We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Value, Views and Location”
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Angeleno
Ranked #44 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exceptional Value, Views and Location”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Angeleno is "nestled" at the intersection of 405 (San Diego) Fwy and Sunset Blvd on the famous Sepulveda Pass--arguably the busiest stretch of freeway in the world. But don't let that scare you. Ok, back to the hotel.

The Angeleno has very friendly service and an excellent front desk staff, particularly Elijah. Personable, friendly and service oriented. The rooms are pleasant and "metro"--clean and contemporary--views of the West Side and a terrific watering hole at the top of the building on the 17th floor. Breakfast is efficient and plentiful and there's always fresh fruit at the lobby entrance. The higher the floors the better the views.

So you're a "stone's throw" from Brentwood Village, a quaint little habitat with Starbucks, Lemonade, and venerable Restaurant Peppone. A 15 minute drive from the beach down Sunset Blvd. makes this location affordable and pretty accessible. If you drive east along Sunset, you're in the heart of Westwood and UCLA turf, complete with a beautiful campus, "Cardiac Hill" as a runner's endorphin high. Behind Bel Air's east gates is some of the most exclusive and expensive real estate in the west and the homes to which all the "Maps to Stars Homes" refer.

The construction on the freeway can be a headache around rush hour (no, not every hour) but mornings and evenings can be a hassle getting in and out of the pleasantly valeted motorport. But it's a small price to pay for such a cool location.

Room Tip: The "sky suites" are way cool--rooms toward the top of the building offer the views that m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Mike_Adventure

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about our staff, Elijah and our rooms. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    634
    252
    86
    80
See reviews for
367
514
168
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I enjoyed my week long stay here. The service was extremely personable. professional, and courteous thanks to (especially) Leslie at the front desk. I was in need of some much needed R&R and my time here was peaceful and relaxing, yet also centrally located near much of what's available in the LA & Santa Monica area. Dinner at the West has an amazing view with good food as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Jay W

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about Lesly and our service. I'm so glad you were able to enjoy some R&R. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were staying LA because my son was having surgery at UCLA. The location is at a freeway and major street intersection with alot of construction going on. With this in consideration, the Hotel Angeleno is a great place to stay. The staff in all areas of service showed not only great professionalism, but went beyond by showing concern with what my family was going through. From the front desk with Edith showing a smile; the valets always showing concern about my son; the cleaning staff would always ask about my son; and the shuttle drivers were especially helpful with squeezing us in their schedule to take us to UCLA and back. I would difinitely recommend this hotel because of the staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear larry s

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about our staff! We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hopefully, the next time you stay with us will be for vacation.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Pro.: large rooms, well equipped, WiFi is reasonable, nice shower, feels new.
Con.: location problematic, food on the hotel restaurant (fits a local pub and not a hotel), and most of all - horrible noise from the freeway just next to the hotel, there is no way you can open the window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itaibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear itaibl

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The cost is reasonable, the location is ideal for exploring LA, the rooms are a bit tired but comfy and clean and the restaurant has the most spectacular view in the city. But what makes this place work is the staff who make it feel like you're in the highest end hotel in town. In particular, Edith at the front desk and Carlos who runs the valet parking have made this place feel like my home away from home. I come to LA once a month if not more for business and as long as these people are working here I can't think of anywhere else I'd rather stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Bob E

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about Edith, Carlos, and our restaurant, West. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had another great stay at Hotel Angeleno this week. Convenience is one of the reasons I am a regular but the staff is the primary one. I am always treated well, especially by Edith at the front desk. I am always happy to see her, she knows my needs and makes my stay most comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nansci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Nansci L

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about Edith and the hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is directly on a high way on one side and on a traffic light on the other side. On both is heavy traffic 24h a day. If the building would be properly insulated against noise this would not be an issue. But in fact the noise insulation of the rooms is really bad and not worth a four star hotel. The windows are so poor you can hardly notice any difference whether you close or open the window. And the traffic is heavy all night long.

Room Tip: There is no good room, there is heavy traffic on both sides. But I would prefer to stay on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyZRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear AndyZRH

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel.

I will share your words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#17 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,114 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#81 of 350 in Los Angeles
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#113 of 350 in Los Angeles
306 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,481 reviews
Westside
Plaza La Reina
Plaza La Reina
#99 of 350 in Los Angeles
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Property: Hotel Angeleno
Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in June 2016 Hotel Angeleno, is centrally located at the crossroads of Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Century City and Westwood, Hotel Angeleno offers complimentary daily wifi to all guests along with stunning views of Los Angeles. Easy access to UCLA, Century City, The Getty and Skirball Center and West Hollywood. Our new affiliation with Uber allows guests to request Uber from our Front Desk and have Uber charged directly to your room. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. Experience our We are NOT Square independent culture and sign up for our Inner Circle rewards program for more benefits and amenities including Complimentary Parking when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing