We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Angeleno
Ranked #50 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is nice and convenient but perhaps not what you might be looking for in a holiday given its location

It is situated on the freeway which is convenient for travelling around to Disney or into Santa Monica etc but there is nothing you can walk to. The freeway is also very noisy so this may be a problem if you are a light sleeper.

On the positive the hotel room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient and there was a valet service included in the price - a real novelty in LA as parking can be expensive.

Each day from 5.30-6.30 they have happy hour where they serve free wine and the hotel has a restaurant on the top floor with views of the city.

The pool area is quite small but pleasant enough albeit you are surrounded by concrete walls.

If the hotel was in a better setting it would be ideal but then the price would obviously reflect that. A nice hotel for the money you pay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheekyface27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hello cheekyface27,

Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff and the comfort level of our rooms. I'm glad you were able to utilize the free valet parking service as well. If you'd like to visit the local area on foot during your next visit, please feel free to reserve a ride in our complimentary courtesy van which travels anywhere in a 3-mile radius of the hotel. See you again soon!

James Huang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at hotel Angeleno three times during the 15 days from 1st to 16th Sep'13 on the occasion of my first trip to the US and absolutely loved my stay. To start with its very conveniently located especially for those who have some work in this part of the city or at UCLA just as was our case. The hotel has a very useful shuttle service to Ucla and other important locations in the vicinity.

We were here to drop our daughter at the University. When we went to other places like Vegas and New York we left our extra luggage at the hotel's luggage room. It was so convenient as we could travel light without carrying all the stuff along which was not required. The hotel and its absolutely delightful staff took care of each of our requests with utmost perfection.

The hotel is located right on the highway and next to a quite and beautiful residential neighbourhood of Brentwood. Santa Monica beach is just 10 min drive. Rooms are tidy, service is prompt and professional. All the hotel staff I dealt with were very good at their job and gave personal touch to the service provided. Leslie, Maiesha, Logan, Hans, Cara, Rylie, Chris, Sam at the restaurant were especially good. We found Hector with his luxury Sedan particularly useful for local and airport transfers. Always courteous and available he was a delight to chat up with. On our request, he came to take us around even on his day off.

All in all a wonderful stay. I definitely intend coming back and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try higher floor rooms (7th floor upwards) and room nos _02/03 or _08/09 for a better view of the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajiv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Rajiv M,

3 stays in 2 weeks! Wow, thank you for continuing to come back and stay with us. Our staff works hard to provide a special experience for our guests and it certainly sounds like multiple associates were able to make a connection with you and your family. I have shared your comments with the team. Hope to see you again soon when you return to visit your daughter at UCLA.

Thank you,

James Huang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel we originally booked was experiencing a power outage. Hotel Angeleno was right across the way, and was able to accommodate us very last minute. I love this location, as it is close to Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Hollywood and has easy freeway access.

The room was clean and comfy, but the unfortunately, the never-ending traffic noise from the 405 freeway was un-escapable.

Room Tip: Try to get a westerly facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlssantabarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hello tlssantabarbara,

I'm glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you during the unfortunate power outage that affected the local area. It was a sold out night for us, and certainly presented a challenge to our services. Luckily, our hotel was only affected for a couple of hours in the early morning. We hope to see you again soon!

James Huang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed one night during a business trip. Good location - quick drive from the airport and near Santa Monica, Venice, etc. Got in late, but the free valet parking was nice and the staff was very friendly - including printing out my boarding pass for me. The room was nice - comfortable and clean bed, clean bathroom. I ordered room services pretty late, but it arrived within 15 minutes and was tasty and pretty low priced for room service. I had to leave at 4am the next morning, and again, the staff was very friendly and helpful and my car arrived back in just a minute. Yes, there is construction on the highway, but it took about 30 seconds to go around it - I'm not sure why people would consider it a nightmare! I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hello Tracy C,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay. I'm glad that our late night staff was friendly and accommodating to your needs. Hopefully, you'll be able to spend a little more time with us next time. See you again soon!

James Huang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had another successful visit to the hotel. The hotel was fully booked but the service was good. The only issue was apparently room service is not around the clock so a bit of a challenge for early breakfast. Need to have breakfast available as early as 6am for early travelers. Not many food options nearby in walking distance at that hour. Cafe in lobby was not open either.

Otherwise a good visit and we will return very soon!

Room Tip: Face away from 405 freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear KLM2013,

Thank you for staying with us again at the Hotel Angeleno and for the feedback. Although it hasn't been officially announced, I'd like to take this opportunity to mention that we are currently planning out the exciting details to extend our food & beverage services to 24-hours a day. By the time of your visit, we should be able to provide you with breakfast and coffee before your early departure. See you again soon!

Thank you,

James Huang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My prior visit here was 2 years ago, when the property was owned by the Joie de Vivre chain. I stayed again here this past weekend, under new ownership. I had hoped things had improved since my prior visit (where I rated them "3" here on tripadvisor). Unfortunately, it was worse.

We had a terrible room - 314 - right next to the elevator, facing the freeway and overlooking part of the valet parking area. Tons of noise from the freeway (still undergoing construction which makes traffic very painful), plus we heard everything anyone said while waiting for the elevator (including very late at night and first thing in the morning), and also got lots of smoke from people smoking while waiting for their cars at the valet stand. The air conditioning was ridiculously bad - at times it wouldn't even turn on, and once it was on, it would shut off after ~10 minutes, regardless of the requested temperature settings (kicking back on ~10 minutes later). When I inquired at the front desk about the outside noise, I was told to "just turn on the a/c and you won't hear anything". Well, great, if the a/c was consistent and also if it had a simple "fan" setting instead of constantly blowing colder air in. It was miserable.

Broken lightbulb in the lamp by the bed, chewed up pen by the phone (disgusting!), no extra toilet paper in the room, only half the towels in the room when we arrived, very slow internet access... etcetera.

Brought some of these points up when checking out and the front desk staff didn't care or apologize.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear travelgirl93,

I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you have described, and I will have our Engineering department examine the air conditioning unit in the room. I will also share your comments with our Housekeeping and Front Desk staff, as they certainly should have offered to assist you when you brought this to their attention. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.

Thank you,

James Huang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed there a few weeks ago, just when all the construction in the highway is happening so getting to the hotel at night is a real nightmare (I think to be over by Nov 2013) so do your homework if you are driving to the hotel.
Otherwise, the hotel was OK: rooms are nice, clean and of a good size; staff is friendly and located close to the Getty Museum, Brentwood, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarlaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear KarlaN,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Angeleno and for the positive comments regarding the rooms and staff. I'm sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by the freeway construction in the West LA area. As you mentioned, it should be completed very soon, and we look forward to a more-efficient system of on and off ramps. In the meantime, please feel free to call the hotel for directions or information regarding the roadwork.

Thank you,

James Huang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,191 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Normandie
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
688 reviews
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#86 of 355 in Los Angeles
371 reviews
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#64 of 355 in Los Angeles
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $165 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in June 2016 Hotel Angeleno, is centrally located at the crossroads of Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Century City and Westwood, Hotel Angeleno offers complimentary daily wifi to all guests along with stunning views of Los Angeles. Easy access to UCLA, Century City, The Getty and Skirball Center and West Hollywood. Our new affiliation with Uber allows guests to request Uber from our Front Desk and have Uber charged directly to your room. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. Experience our We are NOT Square independent culture and sign up for our Inner Circle rewards program for more benefits and amenities including Complimentary Parking when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing