We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location, Great Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #23 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my first visit to L.A. with my tween daughter and teenage niece and nephew. The location was perfect, just a block or two from the Beverly Center and eateries and shops. Only a 10 minute walk from the Farmer's Market and The Grove. The room was small but clean and recently renovated. The pool was closed for reno which was a huge bummer for the kids. Although the staff offered alternative locations (L.A. Fitness and another nearby hotel) I didn't feel comfortable with either option. The hotel restaurant had a nice vibe. The hotel was quiet and I felt safe in the neighborhood.
We explored on foot our first day and on the second day the staff worked relentlessly to locate the Mustang convertible rental the kids requested AND found it!!! It was dropped off at the valet exactly as promised. I was waiting in the lobby to sign the paperwork and we were off! The Orlando provided a free GPS for the car, a couple of small maps and ideas for our all day well into the night excursions. We managed to hit every L.A. landmark then some in our short 4 day stay. We plan to return to L.A. very soon and will definitely be staying at The Orlando.
The staff was helpful, friendly and all around awesome! Thank you guys, we'll see you again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 517 facing the main entrance with a view of the Beverly Center from our window. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seethew0rld01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Seethew0rld01,

It sounds like you had a great trip to Los Angeles! Nothing makes us happier than to hear that our guests enjoyed their visit like you described.

I'm so glad that you found our guest services team to be responsive and "awesome"! All of the team monitors these reviews very carefully and we really enjoyed hearing about your trip.

I'm sorry that the pool wasn't available for your visit. As is often the case, we are a little at the mercy of the contractor and sometimes there are unforeseen delays. While we experienced one of these delays this week, we are anticipating that the pool will be open before next weekend, April 26th.

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Orlando. We'll look forward to your future visits to Los Angeles!

Very best,

Paul Gardner
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    249
    64
    35
    25
See reviews for
147
187
75
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel was perfect for a girl's get-a-way. My sisters and I choose this hotel because of its location and because it was recommended by the Grove. We were able to walk to the Farmers Market and to the Grove. We had a great time watching "EXTRA" being taped with Mario and Maria! The hotel was upscale and very comfortable. The front desk staff were truly amazing - extremely friendly and helpful, from booking the hotel to suggesting other shopping experiences. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3sisters312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear 3sisters312,

It's so great to hear that you had a terrific girl’s get-a-way! And it's great to see that you took advantage of our terrific mid-city west location! I believe we have one of the best locations in Los Angeles for shopping and much much more.

I'm so glad that you found our guest services team to be so helpful. We are very lucky to have an extraordinary group of agents!

Thank you for sharing your experience. We will all look forward to your future visits to The Orlando!

Very best,

Paul Gardner
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here from March 31 to April 2 to attend a taping of Dancing with the Stars. The staff were incredibly gracious, the room was perfectly nice, and the entire experience was an A+. It was close to the CBS Studio Lot where DWTS is taped, and very close to The Grove, where my friend and I met for dinner. The staff really made the the trip worth it! I would stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was great - overlooking pool which was under construction, but I was not there for that. Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 63TracyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear 63Tracyann,

Thank you for your kind comments about our truly dedicated team. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Los Angeles and so happy that you could attend Dancing with The Stars!

We very much appreciate your time to share your experience and we hope to see you on future visits to The Orlando!

Very best,
Paul Gardner
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a trip to LA. I picked it because it was near major shopping areas and had a pool...however...when i arrived i was informed that the pool was under renovation and was out of use...this was a disapointment to me, but i guess that was not really anyones fault. I would just have to find other ways to fill my time.
The hotel had great rooms and the bed was massive. It was very clean with very helpful staff. I would stay here again but i would make sure the pool was in use. Its a great location for shopping all within walking distance, and get to The Grove for a bit of celeb spotting!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hibbcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Hibbcher,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Orlando! It's great to see you enjoyed your time in Los Angeles!

I'm sorry that the pool wasn't available for your visit and I appreciate you're understanding. We chose February and March for this project as they are typically our rainier and cooler months. But I hope you get the chance to experience the wonderful upgrades we're making to this area on a future visit. We're still on schedule to have it completed by the middle of April.

Thank you for your kind comments and we'll hope to welcome you back when you return to LA.

Very best,
Paul Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights on a visit to Los Angeles. We were impressed from the minute we walked in.
The location was great on West 3rd St. Central to many wonderful shops and places to eat close by (especially Joans on 3rd). The hotel restaurant was modern, funky and great food. We loved 'Clover', the hotels new cold pressed juice bar. My husband would pop down every morning and grab us a fresh juice to start the day.
The hotel rooms were very spacious, modern and clean.
Most of all we were impressed by the reception staff. They were all very friendly and accomodating to our requests of an early check-in and late check-out due to our flights.
Thanks for a memorable stay, and we will be back on our next visit to LA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Natalie V,

Thank you for choosing The Orlando for your very special celebration. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the West 3rd Street community! And I'm so appreciative of your comments about the staff.

We are so fortunate to have so many wonderful restaurants and shops in walking distance and I'm so happy you took advantage of this!

I'm also really excited to hear that you enjoyed our new juice bar, Clover! You were one of the first guests to experience Clover and it's been a great hit!

We'll look forward to your next visit to Los Angeles!

Very best,
Paul Gardner, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We always enjoy our stays at the Orlando----and look forward to each visit. Special thanks to Eric, Jeff and Sam for tour booking and general info . Missed seeing Paul on this visit---next time! Our room on the fifth floor was clean and comfortable, and the bath/shower update was very attractive. Location, location, location-----easy walk to the Beverly Center and The Grove----and, of course, to our favorite deli's: Joan's on Third!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Judy H,

It's always gives us such joy to see our return guests expressing that they consistently enjoy their visits (especially those who have stayed almost 10 times!). We all appreciate your loyalty and comments so very much.

I'm sorry that I didn't get a chance to see you both on this latest trip, but I'll look forward to the next time. And I'll look forward to showing you our new pool once it's completed in mid-April.

Warm regards,

Paul Gardner, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and found it to be great location to shop, eat and explore from.
Beverley Centre down the road where there is a HOHO bus stop if you need.
Opposite direction you have The Grove and Farmers market.
Plenty taxis at front door and desk staff most helpful.
Only small negative , although room clean and good size , the furniture is dark and probably needs an upgrade to something fresh and more appealing.
Great bar downstairs with open fire.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAM_D_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear SAM_D_AUS,

Thank you for your kind comments!

It's great to see that you took advantage of our central location at the corner of West Hollywood and Beverly Hills. As you noted, The Orlando is a close walk to both The Beverly Center and The Grove, and so many of our guests find it a great "base" for their Los Angeles adventures. Additionally, our local community on West 3rd Street offers some really unique upscale shopping opportunities and some of Los Angeles’ best restaurants.

As you may be aware, The Orlando underwent an extensive remodel in 2011/2012 and now offers all new guest rooms and many new public areas. We're very excited to be completing this project with a brand new swimming pool area, opening in April of this year. Over the past 18 months, we have replaced many of the guestroom furnishings, but we do have plans for further upgrades in this area throughout 2013.

We very much appreciate your compliments of our team and restaurant/bar. It’s such a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit. And we will all look forward to your return.

Very best,
Paul Gardner, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Hotel Normandie
#24 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#98 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Central L.A
The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#59 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Property: The Orlando Hotel
Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing