We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service”
Reviewed June 27, 2007

The Magic Castle Hotel was all that it was built up to be on tripadvisor. Make a reservation here and enjoy your vacation.

The location in Hollywood is terrific. You can walk to the Hollywood and Highland Center, the Chinese Theatre, the Kodak Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, etc. For this part of town, their price is more affordable than most and you get your money's worth in space. We reserved a one-bedroom suite and it included a living room with a pull-out sofa, a dining area, a full kitchen, patio with table and chairs, small bathroom and a separate bedroom with a king bed. One sign of their excellent customer service was that they had already placed a rollaway in the living room for my son before we arrived. The room had almost more closet space than my own house! The morning breakfast was adequate with offerings of delicious scones and assorted pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and milk, juices and coffee. Our children enjoyed the heated swimming pool in the courtyard.

The room itself needed some updating. The telephones, furnishings (bed and dresser, sofa bed) and the bathroom were very outdated. The A/C in the bedroom also was not sufficient to cool the room. My in-laws had a studio room which was more updated than ours and they were quite pleased with my choice of hotels!

We loved this hotel and would stay here in a heartbeat if ever in LA again. Why? Because of the wonderful staff and excellent customer service! The staff were ALL very customer-friendly. "Service with a smile" must be their motto. When we checked in late on a Thursday evening, they offered us an orange soda spritzer in champagne glasses to welcome us to the Magic Castle Hotel. They gave us a menu of snacks (incl. sodas, bottled water, candy, and chips) available free any time of day (we took full advantage of these throughout our stay). They offered us popsicles as we lounged by the pool. They lent us free DVD's for viewing. They also printed out information on a world premiere happening on Hollywood Boulevard. By far, the nicest "touch" was the birthday cake and balloons they had for my mother-in-law in her room when we checked in on her birthday.

Their covered parking is very secure and we took advantage of the added bonus of entrance to the Magic Castle for Saturday brunch. That is a "must do" as well!!!

Thank you, Magic Castle Hotel and Staff, for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Liked — Location and Customer Service
  • Disliked — Room needed some updating
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kmbmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,220
    563
    121
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,386
776
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

We were disappointed with this hotel after reading good reviews on this site.
We found our one bedroomed suite to be be very dark, shabby and in need of a serious update. Some changes had been made e.g. new bathroom sink but rather than replacing the bath and tiles they had just been painted over and the paint had started to flake. The carpets were very old and stained and there were also stains on some of the furniture. The TV cabinet was also old and dirty. Shutters on the windows didn't open properly and we were constantly trapping our fingers when trying to gain access to the balcony. We stayed 2 nights but our room was not serviced. Breakfasts were nice and fresh and the staff very helpful, but overall it did not meet our expectations.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Condition of room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Yini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Absolutely loved this place! I stayed here for 4 nights with my husband, mother in law and my baby boy. The location is superb, we walked in front of the Kodak Theather every night, the nearby mall is great (plenty of places to eat at night) and the metro station is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The bed was very comfy and I really liked the vibe of the hotel. My mother in law stayed at the sofa bed and it was also comfy. Service is excellent...they gave us directions every day. The breakfast, although limited, is very good. If you have a one or two bedroom suite, you also have the option of cooking in the in room kitchen. The only con was that 2 out of the 4 nights, the water got cold in the middle of my shower. Also, if you are really really picky...then you may notice that the paint job in the bathroom is not perfect. Overall, I greatly recommend this place.

  • Liked — Friendly service.
  • Disliked — Semi-cold shower
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiveliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

My family and I just returned from our vacation in Hollywood and enjoyed our stay at the Magic Castle Hotel. I want to thank the hotel staff for all their help. They went out of their way to make out stay enjoyable.

We had a one bedroom suite, which was large enough for me and my husband and two teenage daughters. The room was very clean. The continental breakfast was very good. It wasn't your typical hotel continental breakfast, the food was not stale and the scones and crouscents were very good.

Once again, I want to thank the staff for all their help and I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and we will be back again.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 3dsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2007

We travel a lot and this is the best hotel we ever stayed in! Where do I begin?? Customer service was top rate! Gretchen is a doll. Spoke to her for over an hour the week before we arrived. She recommended everything for us to do with the kiddies. She also arranged a lovely surprise upon our arrival. A complimentary upgrade to a two bedroom suite. She also stopped by personally to deliver a case of the kids favorite juice.

The room was magnificent! Spotless, bright, comfortable, cozy, home-like, modern, clean,huge are just a few words to describe it. The location is awesome too. Easy access to all the big sights...Walk of Fame, Chinese Theater, El Capitan, Tour Buses to Beverly Hills, Sunset, one train stop to Universal etc.

The pool was a great treat with lots of big purple fluffy towels. The kids had a ball. Free continental breakfast too--best coissants I ever tasted . Laundy machines with complimentary detergent and they even mailed some letters for me for free. The kiddies enjoyed movies at night with goodies like candy and popcorn--again all free. Whenever you called or passed by the Front Desk, they couldnt be nicer and more helpful.

We decided to stay an extra day and they accomodated us with the same room and the same rate. No problem! The staff goes above and beyond. Gretchen, Megan, Tom, Mary Jane...they were all incredible and we were all sad to have to leave. We definitely intend to stay here again without a doubt. The last night the cleaning staff decorated the kids room and left star-shaped sunglasses for each of them.

It is by far our home away from home! Excellent place!

  • Liked — Customer service and location
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseMom115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

I stayed at Magic Castle in May for a 3-day stopover in LA as my best friend & I headed to Hawaii. We are both experienced travelers (I am a travel agent) and were both so impressed with how wonderful the staff was - from the "Champagne" greeting when we arrived at the reception desk to their reccommendations for dining,providing maps, directions, bus routes, etc. They were friendly, professional,efficient, and helpful. All with a cheery smile, too. The breakfast mini-scones were to-die-for! I can still taste their buttery sweetness. Classical music was was playing as we entered our suite. Big fluffy bathrobes were provided, as well as a lovely selection of toiletries. The bedding was very comfortable w/ a down duvet. The kitchen area is huge and well-equipped. All was very clean and comfy, but it could use a little spiffing to be perfect - not a problem for us, though. The owner is definitely on the right track - he's got the best staff I've ever encountered. Thanks to Gretchen, Megan, Mary Jane, Shawn and all the rest - you all are awesome.

  • Liked — The staff & location
  • Disliked — No elevator to 2nd floor
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sunbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

During our stay we received excellent service from all the staff at The Magic Castle. Our room was modern and clean and although we did not use the pool, it was lovely to sit and eat breakfast there each morning. Gretchen who worked there was extremly helpful when we were deciding on which trips to go on. We would recommend not booking tours with LA city tours as we were picked up for the wrong tour, then the following day we were not picked up for our original tour as planned, We then received verbal abuse from the manager of the tour company!. Overall we had a excellent holiday and would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — A taxi ride away fron Sunset
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
2,062 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
2,884 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
2,048 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
1,314 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 348 in Los Angeles
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing