We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Angeleno
Ranked #45 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is near the exit ramps of the 405 which is convenient albeit noisy. However the sound insulation is quite good. Quite a few of the rooms could do with some updating but overall the rooms are comfortable and provide good value. Beds are very comfortable. Service is almost always friendly and effective. We have family in Santa Monica and have not found a better place to stay during the last few years. Definitely worth a try.

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers 2,3,4,and 5 face away from the highway.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gourmet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear gourmet17

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel and our service. Given your profile name, I hope you tried West, our restaurant. It's delicious! We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,781)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Angeleno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 1,781 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was needing a central place to work and stay in LA to see clients. At first glance I knew I was at the wrong place, as the place is located on the exit ramps for the 405 freeway. The experience went South when my disappointment met the front desk clerk who basically did not seem to care. Her response was she allowed me to check in an hour early, but the best rooms was on the 2nd floor eye level to the highway, overlooking the dumpsters. I was told there was no manager on duty who could move me to another room not ear level with the non stop traffic.

The rooms are small; mine did not even have a chair or desk. Luckily, Armand the painter went above and beyond to get me 2 chairs and a cocktail table so I could work. Every hotel should be so lucky to have someone who remembers service onsite.

Purchased the room blindly, and they did offer to give me back a night, but the way my clients were scheduled, trip would have cost doubled. So for the price the rooms was adequate, and If you need to be here for an event, the beds are comfy and the highway does slow up a bit after midnight, til about 5 am. But if you need a place to work, and need any quiet, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side of the tower not facing the 405 and on an upper floor.. This may help
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likestocooktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear likestocooktoo

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about Armand and our hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests.

I have shared your very helpful comments with our Front Desk Manager so that he can follow up with his am staff.

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was only in LA for 4 nights and this hotel was great. They offered an isolated location; some freeway noise is audible but earplugs block it all out. There was a problem with an internet but the staff helped us for hours and eventually we were able to connect. The free valet is an amazing amenity as most hotels in the area want from 20-40 $$ extra a night just for parking. The valet is also speedy and friendly and was well-appreciated. We did not try the breakfast, but the view from the upstairs restaurant and lounge is really cool; it is hard too see through the smog, but it's LA what do you expect? At night a DJ plays at the lounge. Overall, we had a very positive experience; it was great to be separate from the touristy areas as we were there mainly for college visits. We will likely stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less highway noise, but overall it isn't much of a problem; we were on the 3r...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCirillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear KCirillo

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel. I hope your college search nets a good one. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very good service.
The receptionist was very helpful.
Special thanks to Edith. She help us with Everything (Tourist attraction, rent a car and much more).
The hotel has a good location, Close to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Bel air and Santa Monica beach.
Tanks
/Alex & Emma from Sweden

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Alexander H

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about Edith and the hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a nice hotel, but with all of the freeway construction our 12 mile drive from LAX took an hour plus (very frustrating for those of us not used to this mind-boggling traffic.

Rooms were nice, clean, with a great comfy bed. A little on the small side though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Dan S

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hopefully next time your have less traffic on the way to the hotel.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The positive: This hotel is a great value considering the neighborhood it's in, that wi-fi and valet parking are included, and the views from some rooms. I also found the beds to be extremely comfortable. The staff is also very accommodating and friendly. The included toiletries are manufactured by Lather, and you could definitely do worse.

The bad: If you're going to LA to meet women or impress someone, I'd probably find a different hotel. While the lobby is decent, the hallways of the hotel have low ceilings, the rooms are small, and the bathrooms, while large, are decidedly low-rent. Ours had a very small step-in tub and the handle connecting to water valve was barely attached. The showers are also low flow, so not terribly satisfying. The towels and robes are low quality. The housekeepers do an okay job, but not to the level of a great hotel.

Room Tip: Insider tips: You definitely want a room facing the hill (west-facing). The east facing side of th...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Will O

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel and our friendly staff. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I came here on a whim using Hotels Tonight and was amazed. I know most places are hit or miss but this is a total hit. Joseph the concierge knows how to eat or as he likes to put it its his, "his backyard". We can't thank him enought for his foodie knowledge.

The whole property eludes Los Angeles glamour. Next time were in town we will most likely stay here.

Thanks Joseph for Banders our new favorite spot in LA.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coles1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Coles1978

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel. I'm glad you got to spend some time with our resident foodie, Josef. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#15 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,142 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#80 of 352 in Los Angeles
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#115 of 352 in Los Angeles
308 reviews
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Westside
Plaza La Reina
Plaza La Reina
#99 of 352 in Los Angeles
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $192 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in June 2016 Hotel Angeleno, is centrally located at the crossroads of Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Century City and Westwood, Hotel Angeleno offers complimentary daily wifi to all guests along with stunning views of Los Angeles. Easy access to UCLA, Century City, The Getty and Skirball Center and West Hollywood. Our new affiliation with Uber allows guests to request Uber from our Front Desk and have Uber charged directly to your room. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. Experience our We are NOT Square independent culture and sign up for our Inner Circle rewards program for more benefits and amenities including Complimentary Parking when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing