We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #240 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Gatton, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place isn't the Hyatt or the Marriott, but for the price it was, with the access it has to the metro & you can't beat the value in LA itself. It's not super close to any of the major attractions, but once again, the metro is right there, and that will take you to anywhere. The actual location itself, while it didn't feel unsafe, it didn't feel all that safe either. During the day is fine, night time not so much. We arrived on a flight from Brisbane, Australia at 7.30am, which meant we got to the motel about 10 after clearing customs, getting on the flyaway/metro etc, and Peter, the manager was able to get us into a room pretty much straight away. We had no problems with ours. I saw someone mention it's a non-smoking hotel. It's not, as we had booked & received a smoking room. If need be I would probably stay again, however, LA isn't really my thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bek91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    87
    51
    36
    38
See reviews for
81
58
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while in attendance at a conference in LA. GM Peter was very helpful. Great location, Great value. Will stay again. Room had everything required to make your stay comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manish_Econolodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was near the metro as we were in LA with no car. Good choice; we always stay in Comfort Inns and this is a good example. The staff was friendliy and very helpful. Manager Peter was kind and most helpful. Hehad one of his staff get our online boarding passes for the trip home and printed them with no charge. Room ws clean, airy--no a/c necessary--and beds comfortable. The breakfast room was very crowded, but the breakfast wa excellent--waffles, egs, sausage, bagels, bread and excellent fruit. It is not luxurious, but a good choice. Interesting neighborhood for walks, and bus and metro at the door. normfromnorfolk

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are spacious and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I don't even know where to begin when reviewing this hotel....All I can say is look around a little more and spend your money somewhere else. The first room I was put into smelled horrible, several burn marks in the comforter (hotel is non smoking), flies in the room, and mold on the curtains. Didn't even look at the bathroom. The second room was a little better but still not up to my expectations. The bathroom smelled like mildew , the walls were patched up horribly, there was rust in the shower, and more burns on the comforter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PassingThru2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here due to the location close to the underground stop, the rooms looked decent and general value for Money.

We had a massive room on the top floor. Yes the main corridors and lift are a bit dated, but the rooms are fine. Clean, smart, massive tv, fridge, lots of storage. Cleaned everyday with new towels, bedding.

Staff were so helpful. Made us feel very welcome and helped us out on many occasions.

Breakfast was ok.. If you can get a table. The room is very small and packed, so you're lucky if you can get a seat. Some big groups seemed to Hogg the tables and just be sipping a cup of tea. Bit frustrating. Served from 6-9am. We went down various times during our stay and Never got a seat, so we just ate breakfast elsewhere. You can grab a bagel or donut and leave, but it's hard to walk out with a bowl of cereal!

We paid about £350 for the 2 of us for 6 nights bed&breakfast which was good value for us, would def stay again. Also next to a petrol station so handy to buy drinks/snacks after house, and opposite a big Denny's diner. Handy!


metro area was fine, not dangerous at all. 5 min on train to hollywood boulevard. Can't beat that :)

Room Tip: Room 303 is massive!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittycat27186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We arrived in Los Angeles early in the morning and the hotel was able to check us in well before the posted check-in time. Our room was good size...2 queen size beds, plenty of storage and a flat screen tv. The hotel is next door to one of the stations for the Red Line of the Metro/Subway system which makes getting around easy and convenient. The breakfast area is well maintained and food containers are kept filled...the ladies who have this job are always there, checking to be sure there is plenty of everything available. The neighborhood appears to be older but we never had any problem with it, and heard no street noise while in our room. I would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Los Angeles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It is a very good hotel!! Beds are extremely comfy!!!!! Breakfast includes different beverages as coffee, juice, milk, etc. You also have fruit, yogurt, waffles, pancakes, cheese, etc. It was very good!!!!! Also, the room was clean and provided with lots of clean towels every day. One day we had an incident at four in the morning when the guests in the upper room were screaming and jumping on the floor (the noise was unbearable) I called the manager at that time and he called them to be quiet. He was very helpful.
Peter, the manager during the day, is a very helpful and nice guy. He does his job very well.
The neighborhood is not very nice during the night hours, it is fine during the daytime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#196 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
#144 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JJ Grand Hotel
#212 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Central L.A
Palga Grand Hotel
Palga Grand Hotel
#244 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#40 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: 321 N Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90004-3510 (Formerly Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Comfort Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing