We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the worst experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles
Ranked #282 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Dallas texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“one of the worst experience”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

too many problems 1) rough neighborhood.2) worst customer service from front desk personal.
3) bug in rooms.4. mold in bathroom.5 room too small. 6.rooms was dirty including shower head.
7) elevator is scary.8) odd shape building take elevator floor 3 to get to fourth floor.9.try to cancel my reservation but was not successful.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Winay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJ D, Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
sorry,
we could have change the room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    29
    31
    40
See reviews for
36
28
18
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Ive been to a few quality inns and most times im pretry disappointed. I stayed here expecting a dirty room but that wasnt the case at all. The room was absolutely spotless....no foul smell, no stains in the carpet. I will always frequent this hotel when in los angeles

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJ D, Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
thanks for staying see you in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were staying at this hotel only as we had to be at the Canadian Consulate early Friday Mar 15 due to theft in Los Vegas. We were also planning to relax by the pool. Pool not heated and there was upholstered sofa on deck. The room was ok, and the gentleman at check in was very pleasant (think he was the owner). We had requested a wake up call at 6:am and woke up at 7:30, as there was no call. The result was never got breakfast , and had to take a cab to & from the consulate.. Not happy campers. When we returned spoke to woman at front desk who assured me that she would investigate, and get back to me with outcome. I told her that I thought reimbursement for cab and breakfast would be reasonable. She said she would call. Never heard back. Being the first time using choice hotels reservations would not use them again
Leslie Faulkner
leslies6@telus.net

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJ D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
guest had a own car rental, wake up call was set but not answerd
sorry or any inconveniance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

La Paz, BCS
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Be very careful about this place. The overall cleanliness and amenities was below average. The place was very noisy, party time. The "non-smoking" room smelled otherwise. The internet was tenuous at best. Breakfast was pretty lame. We booked a room with a fridge, etc. but were given a really spartan room without.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJ D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
would have change room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

First off there was no water at the hotel for the day, and the city informed the hotel in advance. Therefore, somehow each guest for that day should have been notified via e-mail! Also, I call in advance for a roll away and they did not inform me. Second of all, we have four people in our room. But, when arriving we had 5 due to one person meeting a friend in LA. So the room called me and said how many people?? They have security camera's everywhere, on the flip side of that the security is good and we were safe. Third of all the breakfast was so so.. And you cannot take a plate for a guest who still may be sleeping, but we did anyway. I have never stayed in a choice hotel that does that!!! But, on the flip side of that there may have been many guest prior that do abuse that! In all the hotel was clean and if you needed more towels they did provide them. The beds and rollaway were comfortable too. And, there is no parking fee which is a plus in LA. However, I would not stay there again..and due to the congested area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJ D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
thanks for staying
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel four nights while visiting family nearby. This hotel is extremely clean and the friendly staff is very attentive to your needs. Our fifth-floor room (yes, they have an elevator) was spacious, with a view of the Hollywood sign, and included a microwave, frig, coffee maker and hair dryer. The breakfast was above average with great coffee, waffle maker, the usual bread items, cereal, etc. However there was no yogurt and the scrambled eggs were so-so. They did have fresh oranges and apples, and the orange juice was very good. Our last two mornings they also offered bacon, and we wondered why they didn't have it the other two mornings. The room rate was very reasonable and parking was ample; in fact, if you were lucky, you could use one of their covered parking slots. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: This hotel is fairly close to Hwy. 101 but reasonably buffered from traffic noise, though don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJ D, General Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Friendly service, we had a view to the famous Hollywood sign, which was a nice bonus. The room was the the top floor, and nothing disturbed our sleep. The was supposed to be a non-smoking one (there was even a sign), but our experience told something else (the kids protested quite loudly). The breakfast was pretty ok. We could consider going again.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJ D, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
thanks for staying
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#257 of 350 in Los Angeles
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
#143 of 350 in Los Angeles
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles

Property: Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles
Address: 250 Silver Lake Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90004-3651 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Los Angeles)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a limited service hotel located Right off the Freeway where Los Angeles and Trendy Silver Lake meet. We have approximately 60 rooms with Free WiFi, Free Breakfast, Pool and comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Silver Lake Hotel And Suites
Hollywood Silver Lake Hotel Los Angeles
250 At Silver Lake Hotel
Los Angeles Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing