We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,912)
Filter reviews
1,912 results
Traveler rating
766
681
281
92
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
766
681
281
92
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorwest restaurantgetty museumfree valet parkingfront deskfreeway sidesanta monicaholiday inncomplimentary winesunset blvdwine hourbeverly hillsroad noisebel airmile radiusucla campusroom service
Filter
Updating list...
1,314 - 1,319 of 1,912 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Hotel is a decent 4 star standard and good value for money. Customer service at this hotel was the best I have ever experienced, and I am a high-maintenance hotel guest! If you have a car and don't feel the need to be walking distance to restaurants etc, this hotel is a great option. Thanks to all the staff who served us during our stay - the great service made such a difference

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salvosisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Myself and 2 sisters stayed here from 21st-24th April 2011, It took around 20 mins by taxi from LAX airport costing around $40, on the return to the airport we took the hotel shuttle bus to UCLA where we got the flybus back costing just $5 and they run every 30 mins, it dropped us off right outside departures. The hotel do offer a free shuttle bus within a 3 mile radius but has to be booked in advance with reception. A bus stop is situated across the road from the hotel costing $1.50 for most routes (ask reception for timetable) the only downside is that there is no where to walk out to for a meal or drink, they do have a resturant on the 17th floor with great views but has a limited menu and we found expensive. One night after a very long day out Jorge on reception arranged for us to have food delivered in. Lesly on reception was brilliant and went above and beyond to help us with anything and everything, she helped make our stay more enjoyable. The beds we found to be very comfy but we had a room facing the freeway and was very noisy. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recomend a short stay here.
Many thanks to Lesly (who felt like our new best friend) from The Charmed girls, UKxxxxxx

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking pool not freeway
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmedsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My fiancé, my mom, and I were attending a wedding a nearby hotel and much of the wedding party was staying at the Angeleno because of its close proximity to the wedding location. I remembered this property as the old Holiday Inn from all the years living in LA.
Prior to arriving I was offer an "upgrade" if available for an additional $10. I figured I would accept this as it was only $10. When I arrived I found out that my $10 upgrade got me exactly 1 floor higher than my mother’s room and the exact same view…its $10, I’m not going to complain!
When we arrived, I found out that they only had valet parking which I am accustomed to. However, when the valet attendant tells me to park the car it that spot myself I question as to why they even have valet.
The check in process was smooth and it’s always nice when your room is ready upon check in. Since we were there for a wedding, there was supposed to be a welcome envelope/gift waiting for us at the front desk which naturally they could not find. My mom’s room was being paid for by the bride’s parents but the front desk still had her place a credit card down for incidentals. Having worked in the hotel business for 12 years, I knew that she was going to be charged for the room as well so I was adamant that it was just for incidentals and the front desk agent said it was.
The room was small but nice. The TV was extremely fussy and when I called down to the front desk I was told that that was the way all the TVs were in the hotel which I found out was a lie since I went down to my mom’s room and the picture was crystal clear.
The bathroom was small and the shower had no door which led to a nice flooding situation every time we showered. The following morning we asked for a 3 extra sets of towels since we had used most of them the night before getting ready for the wedding. They sent up 2 wash cloths and it took another 30 minutes to get the other towels sent up.
While driving back home that day we received a call from the mother of the bride wanting to know why we were not at the brunch that morning. We explained that we knew nothing about it. Of course it was in the gift basket that was at the front desk that they could not find when we checked it but miraculously turned up after was had departed.
I almost forgot, as I had expected, my mom’s credit card was charged for the room.
I will never stay there again…it might look like a boutique hotel, but it’s still run like a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyyanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed in this hotel during three days... With a very good location (near ucla and beberly hills), the hotel is close to a freeway and is extremely noisy.. really, there are sometimes that you cannot hear the tv. I asked for a quite room and the only solution was to give me an earplug (!)
The room had some bad details like the tv didnt work, old furniture, shower really bad,...
And last two days the elevator didnt work so we spent more time waiting the elevator that in the room...
Las day tried to use the business center for a meeting and they didnt allow us to close the door... amazing...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We were in Los Angeles for The galleries LA Fashion Weekend event, and due to last minute planning were not able to get a hotel room in Hollywood so we opted for the slightly farther out, by much more affordable Angelino. A former resident of LA, I know my way around very well so, I wasn't too worried about the location, right off the 405 it's very close to Getty, and an easy drive to Santa Monica, but a bit of a trek to events in Hollywood and Downtown.

One more thing about the location. As others have said, the hotel is ON the 405. Literally. Thanks to TA, we were aware of this and were sure to book directly with the hotel and request a view room, which is guaranteed to be on the 11th floor and up a must if traffic noise bothers you. Our actual view was a hilarious, as it was looking directly down on all that LA traffic which I am SO GLAD I know longer have to fight, so I wouldn't call it 'beautiful' but that didn't really matter.

That being said, everything about our stay was lovely. The room was huge, super clean, nicely decorated in a kind of Mad-Men-esque style, and the bed very comfy. Everyone on staff from the valet to the concierge to the bartender upstairs at West was very helpful, efficient and friendly. There was also a very James-Bond-Villian's-lair pool area where complimentary wine was served each night, but we didn't have time to partake in that feature, it looked fun though, maybe next time! We will absolutely stay here again next time we are in LA.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the view room
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haikusue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews