We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool boutique hotel, great location”
Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #35 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Really, reaaally comfy beds! and the staffs are friendly.
and well located as well! definitely go back for my next LA trip!
One thing that I didn't like was the noisy elevator.. but the noise wasn't that loud so OK.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ficedulaparva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
There are newer reviews for The Orlando Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 812 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel multiple times!!! Great rooms, beautiful bathrooms with great showers, great location and a very happening bar, the Churchill, downstairs! Parking the car overnight a bit expensive ($30!!!) thus leave car somewhere else! The only issue bathroom doors are sliders thus not closing so if you want a bit of privacy forget it!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Orlando 2 times in the last 6 months and had bad experiences both times!! The last one was the worst one. Jack hammering in my head early in the morning each morning was not pleasant... Then the air conditioner in the room kept shutting off everyday!!! Patio furniture being dragged across the patio outside my room at 2 and 3 in the morning was not pleasant either. I changed my room 3 times in 10 days and was very sleep deprived when i checked out. Rooms in the summer are very over prices too!!! I would sleep in a ditch before i go back there again..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A great little hotel with a friendly, supportive staff that is also a good value. It is within walking distance of major landmarks or a short cab ride away. I enjoyed my stay there and plan to return the next time I am in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Smile when you arrive. It will be returned and expect more than anticipated.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is a few blocks away from the Farmers Market in West Hollywood. Rooms are large, well equipped and very clean. There is a nice outdoor pool and lounge area, pool isn't large but catches the sun in the afternoon and water very warm. Parking is about $20 per night, valet parking and great staff. Breakfast is available in the Churchill bar and restaurant integrated into the hotel but is a separate business, it is expensive though, $80 for 4 of us, coffee, juice and scrambled eggs. I would recommend a walk across to the Beverley Centre (opposite side of the road) there is a bakery with wider choice and about half the price. We are a familly with 2 teenage kids and had 2 rooms, one twin and one king, both were excellent however ours was on the road side of the hotel and there was a lot of noise from the bar below and the road on Saturday night. Id recommend dinner at the Ivy, 15 minute walk from the hotel and very good food.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side or the back on a higher floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottsUKfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed 3nights on a biz trip. They only had one room available when I arrived (though I booked a week in advance). Lucky for me the room was a deluxe, poolside king room and they gave it to me, no extra charge (not that I would have paid it anyway, lol).
It was clean, and though it was obvious some renovations had been done to bring it up to a more modern feel, it did not appear to be a cheap reno, as some reviewers have mentioned.

The staff went out of their way on every occasion to make me comfortable and were helpful in sorting a few things out for me with a package, a trip to Malibu, and the happy hour at the nice little bar attached to the restaurant.

My only complaint was that one of the elevators was down upon my arrival. It was pretty much beside my room and the workers started fixing it at 7 am, making a lot of noise.

Oh, and the bowel's of granny smith apples everywhere were such a treat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed one night in August 2013 with my wife while on a business trip. We chose the hotel because of its Tripadvisor rating and proximity to clients. The hotel Orlando appears to have been recently renovated and the room décor is modern. Our room (532) was very quiet, clean and had a very, very comfortable bed. The robes, slippers, and upscale toiletries are a nice touch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location to local attractions and restaurants as referenced by the other reviewers is a big plus. This hotel has earned its Tripadvosor rating but our tastes for a boutique hotel are a bit more traditional than that offered by the Orlando.

Room Tip: Our room 532 was on the backside of the hotel and was very quite.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#6 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,371 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#92 of 352 in Los Angeles
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#39 of 352 in Los Angeles
558 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
882 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#69 of 352 in Los Angeles
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $220 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing