We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,378)
Filter reviews
2,378 results
Traveler rating
1,024
1,027
252
39
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,024
1,027
252
39
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bagels chinese theatre great location quiet street dressing area dead end street dolby theatre universal studios no elevator minute walk small kitchen small hotel dining table stayed here for nights free breakfast the ground floor would definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 2,378 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2019

Our third stay here didn't disappoint. The hotel is great, the staff are lovely as ever and the location is excellent.
Close to everything we needed and getting Ubers is really easy to and from. Parking was great too.
It's an older place yes but it is quiet and cosy.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

My son and I stayed here from August 19 - 23. I'll go through what I liked and didn't like but the former is much more prevalent than the latter.

Positives

- Location - superb from our perspective. This hotel is a 4 minute walk from the most popular section of Hollywood Blvd - near N. Highland Ave. Just turn right on Orchid Ave. and walk through the walkway that will take you out on a shopping mall with an open interior surrounded by five floors of shops and restaurants. This in turn leads to Hollywood Blvd. There are further restaurants, shops and museums ( Ripley,s, Madame Tussauds) etc .very close by. As we didn't have a car and relied on public transit, the N. Highlands / Hollywood subway station is less than a five minute walk away. You can get downtown to Union Station in less than 25 minutes once on a train. This is how we got to Dodger Stadium after taking the free special Shuttle bus from the station. There are also two main bus routes along Hollywood Blvd. We each got a week pass for $27 as they don't have three day passes.

The rooms .
- excellent! Our room was in a quiet section of the hotel had two beds. Actually, I would think all the rooms are fairly quiet as Orchid Ave. is a very small dead end street with little traffic. There are two alcoves in our room - one just to the right when you enter with a microwave, small fridge, a table and three chairs. The second alcove was next to the bathroom with a mirror closet and room safe. The bathroom itself was large enough with a good stream of hot water for your shower.

Breakfast

A continental breakfast is served from 7:30 - 10 am. Coffee, juice, cereal, waffles, toast, ( White and brown bread ) croissants, bagels and canned peaches and cherries (?) . Certainly enough to get you started on your day. The seating inside is limited but there is a patio outside with additional chairs and tables....

Misc.

There is a vending machine right at the back of the hotel with an ice machine.

Negatives

- Only two really and there are minor. I found the Wifi reception spotty especially in our room. Perhaps that had to do with increased usage later in the day? There were apparently eight or so 'channels' but I could only find two of them.

The second thing that disappointed me was no complimentary newspaper in the morning. I'm used to staying at hotels that supply at least one. I'm a creature of habit and I like my paper and a coffee first thing in the morning. I couldn't find a local paper or USA Today anywhere nearby either. I realize this wouldn't be a issue for probably the vast majority of guests.

All in all, we had a most pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Los Angeles.

Room tip: No elevator to rooms on second floor but short staircase.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank OttawaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

I love that this is a small private hotel that includes a lovely breakfast in the tariff. Of course, close proximity to everything Hollywood certainly helps. Very clean, well-maintained, staff extremely pleasant. Fridge. Safe. I'm short and I had a difficult time scrambling up onto the King-size bed, but the bed was ever-so comfortable. Love the art deco interior corridor style.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pixiehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

The Hollywood Celebrity is a small hotel in the heart of Hollywood, located directly behind the Chinese theater and just steps from the entrance of the mall at Hollywood and Highland. This is an art-deco hotel that has been maintained and upgraded to be a comfortable respite from the surrounding area.

The staff at the hotel was fantastic. They were friendly and competent and would frequently initiate conversation and ask about your day and your activities. Based on the conversations, they were quick to offer discount coupons for local restaurants and attractions as well as tips and advice. There was always someone at the front desk 24x7.

The daily continental breakfast was served in a small dining area off of the main lobby. The limited selection included cereals, breads, fruit, fruit juice and coffee. There were also two waffle stations where you could make your own waffle and add strawberry topping or fresh peaches. The seating area was very limited and frequently full, so we had to take our food back to our room to eat. The self service area is in an alcove off of the dining area and did not flow well. Many of the patrons tried to push their way through the line and needed to be reminded of their manners. However, the hotel was also less than one block from a Starbucks and Randy's donuts, so breakfast out was always a quick, convenient option.

We had a room with two queen beds and a kitchen on the ground floor. There was enough space for the four of us to move comfortably around the room. The two queen beds were in the center of the room with a chair in one corner and the kitchen table in the other. There was one window air conditioner for the room which was adequate to maintain the room at a very comfortable temperature.

The kitchen was a galley style kitchen with room for two that included a mini refrigerator, gas stove with four burners, sink and microwave. Glasses, dishes, pots and pans and silverware were provided. There is a separate kitchen table in the main part of the room that can accommodate four people. Since there was no desk in the room, this became the work center as well.

The bathroom was very small but had a toilet, sink, and combination shower tub. Early risers can use the bathroom without disturbing others that were still sleeping.
There was also a vanity outside of the bathroom that included another sink that could be used when the bathroom was in use. There was also a large closet next to the vanity that provided space for all of our suitcases and had a safe that was large enough for our laptop computers.

Parking was available for an additional cost. The parking lot is on the side of the hotel and is very small and very tight. Frequently there were not enough spaces in the lot when we returned in the evening, so we would double park in front of the hotel and the front desk staff would valet our car to a nearby parking lot. Our perception was that this was a great solution to the small parking lot and never minded walking a block to get our car from the other lot in the morning.

The one inconvenience that we experienced was with electrical outlets in the room. There was only one outlet by the chair, one in the kitchen, one at the vanity and one in the bathroom. There were no outlets at the nightstand or kitchen table so we had to use extension cords to get electricity to the kitchen table for our computers and we had to charge our cell phones on top of the microwave. We used extension cords and two of the kitchen chairs for night stands to accommodate medical devices that needed to be bedside at night.

However, despite the inconveniences, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, not only for its location, but also for the incredible staff, character of the building and overwhelmingly positive experience that we had. We were just steps away from Hollywood Boulevard and all of the amenities that it has to offer.

Room tip: Bring an extension cord with multi-outlets
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ECJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is remarkable. Been to countless hotels, big and small, this one files in the "memorable ones" folder.
Staff - amazing, front desk clerk- professional and friendly, absolutely delightful. Clean lobby and hallways. Clean rooms, well maintained. We had a suite and it felt like home. Large rooms, king size beds, kitchen, TVs, vanity, closets, etc. Beautiful front yard with coffee tables. Tucked in a very quiet street, cozy and neat,in a walking distance from the crazyness of Holywood Blvd and Walk of Fame. Can see the Hollywood sign walking towards Hollywood Blvd. Tons of things to see, tons of places to eat, etc. Would recommend and would stay again, anytime!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank usernametaken777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews