We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring back the mini-bar!”
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Angeleno
Ranked #45 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Newport Beach California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bring back the mini-bar!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Angeleno now several times because it is such a great location and value for the money. However, last time I was there on Thanksgiving night, I noticed that the mini bar and snack tray had been removed. When I inquired about this, I was told the had decided to no longer provide these services. Too bad! I like this hotel but not having ANY options for eating or drinking in the room is a deal breaker for me. It makes the room seem like the low rent district. I told management and they sent over a huge "bucket" of ice (since even the ice bucket has been removed) although maybe by mistake! this is a shame since the staff is very friendly and the Hotel provides free local transportation and free parking too. Not sure if I will be going back there.

Room Tip: Go as high up as you can and ask for a city view. You wont be disappointed! If you want quiet, ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0nniej0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello bOnniejOy,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay during the Thanksgiving holiday. I apologize for any inconveniences caused by the recent removal of the honor bars from the rooms. This change was part of our new and exciting plans to expand our food and beverage services. Our café will soon remain open 24 hours a day, giving our guests access to a greater variety of drinks, snacks, and sundries than was originally available in the honor bar. We should be ready for all-day service by your next visit. Hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

James Huang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    620
    249
    83
    79
See reviews for
354
507
166
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My trip was business and pleasure. Hotel Angeleno helped to make entire stay, one of comfort and joy. The rooms are small but very well designed. Each room has a small balcony and the view from mine was spectacular. Valet parking was complimentary. The staff, including the valet team was wonderful. Everyone was friendly and eager to help me. The Hotel is lovely and well appointed, I was pleased with the property however it was the staff that made my stay truly special.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank velVetdeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello velVetdeB,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our hotel. Our team certainly makes every effort to provide a special experience for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

James Huang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Needed a room for a short weekend event so booked through a discount site. Don't let the small sized rooms distract you because they are well designed, neat and clean. The hotel offers complementary valet parking. Access to the freeway is easy but be sure to secure a room on the street side vs the freeway side. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello kwm50,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. We hope to see you again soon during the next event.

Thank you,

James Huang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Angeleno in October for 2 weeks during my recovery from surgery at UCLA. The entire staff is so friendly and accommodating. Walter, which was in the engineer/maintenance dept went out of his way to get me a fridge and micro because of my long length of stay and I was unable to leave my room. He even brought me a welcome snack from the restaurant after surgery. Logan is great and was always there with a smile and asked how I was feeling throughout my stay. The entire front desk staff is great as well. The housekeeping are great and friendly as well. The rooms are comparable to an upscale hotel...beds are very comfortable and linens are top of the line. I love that each room had a balcony and the pool with the fireplace is great as well. I would love to see a hot tub though in the back corner near the fitness center though:) (hint hint )
Also they have their own shuttle van than will take you to UCLA are at no charge. I didn't use the service because I had a car but they always offered to take me.
See you Hotel Angeleno in January when I have to go back to UCLA.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor over looking the pool and I liked that view. I know they offer better views f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inparadise57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello Sheri J,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your experience our hotel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your recovery time here. I will certainly share your compliments with Walter, Logan, and the rest of the team. I've added a request for a mini-refrigerator and microwave to be set up in the room again for your reservation in January. See you next month!

Thank you,

James Huang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

First time at this historic property and what a great experience. Very friendly staff, and large rooms by LA standards very close to the highway (but not too close) with a great rooftop restaurant and valet parking. There is also a nice Café/Mini convenience store with even friendlier staff.

I highly recommend the 17th Floor restaurant for the view and the food. I also would grab a room on the west side (away from the highway) they are nice and quiet.

Bring your snacks as this is the only hotel I have stayed in that has no vending machines. Be sure and hit the café when it is open as they have a good supply of commercial and homemade items.

They also do a wine tasting which is a very nice touch.

Room Tip: Stay away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyReb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello JohnnyReb007,

Thank you for the recommendations regarding our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Let me take this opportunity to mention that we are currently working out the details for expanding our café and food service hours to remain open 24 hours a day, giving our guests access to snacks and sundries any time. We should have that ready by your next visit. See you again soon!

Thank you,

James Huang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed here last week on a business trip.
I had a great experience! My room was a little small but it had a beautiful view of Los Angeles. There was free valet parking as well as a wine tasting in the lobby every night.
The staff was very friendly including Logan and Cara.
The hotel, being 2 miles away from UCLA, is in a great location. I recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIll f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello Bill f,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your experience our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed our daily complimentary Wine Hour, and were able to take advantage of our close proximity to UCLA. I will certainly share your compliments with Logan, Cara, and the rest of the team. See you again soon!

Thank you,

James Huang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was visiting family with my brother and father for Thanksgiving right down the road. The Hotel Angeleno's service was excellent. I want to thank Cara and the rest of the lobby staff for making this such an enjoyable stay. Their Beds are extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the scenic views overlooking Westwood as we had breakfast in the restaurant on the top floor. Their Eggs Benedict is delicious. While we were their they were holding free wine tastings every evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty-IceHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hello Matty-IceHZ,

Thank you for the positive feedback on your experience at our hotel. I'm glad you found our beds to be comfortable, and that had the opportunity to enjoy breakfast up at the West Restaurant. The view is pretty nice from up there. I will certainly share your kind words with Cara and the team. See you again soon!

Thank you,

James Huang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#105 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Westside
Best Western Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Property: Hotel Angeleno
Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#46 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in June 2016 Hotel Angeleno, is centrally located at the crossroads of Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Century City and Westwood, Hotel Angeleno offers complimentary daily wifi to all guests along with stunning views of Los Angeles. Easy access to UCLA, Century City, The Getty and Skirball Center and West Hollywood. Our new affiliation with Uber allows guests to request Uber from our Front Desk and have Uber charged directly to your room. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. Experience our We are NOT Square independent culture and sign up for our Inner Circle rewards program for more benefits and amenities including Complimentary Parking when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing