We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many amenities and great value”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2006

This is a fine location in Hollywood - 1 block from Grauman's Chinese Theater and the whole tourist scene on that same block. Good eating, lots of movie theaters, shopping, fun stuff happening all along the sidewalk, stars and handprints of celebrities. Yet, the hotel itself feels residential. In fact, the hotel was an apartment complex before, so the feel is very homey around the swimming pool. Service is the best - friendly, quick to fix the shower door, very responsive. They certainly aim to please. Yamashiro's, the famous upscale restaurant in the gorgeously historic building overlooking the city, is part of the business, so they booked our dinner reservation and drove us up to the restaurant. Best part is that the hotel stay allows us entry into the Members Only Magic Castle. We had Sunday brunch there with our kids and saw 3 shows. Very fun afternoon that lasts 3 hours.

The price is a real bargain for what you get. Don't expect a physically sparkling site - it's an older building that's been remodeled nicely but not extravagently. The only downside is the noise. Pretty noisy, especially with the cheerleading team that was in town for a competition. We probably wouldn't stay there again because we wouldn't need to be in that location and see the magic shows or dine at Yamashiro's again, but for a one-time treat, I'd highly recommend it!

5  Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,696 - 2,702 of 3,154 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2006

We were a group of 5 (parents, 2 teens and a grandmother) that stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel March 11-14. The hotel is located at the bottom of a hill, next door to the Magic Castle Club. My mother and I would walk up the hill to the Japanese restaurant (Yamashiro's) at the top to enjoy the view each morning.
The location is very good for just walking to the Kodak Theater or Graumanns Chinese Theater. Since we had a car, it was also centrally located to everything else.
Our one bedroom unit was always clean. The furnishings were kind of "art deco" simple. We also had a small kitchen with stove and refrigerator.
The staff was awesome!! They could answer any question about Los Angeles and always did it with a smile and additional information that I would not have thought to ask. (I am wondering if they have to take some kind of knowledge test before they are hired?) They were always very accomodating and quick to bring extra towels or blankets when we asked.
Since the weather was chillier than we had expected, we did not use the pool. But our daughters are hoping to come back during the summer. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BLGAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2006

The Magic Castle hotel was fantastic! As an amateur magician, I had heard that the hotel was not the best place to stay at, but I disagree with that now. The hotel is a renovated apartment complex that was built in the late 50's. It has been completely renovated and is very comfortable and clean. The staff was great and the service was 110%! The only drawback was that there a lot of stairs leading up to your room, so if you can't handle stairs, make sure you have a room on the lower level. GREAT STAY!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank speerlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Prague, Czech Republic
17
Reviewed March 18, 2006

We went off of Trip Advisor reviews and from a world traveler, I can tell you that sometimes the reviews do not match the experience. In this case, they did. From Sean to Gretchen and Mary Jane, the front desk staff treats you like family. They set the perfect stage for your stay, no matter your request - be it for a baby's crib or just general help. We loved the room, in fact, I wonder how this can be classified as 2 stars? To me, it was a 4 star experience, both the room itself and the staff. The shower in our bathroom has a little wallpaper problem - but it is easy to overlook when so many things about the stay were perfect. When I return to LA on business, or with my family, we will stay at the MC.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Frederick, MD
12
Reviewed March 9, 2006

By far one of the best Hotel's I've ever stayed in, beats anything NYC could provide in Customer service. Rooms were Huge! CLEAN!, with a very modern decor, more of a Hip apt feel then a Hotel. every small detail went un noticed, from the Hershey kiss and weather report card delivered to you at night, to the friendly and well informed staff.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2006

We stayed for 5 days during Christmas vacation, 2005. There were 6 of us; 2 seniors, 2 adults and 2 children, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. While the building is older, worn, and was never fancy to begin with; the rooms are big, comfortable, and in a perfect location. The service we received from the entire staff was very friendly and the best customer service any of us had ever experienced. I told the staff that I would post a positive review here and on cruise critic as a way of saying thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PinkLadyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2006

We spent two February nights at The Magic Castle based on Trip Advisor reviews. Because of the high rating we expected above average accomodations, but were disappointed. Our street facing room was noisy and we had to run the AC fan at night to block out the traffic. Our biggest concern, however, was the bathroom. The linoleum tile had two cigarette burns, the sink was sluggish and the aluminum doors on the tub enclosure were encrusted with years of gunk and mildew. The bathroom was in dire need of renovation and should not have been offered to guests. On the positive side the suite was large, staff was friendly and the location was good for touring the Hollywood area. All in all it was OK but not a No. 1 rating in our book!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nls1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,068 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,880 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,180 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
805 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $229 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing