We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hoot!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a hoot!”
Reviewed July 28, 2005

We were scheduled to stay @ 3 hotels on this trip since we like to try new hotels but after we arrived @ the Magic Castle, we cancelled our reservations @ a Sheraton and Hyatt and stayed for 6 days in our "home away from home"!

They upgraded us from a standard room to a suite, bought pizza for all the guests one night when the power went out in that area of town and treated us like old friends, calling us by name.

Every single employee @ this hotel was friendly and accomodating--it was kind of like we had an apartment there and knew our neighbors.

We'll be back for more!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BrownieRHUREBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,252
    574
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,407
793
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel for 7 days as the last stop on a two month "round the world" trip. Our itinerary included a number of hotels in the $US150-$200 range across the globe and we would have to say that the Magic Castle was by far our best hotel experience. The friendliness of the staff is exceptional and extends way beyond the shallow "have a nice day" that often passes for good service in the US. The staff and management appeared genuinely eager to assist in any way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible - (well done guys!).

The hotel itself is ideally located in the heart of the resurgent Hollywood district and for a tourist has that quintessential "Hollywood feel". This was aided by the hotel's apparent appeal to out-of-town creative types who stay there for a day or two to pitch their film scripts - so wireless laptops and movie talk by the pool.

The hotel is actually split in two, with the main building down the bottom of the hill and another one up the top. We initially booked a room up the hill and although the LA views are good, these rooms had not been renovated (Jan 2005) and were rundown. Guests are also required to walk up and down the hill for breakfast and any other concierge needs. After a couple of days, we decided to move into the main building and were put in a much nicer, larger and newly renovated room that was surprisingly at a lower price.

The Magic Castle is not an international luxury business hotel (and hence lacks some of the trimmings), but is excellent value for those seeking an LA experience at a reasonable price. (Note we have also stayed at the similarly priced LAX Airport Sheraton, which is a good hotel too, but has no atmosphere)

Some tips:

To avoid disappointment, we suggest that you ask for an upstairs renovated room in the main building that faces the pool and is not on the main road.

Guests at the Magic Castle Hotel are given the privilege of being able to visit the Magic Castle club next door to watch some of the top magicians in the world perform in a range of atmospheric theatres in a big Victorian house. Even if you stay for one night at the hotel, definitely take up this offer (and book ahead) as it is a genuinely unique LA experience that is not open to the general public.

Visit the Japanese restaurant at the top of the hill (behind the hotel) for either dinner or a late night drink as it has some of the best views in LA. We were lucky enough to be there after heavy rain and the views were exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Katoomba_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2005

This hotel is wonderful. The staff are the best hotel staff I have ever come across, they anticipate your every need and are extremely friendly and helpful. We were booked to stay for two nights but stayed three as we enjoyed it so much.
We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a suite on arrival, it was huge. Having the kitchen gave us the option not to have to go out and we were able to order a takeaway after our host provided us with a handful of menus once she heard us say we were hungry when we checked in. Breakfast in the morning gave a good selection of cereals, toast and delicious pastries. The hotel has an intimate relaxed atmosphere. The pool isn't big but it is big enough and the pool area catches the sun in the mornings. The hotel also provides a shuttle to Yamashiro which has the most delicious menu.
I would recommend Magic Castle, great value and brilliant staff.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vicky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 21, 2005

This hotel was so cool!

I loved the vibe of the place, and if you're touring Hollywood this is the place to stay. You can walk to Hollywood Blvd, but the hotel is quiet and relaxing.

I loved the retro feel, especially how rooms open onto the pool courtyard. You feel like Marilyn Monroe could be sunbathing there. Plus, there's a guy who comes around with complimentary popsicles :-)

The rooms themselves are great. We stayed in the 2BR/2BA suite (myself and husband, and his parents) and had plenty of space. The full kitchen was a great way to not have to eat out every night, and it was great to eat breakfast in before heading out for the day. The beds were comfortable and there was a ton of closet space.

One note: While the suite had window AC units, the bedroom my husband and I stayed in had a sub-par non-window AC. It didn't matter so much because the weather was perfect, but I wouldn't have been so happy in mid-July. However, the rest of the place was so nice it didn't really hurt our stay.

The staff was extremely nice and very accommodating to our large number of suitcases and 4am departure time. We were in town for a family wedding at Yamshiro and it was so convenient to take Magic Castle's shuttle up to the restaurant.

I will definitely be staying here next time I come to LA!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2005

Our family (boys of 12 and 14) stayed here for 3 nights in mid July. Rest of family hadn't seen tripadvisor and had sever worries about a magic castle. But they were quite overwhelmed by the quality of accommodation and high class service offered. we had newly decorated very spacious suite - kitchenette (large), big sitting area with TV/DVD which turned into double bed, moderate sized bathroom and large bedroom with great wardrobes etc.
Continental breakfast was great though my wife did not enjoy as much as rest of us - choice of juices, pastries (superb) and cereals and coffee.
Pool small but adequate and can be used 24 hr a day.
Location is excellent - 5 minute walk to Kodak Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard - and about 10 minutes drive to Universal Studios.
We really enjoyed our stay - great to have some space away from the kids as we've been sharing bedrooms for the rest of our time in California.
If you're thinking of heading up the coast don't miss the Kon Tiki Inn at Pismo Beach -I've written separate review on it.
We did deal on Expedia but taxes are added locally. Still great value for what you get. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Prospector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2005

Stayed at the Magic castle recently. I was somewhat sceptical with a name like this but because I was travelling with My wife, daughter and our 2 mums I really needed good value clean accomodations. Well we were pleseantly surprised when we arrived. Magnificent room with 2 double beds, large living area and great kitchen with all facilities. We immediately headed off for a walk and found that we were within 400 metres of Manns chinese theatre and Hollywood Boulevavrd. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. You get a basic breakfast which you cna eat on the patio or in your room. The only worry was that if you dont have a ground floor room you have a lot of stairs to climb, I had 6 Suitcases to deal with and was exhausted bringing them in (there is no lift). Overall highly recommended and fantastic for a family, location perfect and you can walk to a lot of major attractions from here. Go and Enjoy LA...

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 17, 2005

The setting (two room suites) and location (in Hollywood) made this a perfect stop for families visiting tourist attractions in Los Angeles.

The care the staff (Nick, Ashley, Shon, Marxia, Jason and Amy) all took with my family was simply wonderful as every question and accomodation was addressed when they could do so, efficiently and with a smile. It was a real pleasure to stay here as one of the most relaxing stops on our trip.

Thank you for helping us discover this fantastic family hotel.
Fr. Bruce

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,108 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,825 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,503 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,339 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing