We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Customer Service - CANCEL NOW IF YOU CAN!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles
Ranked #286 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had a reservation booked for 3 nights in August at this location. When I was doing some reading on the internet about the hotel, I seen that there is a shuttle service from LAX to the hotel with a third party provider and that there is rental cars nearby. I called the hotel to ask what the names of these companies were so that I would be able to book transportation while in LA. My first call to the front desk turns into "I am busy, call back in 20 Minutes". So I waited the 20 minutes and called back again. I said "I have 2 questions about your hotel, can you help me with it." I was told again, I am busy call back in 30 minutes". I waited about an hour and called back in and got the same front desk agent answered again. I was told he did not need to answer any questions for me and for me to call the general manager some time and he hung up on me.
I proceeded to call Choice Hotels customer relations in regards to this issue and I was given a reference number and told that the General Manager would be in contact with me the next day. I am now a week later and have yet to hear from the GM. I called back to the Choice Hotels customer relations group and I did speak to a Supervisor at the call centre, they called the hotel and got the information.
Needless to say. I have cancelled my reservation and will not be staying at this location due to very poor customer service. I guess I should have read some of these reviews before booking in the first place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
5  Thank TD N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJ D, Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

sorry,
we do not provide shuttle service, not a air port location,
we use super shuttle service charges reqd
thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 139 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

The room was inundated with ants, bathroom floor was covered in water due to a valve leak on the toilet. Was told by front desk that are room would be changed and on our return they stated that our rooms problems were corrected and no other rooms were available. Nothing was done to correct the problems and we had no choice but to sleep with ants and walk on a wet bathroom floor. This hotel should be closed it is not suitable for human habitat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

No, this is not where I would like to stay on a "holiday" However, for convenience to the Los Angeles Convention center it works just fine. This was our second stay and it meets our needs. Last year while in the parking lot, we witnessed a delivery truck backing into a parked car and driving away. When we went in to report it, it turned out it was the desk manager's new car! For reporting it, she upgraded our room to the one bedroom "suite" (nothing fancy) but very nice of her to do that. This year for our business convention, we booked three rooms for our team. The hot breakfast was a little wimpy, but the staff was really trying to their best to serve. While my husband and my room was paid for in advance, we noticed that there were two unauthorized charges totally over $200 on my debit card from the hotel. We were on a tight budget and being the weekend, we would have been in trouble with the holds on our card. I contacted the desk manager (same gal that got her car hit the year before) and she went to extra ordinary lengths to call the bank and have them removed. Why the desk guy ran my card, was not explained. If it was just human error, I understand. Just makes me wonder how many charges people miss if they are not watching closely! I don't know her name, but the desk manager there is wonderful. If we have to go to a Los Angeles convention for our company again, I would stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonshinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

First time and this hotel felt like a living quarters for my companion after a day's outing. Location is very rough with not much to go out to without looking over your shoulder too much. Staff was great but a bit awkward at times. Free breakfast and wi-fi so it did us very nice and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaffyDank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

On my second night there my fifth floor room was broken into and my laptop was stolen. The person was able to come in through my window by removing the screen and climbing up on a bucket. My window overlooked a roof area so I never would have thought this could happen. Little did I know there is a door with no lock that allows anyone (even children) access to the roof. When I returned to the room after being gone for only an hour I discovered what had happened and called the front desk telling them to call the police. The front desk clerk told me he would but after 20 minutes had gone by with no result, I called to check and was told he was not allowed to call the police I would have to do it myself (thanks for telling me that to begin with). When I checked out the next morning I was not offered even an apology, the guy at the desk simply took a copy of the police report and said nothing. My attempts at contacting the manager have been unsuccessful for the last month, he is never available and the people I speak to are always totally dismissive to downright rude. There is clearly something going on here as the police officer told me he has had problems with them in the past, which means this is not the first time this has happened. This place is NOT SAFE do not stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJ D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

as per another guest staying with him he did not have a computer called police did not find any evidence. advice guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

too many problems 1) rough neighborhood.2) worst customer service from front desk personal.
3) bug in rooms.4. mold in bathroom.5 room too small. 6.rooms was dirty including shower head.
7) elevator is scary.8) odd shape building take elevator floor 3 to get to fourth floor.9.try to cancel my reservation but was not successful.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Winay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJ D, Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

sorry,
we could have change the room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Ive been to a few quality inns and most times im pretry disappointed. I stayed here expecting a dirty room but that wasnt the case at all. The room was absolutely spotless....no foul smell, no stains in the carpet. I will always frequent this hotel when in los angeles

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJ D, Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

thanks for staying see you in future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Tuscan Garden Inn
Tuscan Garden Inn
#221 of 355 in Los Angeles
14 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#147 of 355 in Los Angeles
50 reviews
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#196 of 355 in Los Angeles
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#264 of 355 in Los Angeles
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles

Address: 250 Silver Lake Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90004-3651 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Los Angeles)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $106 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles. We are located between Downtown Los Angeles and Down Town Hollywood in the trendy neighborhood of Silver Lake. We have a quite beautiful hotel with unique inviting hotel rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Silver Lake Hotel And Suites
Hollywood Silver Lake Hotel Los Angeles
250 At Silver Lake Hotel
Los Angeles Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing