We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but you call that a pool!?!”
Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #37 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Orlando is a great place to stay and is in a great location on 3rd. Like most entry level luxury hotels they suffer from lack of maintenance quickly, due to the sheer number of visitors and lack luster management oversight. The entrance is small, but nice enough, then you walk into the elevator after getting your room key and.....yuck the fabric panels are stained and dirty!! Unacceptable not to have the fabric clean and presentable. Rooms are hit and miss, as some are much nicer then others in the same room category like their standard king. I have stayed here more then five times and have had to ask for another room several of them due to ranging room maintenance problems like stains on the carpet and street facing location issues which some suffer from intrusive outside noise. Overall the rooms are well designed, functional and most bathrooms are well done even with the small space afforded to them. You'll be more personally satisfied with your stay for business or pleasure if you can snag a promotional rate. The Churchill is always hopping with people and food is good if you don't want to venture out.

So what's the deal with the pool?? It's a plunge pool and not really functional for most people unless you want to just get your feet wet with a drink, so stay at the SLS if you really want to have a pool party. They would have received more bang for their investment if they put a large hot tub there instead, just saying.

Room Tip: upper floors and/or pool facing
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AA Flyer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for The Orlando Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 812 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Orlando was the perfect choice for a long weekend stay in this lively neighborhood of LA. Life was so easy for a few days. Personable staff members, the Magnolia Bakery across the street, sidewalk cafes, and a short pleasant walk to the Farmer's Market and the Grove. And flamboyant vegetation at every corner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clc1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Lovely Hotel, clean and modern, very comfortable beds, great friendly helpful staff. The best location with a selection of restaurants in walking distance. A short walk to Beverly Centre for shopping. A great deli/cafe just down the street is a must visit, called Joan's on 3rd. I would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FionaPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after being 3 wks in the US and we both agree that the hotels was our favourite one.

The staff were very friendly and easy going. The front desk staff wanted to chat and were helpful.

The room was comfortable (slept like a baby). All the extras such as bathrobes and products were good.

The shops and restaurants around the area were great and in walking distance. Use yelp to find the best ones.

I recommend this hotel

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ollielolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After 3 weeks traveling in the US this was our last hotel. I picked it because of it close proximity to shopping centers , the Beverly Centre is two blocks away and The Grove is about 10-15 mins walk in the opposite direction. The receptionist was nice and apologized for not being able to get us early check in. The room was large and modern and this was the best shower of our trip. Love hotels with turn down service ,I like finding chocolates on my pillow after being out for dinner. Breakfast was in the restaurant/bar attached to the hotel and was good. There are lots of restaurants just up the road so plenty of choices for food and a Magnolia bakery across the road. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and there was no road noise
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veg-tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

During April 2013 our family spent 4 nights at The Orlando. This was not our first visit and will not be our last. Why does a family from Sydney Australia return to The Orlando? Because this hotel is special. It has a great location for exploring Los Angeles, it is modern and clean and not too big and impersonal. The bathrooms are new and the beds just right for us and most of all the staff are great, especially Paul, Sam and Johanna who you will often meet on the front desk. We like the rooms facing either the pool area or Orlando Street. If you are a lite sleeper try to no be directly above The Churchill (the hotel bar and restaurant) on a Saturday night, You may hear some noise. All the other rooms are super quiet and private. And we do like the other little touches such as chocolates on the pillows and the free paper and wireless internet. All in all a hotel worth the stay.........highly recommended

Room Tip: Level 5 is great
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamingwulff2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Orlando hotel four or five times and are very pleased with the renovations. The bathrooms is now very modern and the mattress is terrific. Churchills restaurant down stairs is a nice place for a drink but it is teeming with hipsters and I would never consider eating dinner there. The hotel is in a great location and is a real good value

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jeffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Jeff N,

I'm so happy to see that you've enjoyed so many visits to The Orlando Hotel. And it's so nice to see your positive feedback on our renovations. We've most recently been completely renovating our swimming pool area, which is opening next week. And I know you'll find this area very comfortable.

As you noted, our restaurant, The Churchill, is a happening spot! And if you decide you'd like to dine some evening, I'd suggest requesting a table upstairs, as this area is typically much quieter.

It's always a pleasure to hear from one of our many loyal guests. And we appreciate your time to share your experience.

We'll look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Very best,
Paul Gardner
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,372 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#90 of 353 in Los Angeles
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#39 of 353 in Los Angeles
558 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
882 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#63 of 353 in Los Angeles
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $220 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing