We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for a tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #18 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for a tourist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked our stay here based on trip advisor reviews & are very happy. We stayed for 6 nights & found the hotel to be perfectly situated to the major attractions, just a minute walk to Hollywood Blv & the start of the walk of fame. You can also get a good, clear shot of the Hollywood sign from the shopping centre Hollywood & Highland, which is a few steps away. There are lots of food options around - like Hard Rock, Johnny Rockets, Hooters, McDonalds etc. We pretty much taxi'd everywhere we wanted to go & to get to Warner Bros studio or Universal studios cost less than $20 one way. We also went to the farmers market & that cost around $25. There are cheaper ways but as I was really sick, we didn't want to deal with the hassle of public transport or the hop on/off tours.
We had a family room with 2 double beds, a kitchenette, small dining table, a decent hanging space wardrobe & a large bathroom & toilet. The rooms are clean & tidy. Housekeeping comes every day & are thorough with their service. There aren't any fans to circulate air, so without the a/c on, the room did get a bit stuffy & warm, even with the windows open. We had a bit of trouble with noise from the apartments next door (only on sat night) but not enough to keep us awake all night. The beds are quite firm in our room so it took me a day or so to get used to that.
Breakfast is served from 8 to 10 & we found that to be the most difficult part of the whole stay. 2 types of cereal, bagels or waffles are the only items on offer & then you have to wait to use one of the 3 working toasters. We went down at a few mins before 8am & people were already lined up waiting. It took us over 20 mins to be able to use the toasters so be prepared for that if you are on a timeline for the day.
The staff are really helpful & friendly & willing to help in any way they can.
If we ever come back to LA, we would definitely stay here again. I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGirlsNextDoorAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    908
    228
    36
    33
See reviews for
662
721
95
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel after a recommendation from a friend. Lots of other Aussies here too. It didn't disappoint. Very friendly, helpful staff, clean & with a good choice for breakfast to get you going for the day. So close to all the sights along Hollywood Boulevard & so easy to catch the train to Universal Studios. We caught a bus to The Grove for a little bit of a different Hollywood sight & had a great day out. I'm still not sure if Hollywood is my kinda place but it was a great end to our USA holiday.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Better late than never I suppose. Stayed at this hotel for six nights in Nov. 2013 with the family. Location was absolutely perfect for our needs and loved the small boutique nature of this hotel - made a nice change from the larger chain style hotels.
Just at the back of the Dolby Hotel and no more than two minutes walk to the red line railway station of Hollywood/Highland - one stop north gets you to Universal Studios and probably no more than half an hour to the Staples Centre - which covered off this family's needs perfectly.
Breakfast is more than adequate and quite frankly I think people who complain about it should be staying at a top of the range five star hotel.
The kitchenette is fantastic for in room self catering and as previous comments have said there is a great supermarket - fresh and easy very close by.
I would definitely stay here again if visiting LA/Hollywood and would definitely recommend to other families travelling there. It is in a nice quiet street and so close to everything on Hollywood Blvd. Loved this hotel and loved the art deco theme of the hotel. Staff were more than accommodating.
PS - for cheap tacky LA souvenirs there is a massive shop right near Madam Tussauds wax museum with nothing over $5.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Situated in a quiet oasis and yet only 2 minutes walk from Hollywood Boulevard this hotel is a little gem. All of the staff were so friendly and the room (we had a full kitchen with ours) was perfect for our stay. The breakfast arrangements were typical USA style and an added bonus was the 24 hour availability of hot drinks in the foyer. You will be given a pamphlet with your room key that gives details of the wifi (good) and a map showing the "secret" passageway through to the Highland Shopping Centre and the Street of Stars.For those who are self catering there is a very good "Fresh & Easy" store within an easy walk (marked on the map).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oswetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We booked a stay at this Hotel for 9 days, but after the first night checked out. The beds are so uncomfortable. My arms and shoulders kept going numb. We spoke to the staff at the front desk, and they shared that the beds in the hotel had all been recently replaced. One of the staff people also shared that they too would never be able to sleep on the beds.
It's a really nice quaint place and the staff there are very nice and helpful. We just were unable to make their new beds work for us.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights but had in fact booked and paid for 7, we stayed at a friend's place the last night instead of this hotel. When we first arrived, both the reception and our room had a strange smell of detergent, like it was covering up another smell. One out of the four staff members we met was friendly and smiled at people, the rest didn't seem to like their job very much. The "continental" breakfast was some white bread and sliced bagels you could toast, some apples and oranges, and snack pack versions of Froot Loops and other sugary cereals. Unfortunately there weren't really any healthy alternatives and we therefore decided to eat our breakfast at other places for the remainder of our stay. There was free coffee and tea at all times though, which was nice. The hotel car park was quite small and narrow and if you were unlucky enough to arrive late, you had to park your car in the middle of the car park, preventing the other cars from getting out. This meant that you had to leave your car keys at the reception so that they could let the people out who was blocked in when they needed to use their car. At one point the whole car park was full and we had to park the car some distance away in a public car park, although the hotel did pay for it. There was no safety deposit box in the room. They offered us to use one of their small boxes behind the reception counter, but that wouldn't do for anything larger than money, passports, etc. The beds were fairly hard, uncomfortable and difficult to get used to. The air con unit was loud and took a few minutes before it would blow warm air. There was also a small fridge in the room, which was useful to have (although it didn't seem to keep out bottled water very cold). The fridge would, however, emit a loud noise every 30 minutes or so, which made falling asleep a bit difficult and we kept waking up because of it. The location is great and if you don't expect much from the hotel it will do the job. You will hopefully spend most of your time outside anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground floor level if you have heavy suitcases with you, there is no lift/elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yohanna_Malin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I had a great time while staying at Hollywood Celebrity Hotel. The staff were great and accommodating to my needs. My room was very roomy and clean and I liked it that I had a mini fridge and a microwave. The location is fantastic as it is just a block away from the tourist attraction and the hotel is next door to the mall. I would definitely would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lov2bowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Celebrity Hotel

Property: Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Address: 1775 Orchid Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Celebrity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Celebrity Hotel is a superior tourist class hotel located in the heart of downtown Hollywood, home of the Academy Awards and entertainment industry. We are just minutes to fine dining, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers a boutique-look with the intimacy of a bed and breakfast inn. Hallways are beautifully decorated with posters of classic films and Hollywood icons. Guest rooms are spacious, home-style furnished, with some equipped with a full kitchen for extended stays. Our professional hotel staff follows suit with excellent service reminiscent of a time long since past. Come experience all of the glamour and class of the era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Celebrity Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Celebrity
Celebrity Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing