We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Stay....”
Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #39 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Nice Stay....”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a trip to LA. I picked it because it was near major shopping areas and had a pool...however...when i arrived i was informed that the pool was under renovation and was out of use...this was a disapointment to me, but i guess that was not really anyones fault. I would just have to find other ways to fill my time.
The hotel had great rooms and the bed was massive. It was very clean with very helpful staff. I would stay here again but i would make sure the pool was in use. Its a great location for shopping all within walking distance, and get to The Grove for a bit of celeb spotting!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hibbcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Hibbcher,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Orlando! It's great to see you enjoyed your time in Los Angeles!

I'm sorry that the pool wasn't available for your visit and I appreciate you're understanding. We chose February and March for this project as they are typically our rainier and cooler months. But I hope you get the chance to experience the wonderful upgrades we're making to this area on a future visit. We're still on schedule to have it completed by the middle of April.

Thank you for your kind comments and we'll hope to welcome you back when you return to LA.

Very best,
Paul Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    283
    71
    38
    29
See reviews for
175
221
78
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights on a visit to Los Angeles. We were impressed from the minute we walked in.
The location was great on West 3rd St. Central to many wonderful shops and places to eat close by (especially Joans on 3rd). The hotel restaurant was modern, funky and great food. We loved 'Clover', the hotels new cold pressed juice bar. My husband would pop down every morning and grab us a fresh juice to start the day.
The hotel rooms were very spacious, modern and clean.
Most of all we were impressed by the reception staff. They were all very friendly and accomodating to our requests of an early check-in and late check-out due to our flights.
Thanks for a memorable stay, and we will be back on our next visit to LA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Natalie V,

Thank you for choosing The Orlando for your very special celebration. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the West 3rd Street community! And I'm so appreciative of your comments about the staff.

We are so fortunate to have so many wonderful restaurants and shops in walking distance and I'm so happy you took advantage of this!

I'm also really excited to hear that you enjoyed our new juice bar, Clover! You were one of the first guests to experience Clover and it's been a great hit!

We'll look forward to your next visit to Los Angeles!

Very best,
Paul Gardner, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We always enjoy our stays at the Orlando----and look forward to each visit. Special thanks to Eric, Jeff and Sam for tour booking and general info . Missed seeing Paul on this visit---next time! Our room on the fifth floor was clean and comfortable, and the bath/shower update was very attractive. Location, location, location-----easy walk to the Beverly Center and The Grove----and, of course, to our favorite deli's: Joan's on Third!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Judy H,

It's always gives us such joy to see our return guests expressing that they consistently enjoy their visits (especially those who have stayed almost 10 times!). We all appreciate your loyalty and comments so very much.

I'm sorry that I didn't get a chance to see you both on this latest trip, but I'll look forward to the next time. And I'll look forward to showing you our new pool once it's completed in mid-April.

Warm regards,

Paul Gardner, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and found it to be great location to shop, eat and explore from.
Beverley Centre down the road where there is a HOHO bus stop if you need.
Opposite direction you have The Grove and Farmers market.
Plenty taxis at front door and desk staff most helpful.
Only small negative , although room clean and good size , the furniture is dark and probably needs an upgrade to something fresh and more appealing.
Great bar downstairs with open fire.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAM_D_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear SAM_D_AUS,

Thank you for your kind comments!

It's great to see that you took advantage of our central location at the corner of West Hollywood and Beverly Hills. As you noted, The Orlando is a close walk to both The Beverly Center and The Grove, and so many of our guests find it a great "base" for their Los Angeles adventures. Additionally, our local community on West 3rd Street offers some really unique upscale shopping opportunities and some of Los Angeles’ best restaurants.

As you may be aware, The Orlando underwent an extensive remodel in 2011/2012 and now offers all new guest rooms and many new public areas. We're very excited to be completing this project with a brand new swimming pool area, opening in April of this year. Over the past 18 months, we have replaced many of the guestroom furnishings, but we do have plans for further upgrades in this area throughout 2013.

We very much appreciate your compliments of our team and restaurant/bar. It’s such a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit. And we will all look forward to your return.

Very best,
Paul Gardner, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a great hotel but it is expensive. However, the same star level hotels in the same neighborhood are around the same price.

I spent only one night there so I can only comment on the room. The room was very clean, the bathroom also very clean and nicely designed. Not much noise.

The front desk was helpful and courteous.

Recommended if you have to stay in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ahghis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Amofpers,

Thank you for your recommendation of The Orlando Hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your short visit.

As you noted, hotels in the Beverly Hills and West Hollywood are sometimes costly, particularly when there are large events, like our recent Grammy and Oscar awards. But I'd always encourage you to go to check the offers on this review site as well as TheOrlando.com for our best rates.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you on your future visits to Los Angeles!

Very best,
Paul Gardner, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

With the Beverly Center at 10 minutes walking and The Grove at about 15 you can hardly beat the location if you're in town for shopping and you don't want to spend all your time driving. Personnel is young and welcoming, rooms large and clean. The pool is very small. They gave me a late checkout today with no hesitation and the room was on a special rate for the day. All in all, a small, but nice hotel close to one of LA's hottest eating spots, Joan's on Third.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank KaneD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Kane D,

I'm so happy to see that you enjoyed our location, staff, and newly renovated guest rooms. As you noted, we're situated between the Beverly Center and The Grove and it's an easy walk to both.

We're actually in the process of updating our swimming pool now, so while it is a small pool, I think you'll enjoy the significant upgrades we're making to this area for your next visit.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Los Angeles!

Very best,
Paul Gardner, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A perfect place to stay, a fantastic hotel and an awesome bar with a selection of great beers and food. We stayed there for a week or so in October 2012 and found it the perfect base to explore from, with easy (and cheap) access via cab to Hollywood and Santa Monica and only a short walk from The Farmers Market, Joans on Third and Veggie Grill. We're planning a return trip as soon as we can make it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinoldgoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauljGardner, Guest Services Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Martinoldgoth,

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Los Angeles!

I’m so glad you took advantage of our great Beverly Hills/West Hollywood location as the center point for your activities. And it looks like you hit some of our favorite spots too!

We’re all so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and our restaurant, The Churchill.

Our team will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Very best,
Paul Gardner, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,361 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#98 of 350 in Los Angeles
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#46 of 350 in Los Angeles
553 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
876 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#72 of 350 in Los Angeles
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Property: The Orlando Hotel
Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing