We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service/Rooms Need Some Fixing”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We recently got back from our stay at the Magic Castle and when we first arrived we were greeted with sparkling lemonade. When my husband first entered the room he was less than impressed, especially\ with the bathroom. There were numerous cracks and spots of peeling paint. The toilet also had trouble flushing and the shower did not drain properly. I notified the front desk and they said someone would come and fix it, well not one ever fixed it. Instead they gave us money off each night of our stay. We also found it handy that they give you free snacks like candy bars, cookies, and chips. The breakfast was alright, many of the pastries were dry. The Magic Castle is in a nice location in Hollywood, but I became concerned when I saw homeless people sleeping directly across the street from the hotel. Overall I'd say the service is the best thing the hotel has going for it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank tennis1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,097)
There are newer reviews for Magic Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,509 - 2,515 of 3,097 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2007

Great hotel with very nice amenities. We booked the two bedroom suite, when we arrived there was a handwritten note wishing us a great time at the play Wicked (at Pantages just down the street), and a very cute take out box filled with an assortment of candies. I believe the hotel is a converted apartment complex with an 8' deep swimming pool in the middle and rooms surrounding. The only downside that I can come up with is that the fuse that our bedroom airconditioners was on kept tripping making our place quite hot. But this would not prevent me from coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

My wife and I just spent 5 days at the Magic Castle and it is one of the best hotels we have ever booked into. We have previously booked into all the so called big name exclusive hotels but they cant match the service you get here. Right from our arrival we received a very warm welcome from Daphne at the reception who couldnt do enough to help us ( all the staff were good ) The room was an excellent size and included a dvd player with a free selection of dvds at the reception. You will also receive complimentary mini bar goodies such as potato chips, chocolate and diet cokes etc. Do not pay any attention to any moaning reviewers who might complain about a crack in a wall or some trivial nonsene, this hotel is well worth the money. We stayed at the Roosevelt the last time we visited L.A and although it was nice, Magic Castle is the better option.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vince9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

I was thoroughly impressed with the amount of service this hotel gives their customers! All the staff is friendly and accomodating. As soon as you enter they give you a fruity drink (non alcoholic) and welcome you to the hotel. Around 5pm every day, a staff member comes around and gives mints and a card with tomorrow's weather on it. At their 7-10am complimentary breakfast (with real food from a local bakery (pastries, toast, cereal, coffee, tea), not all that greasy stuff you get at other hotels) the manager always walks around and asks how you're doing and how they can help you. The concierge desk is very helpful with anything from directions, to food, to drinks, to Free DVD rentals! They have a heated pool in the center that's 24hrs. The setup of the building is very "community oriented". The room itself - is "hooked up"! When you walk in they have soft music playing on the stereo in the living room. Yes a living room! You don't just have a bedroom, but a kitchen, living area with a pullout couch, a spacious bathroom, tons of closet space... it's like an apartment more than a hotel room. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home. The location is perfect - you're a block or so away from Grauman's Chinese Theater, the Kodak Theatre and all these shops and food places. There's some museums in the area. If you're not from the area - bring with you a detailed street map. It's really easy to get lost around there, and the traffic is ridiculous - but you'll have a great time! Also - if you want to get into the Magic Castle Club - make sure you have the right dress code! Dresses for ladies, Blazer and tie for gentlemen.... When I come back to LA, if I need to find a place to stay - I'm definitely booking a room here again! :)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank snazzyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

The Magic Castle is at a good location in Hollywood - walkable distance to Hollywood and Highland; Mann's Chinese Theater, and other points of interest in the area. It is next to the Magic Castle - which is where you can have a nice dinner (or more casual Sunday brunch) and watch some magic shows.

The rooms are large - ours had a kitchen, living room, bathroom, and bedroom. The rooms are comfortable - however at some point will need to be updated. Beds were comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. Swimming pool is open 24 hours and the included continental breakfast in the morning is a nice touch.

The juice drink on check out was a very nice tough. The hotel also prides itself on service! We were there on my birthday. It was so nice to find a birthday card in the room from the hotel...and a wonderful small cake in the refrigerator. They also let the Magic Castle know that it was my birthday and they made me feel special for Sunday brunch! Overall, service is quite nice; and it is very personalized touch. Enjoyable.

One major note about the hotel - you need to be comfortable climbing stairs for almost all the rooms. We were on the 2nd floor and soon got used to climbing the 3 sets of stairs to reach our room. The rooms are large for families....and nice for young families...some have balconies....however do take note about the stairs.

In general, the hotel knows where it needs to please its customers. It also seems to know its downsides and compensates by very personal and nice service.

Its not the best in the area - but is a comfortable - and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We stayed at the Magic Castle over the July 4 holiday. The service itself was borderline amazing. Our main man Shawn gave us the hook up with Snickers, Doritos, and M&M (yum!) for free at the front desk. For breakfast they had a spread of cereals, muffins, and "scones". To me, the scones were nothing more than a cookie in a funny shape. But I wasn't complaining - who doesn't love a cookie? In fact, I would eat cookies at every meal if I could. They're delicious.

Anyway, the location is great. We walked over to the Chinese theatre place and saw Chewbacca (the REAL Chewbacca) walking around. Crazy. It was also easy to get over to West Hollywood for some all-you-can-eat tacos at Hamburger Mary's. They also have burgers and a whole lot of sausages available.

The room was in good shape, particularly if you enjoy a jungle environment. One of the rooms did not have a working AC. They offered to give us another room, but we chose to stay. The way we saw it, it was like getting a free trip to the Rainforest Cafe every night.

My only real issue with the place was the clientèle. On the 4th, a bunch of rabble rousing kids went into the pool. They were being a little loud and partying (one of them even doing a stripper pole dance in the pool) but who can blame them - it's the 4th of July! They all seemed really thirsty as well. Maybe that's why they kept asking people to "make it rain".

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank giantburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Spacious room with excellent ammenities and very friendly and helpful
front desk staff. I had scheduled an antique car tour of Hollywood and the tour company flaked out. Well Meg at the front desk worked very hard to find a new and better tour! Lance at Icon luxury tours gave us a fantastic 3 hour tour in a Cadilac Escalade (4 in our party). [----] Very highly recommended. The staff worked out everything. All the water, soda, and snacks were included! No honor bar ripoffs here. Of course the Sunday brunch at the magic castle with the kids (age 20, 18) was fabulous as well as the night dinner for my wife and me. While we were at the Magic Castle, the staff (again fantastic) transported 18 year old daughter and her boyfriend up the hill to Yamashiro for a nice dinner and then back to the hotel. The Magic Castle Hotel is fantastic and in an excellent location--walking distance to Manns theatre, the Kodak theatre, and the walk of fame on Hollywood BLVD. We scored tickets to Wicked, a wonderful experience. This hotel is a gem and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,167 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,750 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,150 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,086 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $225 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing