We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #20 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the end of April 2013. Staff member, Alvin went out of his way to be helpful and friendly, which made for a great experience. The location, a few steps from Hollywood Blvd. cannot be beat! Courtyard seating outdoors to just sit or eat the breakfast was so pleasant. Clean well appointed rooms. Really enjoyed the greenery and sunshine outside our window. Will definitely book again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khesed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    945
    236
    38
    33
See reviews for
702
746
99
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The good point of this hotel is the location - very close to everything. The staff are also very friendly and helpful - with organising taxis/tours/activities. We arrived very early at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready for checkin. Breakfast was fine - as we didn't really expect any hotel to supply us with a big feed. Free internet acess is available in the lobby too. However, there is no elevator to the first floor and you need to drag your luggage up the stairs. This caused us some issues as our room was opposite the stairs and you could hear everyone moving their luggage at all hours of the night. In addition, our room being placed at the front of hotel - you could hear every street sound/the water fountain(!)/people talking/taxis pulling up/etc - which made it very hard to sleep. And this hotel is located in a very quiet street! Maybe if the room was at the back of the hotel, the room noise could have been reduced. Lastly, our room needed a proper paint job - with peeling paint in the bathroom and living areas.

Room Tip: Must have a room back from the street to have any chance of sleeping during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here after transferring from a horrible hotel down the street. We found this hotel listed in the USA lonley planet guide book. It's clean and basic, but a nice stay. A small amount of breakfast is available in the mornings. 2 minutes walk to all the sights, train station, shops ect. It may be a little 'out dated' to some people, but if you don't need 'all the frills' why pay for them? Nice owner/family run business, and no problems when we wanted to see the rooms before booking. A little bit of noise from people coming and going, but hey, it's Hollywood!! :-) Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meow0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This little boutique hotel is tucked shyly away in a quiet street behind the Loews Hotel, so you get the great location for half the price. The room was spacious and had a separate alcove with table and fridge. Large wardrobe/dressing area. Small and basic bathroom. Our airconditioner was a noisy one set in the window. It was quite warm so we either had to run the aircon, or open the windows which did let in a bit of street noise but not too bad. We were on the 2nd floor (no lift) but that was fine. The decor in the room was a bit tired, but the charm of the hotel is obvious in the passageways with lots of art deco touches. It is easy to be social in this hotel - nice chairs in the wide hallways, breakfast in the lobby, and chair and tables out on the front patio. The staff were super friendly and helpful. There was no problem about storing our luggage until our room was ready. There is a laundromat quite near. We liked to walk the very short distance to the Hollywood and Highland Centre to the California Pizza Kitchen for takeout and sit on the patio in front of the hotel. Easy access to the Red Line, buses, Hollywood attractions. Okay - so it's a little basic, but still charming at a great price. Our only regret was the lack of a pool as it was quite hot while we were there.

Room Tip: Upstairs and in the middle was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

It was my 2nd time stay at this small hotel. Located near famous hollywood boulevard made everthing easy for travellers. Halal foods are easy to find nearby. Would be a great catch. Staff were friendly and will help you booking delivery foods, tour stuff packages, arrange transportation to the airport and might welcomed you for some treats if you were lucky enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aainaa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
762 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Located right behind Chinese Theatre and the Red Line Hollywood/Highland Station. Huge room with two queens - dining area - fridge. Terrific value in this neighborhood. Reasonably quiet for sleeping. Breakfast included not the best but it gets you going- juice coffee toast waffles muffings croissant jam - no cereals or fruit. Breakfast is 8-10 so if you have an early meeting you are out of luck.

Room Tip: You have to walk up steps from the street to the lobby and if you are on the second floor there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burns, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location was great! A short walk to all the Hollywood attractions. A nice patio with a waterfall to enjoy breakfast outside. The staff is very friendly and helpful in every way. The downside is it is old and a bit run down. There isn't much parking available. It's a decent room with a great location, so if you are like us and spend little time in the room it will work fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonda4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,657 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,148 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,481 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,056 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 350 in Los Angeles
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Celebrity Hotel

Property: Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Address: 1775 Orchid Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Celebrity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Celebrity Hotel is a superior tourist class hotel located in the heart of downtown Hollywood, home of the Academy Awards and entertainment industry. We are just minutes to fine dining, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers a boutique-look with the intimacy of a bed and breakfast inn. Hallways are beautifully decorated with posters of classic films and Hollywood icons. Guest rooms are spacious, home-style furnished, with some equipped with a full kitchen for extended stays. Our professional hotel staff follows suit with excellent service reminiscent of a time long since past. Come experience all of the glamour and class of the era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hollywood Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Celebrity Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Celebrity
Celebrity Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing