us but we passed as we were leaving town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayCee7030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 826 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is a few blocks from The Grove, Beverly Center and Farmers Market. My daughter and I stayed here with plans on spending a day at the American Girl store. This hotel offers an American girl package including take home robes, slippers and beds for your doll. Your daughter also has her picture taken with her doll and a cute personal welcome letter. The staff contacted me a few days before our trip to get the names of my daughter and her doll. They personalized everything and welcome my daughter and doll by name every time we so much as stepped into the lobby. The hotel was spotlessly clean and very modern. This is a memory the two of us will always cherish.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carter05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here in March 2014. We enjoyed the location and the fact that some rooms do have 2 Queens which is great if you're travelling with teenagers. If you enjoy walking, Beverly Hills and West Hollywood are about 2 miles away and The Grove shopping area is about 1 mile away. Another mall, Beverly Hills Center is just a few blocks away. The hotel is clean, the service personnel were very friendly. The only downside is the lack of counter space in the bathroom, and drawers in the bedroom. Overall though a nice find and recommended for families travelling with older kids.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Orlando is a great hotel in terms of location - unfortunately, the hotel is old and really needs a facelift. Let's start with the carpet - ugh, gross. We had multiple rooms in the hotel, and everyone complained of how old and dirty the carpet was. Second, the poorly painted furniture - everything is painted dark brown, and it is really showing its wear. The rooms also smelled musty, not sure if it was the carpet or just the old building. Didn't go out to the pool, but the gym leaves much to be desired as well.

The bathrooms were decent - though I did see a lot of long black hair that wasn't mine. Service was good, front desk was nice and polite.

The best part of this hotel is the restaurant next door. We ate multiple breakfasts and dinners here, and the evening wait staff is fantastic. The food was great quality, and a nice change of pace considering most hotel food is barely edible!

Will stay here again for business because it's what our client prefers, but if I was traveling for pleasure, I would definitely find something a little newer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLW0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

You can't go wrong with the orlando hotel. Great location, helpful staff, modern decor, heated pool with cabanas, free wi fi, walking distance to farmers market and great restaurants. My daughter and I had a wonderful time and felt safe walking around this neighborood. The staff was accomodating and allowed us to check in early depending on availability of room. I would stay longer if I could. Prices are on the upscale side but I got a deal through bookit.com for $130 a night.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank PnkRaeNjEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights from 10 March and loved every minute of it. The staff are so friendly from the valet guys to the reception staff. The reception staff were so helpful with everything from directions to restaurant recommendations. The room was lovely and extremely spacious. The bed was huge and so comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah8384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a great little hotel. Rooms are large and nicely furnished. Good size bath - nice amenities. Staff is friendly and helpful. Best feature of all is the location. Near shopping and restaurants and I even had a view of the HOLLYWOOD sign from my window. My room faced the street and was a little noisy - not bad but traffic sounds....to me was worth it for the good view. Price on the room was very good. There is a nice restaurant attached to the horel that has outdoor/indoor seating with good tapas. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 302 is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmmlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,385 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#95 of 354 in Los Angeles
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#57 of 354 in Los Angeles
633 reviews
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#40 of 354 in Los Angeles
565 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $217 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing