We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible location, decent hotel”
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Angeleno
Ranked #47 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrible location, decent hotel”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The transport is rubbish! The traffic is horrendous; 1 mile an hour around the hotel (rest of LA is fine in traffic not the hotel).

No major bus routes, no nearby cafés; we found some a mile away, we walked there and back

The hotel has a shuttle service that you have to book, in some cases you need to book it before you even book your holiday! No kidding, we were there three nights four days and had no luck booking a single shuttle service.

The shuttle driver doesn't even want to take you anywhere, as soon as he sees a customer he becomes so defensive.

The hotel itself is good, the reception were welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious and nice.

The taxi drivers refuse to go to the hotel during rush hour (8-10am, 4-8pm).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramzoozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear ramzoozi

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel. I will follow up with why you couldn't book our compimentary shuttle. Although it books up quickly, I haven't heard of a guest who couldn't book it for their entire stary. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    626
    251
    83
    79
See reviews for
355
510
168
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

really beautiful and classy boutique hotel, but the location virtually on the 405 freeway makes the din incessant at all hours of the day. even rooms facing away from the freeway can be quite loud. so if you're impervious to the sound of a roaring freeway, book away! the penthouse restaurant serves an excellent breakfast, and the pool/fitness area is very nice, intimate.

Room Tip: insist on a room facing away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slwjosh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear slwjosh123

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently had surgery at UCLA so my husband and I stayed at Hotel Angeleno for 10 days because it was nearby and offered a discount to UCLA patients. We booked a suite on the 15th floor. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff were excellent; May, Edith, Leslie, and Jovver, at the front desk, were fantastic and took exceptional care of us. There is a free shuttle that took us to and from UCLA and as well as other locations within a 1-2 mile radius. The shuttle drivers, especially Brian, were great...they not only drove you were you wanted to go, but also provided interesting info about the area. The hotel restaurant, West, had good food and the room service was prompt. There is a very nice and quiet pool area where you can relax. Although we did not use it, the hotel has free valet parking. All in all, we were taken care of very well. The hotel worked to meet our every need and request making a stressful time of having surgery so far from home to be the absolute best it could be.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Church Lane side of the hotel and it was very quiet. On a clear day, we could see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNM1_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear GNM1_2

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel and our staff. I am very happy to hear you were well taken care of. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for stunning views this isn't the hotel for you. My partner and I were located on the 11th floor and whilst the rooms were quite modern, our view was the Santa Monica fwy which had traffic going around the clock. The sliding door to our small balcony was quite effective in cutting out most of the outside noise and we slept soundly in a large king size bed. The bathroom was very nicely furnished but the water pressure in the shower was terrible. Staff were very friendly and helpful, valet was fast and willing to help load cars. We had two dishes from their restaurant in-room which were both quite delicious. Had to ask front desk for a key to unlock cupboard storing minibar but key was rushed up seconds after calling. Amenities were all very modern and luxurious. Was a great stay as we had a rental car and the fwy next door took us everywhere quickly and all the main sights were only a few minutes drive. If you're looking for breakfast you must try Blu Jam Cafe. It is to die for!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDavis107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear RDavis107

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about our staff, views, and our hotel. I haven't heard issues before about our water pressure before, so I will certainly have our Chief Engineer look into it. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Hotel Angeleno offers free valet parking, free Internet, free wine, a convenient location, a nice pool area with fireplace, a great price and friendly staff - everything the business traveler needs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear AmyElaine

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about our free valet parking, free Internet, free wine, and of course our friendly staff. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTLAND
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

There aren't too many hotels near the Getty, UCLA, Brentwood, Bel Aire and Beverly Hills. This one was reasonably priced and in pretty good condition. It's RIGHT on the I-405 so we asked for a west-facing room (1005) that was quiet, and that worked OK. The hotel maintains a restaurant (and bar) on the top floor (#17) called "West" and it can have a pretty nice view to the south (presuming it is clear). Freeway access to the 405 is a snap.

The Getty is 1/4 mile away... though I wouldn't walk it. UCLA is nearly across the freeway... and it's an easy drive to just jump on Sunset Blvd (1/4 mile away) and drive east to Hollywood or west to Santa Monica.

The place must have been remodeled a few year ago as it is starting to look a little rough around the edges (but no more so than any hotel that hasn't been recently refreshed). There is a pool, but we didn't use it. All parking was free (and valet). The room was spacious.

Room Tip: A room to the west will more be more quiet (though a few to the south will have a very nice view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Boink

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Angeleno in mid-March. While I'd say this is generally a great location, there is currently construction on the 405, and specifically to the onramp of the 405 that is immediately next to this hotel. The result was a couple of instances of extreme congestion that caused accessing the hotel nightmarish. Not enough to keep you away from the hotel, just something to keep in mind when calculating trip time. The location right off Sunset affords easy access to Westwood and UCLA area as well as Santa Monica.

The hotel itself is clean, beds comfortable, staff very friendly and room service food surprisingly good. Free valet is nice touch, though if you're going in and out enough times, tipping on can add up. Overall, a good experience and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer great views. During construction, beware of room overlooking the 405 onramp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nahsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Nahsgo

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the staff, room service, and our complimentary hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,046 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#80 of 351 in Los Angeles
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#112 of 351 in Los Angeles
302 reviews
Westside
Best Western Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Property: Hotel Angeleno
Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#46 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in June 2016 Hotel Angeleno, is centrally located at the crossroads of Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Century City and Westwood, Hotel Angeleno offers complimentary daily wifi to all guests along with stunning views of Los Angeles. Easy access to UCLA, Century City, The Getty and Skirball Center and West Hollywood. Our new affiliation with Uber allows guests to request Uber from our Front Desk and have Uber charged directly to your room. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. Experience our We are NOT Square independent culture and sign up for our Inner Circle rewards program for more benefits and amenities including Complimentary Parking when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing