We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb staff”
Reviewed July 18, 2009

I stayed here for one night. It was my husband's birthday and there was a small cake waiting for us, which was a surprise to both of us. I'd asked for the nicest room they had - they gave us a free upgrade to a suite. They allowed us to check out an hour later for no fee. The room had free wi-fi and there were free snacks in reception all day. The staff bent over backwards to help in any way they could - I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doggermcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,252
    574
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,407
793
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

One of the best hotels we stayed in on our drive around California! The hotel is in a great location, just two blocks from Hollywood Boulevard and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

We arrived mid afternoon, given complimentary glasses of champagne and shown to our room. The room wasn't by any means huge but had a comfy bed, large LCD TV with HD Cable, DVD Player, big wardrobe and a smallish bathroom with tub and shower.

One of the great things about this hotel is a free mini bar, you have to go to reception to get what you want, but it's all free. No alcohol but as many free snacks and drinks as you want. They also have a DVD collection you can pick from for free, another great touch for after a night out.

It was our first time in LA so we asked the staff at reception for somewhere nice to go for dinner, they recommended some great places and drew us a map to get to them.

The breakfast was good too, breads, muffins, cereal, yogurt, juices, teas and very drinkable coffee with syrups.

There's a decent pool with Popsicles handed out and ice cold towels on the hour. Every evening our bed had been turned down when we returned and the weather forecast for the next day left on the bed with some chocolates. There are so many little touches like this that made it a great stay.

A couple of weeks after we arrived back home we received a hand written postcard from one of the staff members who had helped us out so much. It's just a shame we can't return as often as we would have liked!

Minor negatives were the the building is obviously fairly old, some of the fixtures in the bathroom were cracked and access to the parking garage ($10/night) in the basement is tight because of the supports.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

This is a fantasic hotel.
The location is the best bit, two blocks from Hollywood Boulevard, most hotels around this area are much further away.
The service is brilliant, they couldnt be more helpful and gave us some fantastic recommendations for dinner (go to the Burger resturant at the Hotel Roosevelt- amazing!) You also get unlimted free drinks and snacks at reception which is great!
Breakfast is lovely.
Rooms are great, we had a suite and it was massive, they put chocs on pillows at night and turn the beds down.
Pool area is lovely, shame we had so much sightseeing as we couldnt enjoy it.
All in all, I would say dont hestitate to stay here, one of best hotels on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiehancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This hotel is so unassuming on the outside that it blows your mind once you step inside your room. The service is always impeccable with the staff going out of their way to make sure your stay is everything you hope for when you leave home. The rooms have all the necessary amenities plus more, since you have tons of room to live in-as it is an apartment. The location is wonderful and easy to get to. Kudos to this amazing bit of luxury.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Arrived to this hotel for a Sunday check in, we got there early, but our room was ready and we were allowed to check in early. The staff is absolutely wonderful, they explained all of the amenities and I was surprised that they do not charge for drinks or snacks at all and you can get anything 24hrs a day. The only thing they do charge for is FIJI water and it's cheaper here then at 7-11. They come around in the morning and give courtesy weather updates, offer great turn down service in the evening, I could really write a book about how great this place is -- and cheap! This is truly a five star place at a 2-3 star price. You are only 2 short blocks from Hollywood Blvd (walk of fame, Kodak theater, etc). On a Tuesday night we didn't have much to do so we asked the front desk about places we could go within walking distance, they gave us a map and labeled all of the places they recommend we check out. I couldn't believe how great this place is, all their rooms have a nice balcony to sit out on, we had a full kitchen, dining area, flat screen tv's just absolutely magnificent. I would love to continue writing more, but I don't have anymore time, if your coming to LA you need to stay here and be pampered. When I come back to LA this is where I will be staying, Thanks Magic Castle Hotel and see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceetown22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I stayed at the Magic Castle in June. The accommodations were outstanding. From the moment I arrived, with complimentary champagne upon my check-in, to the frozen ice cream they bring to you when you are out at the pool. Every morning you can get a vast array of breakfast foods and drinks complementary of course. The rooms are impeccably clean, well equipped and large. It was like having my own apartment in the Hollywood hills! I met the general manager whose name is Darren. He was very helpful in making sure that I had access to the internet while I stayed there and advised where to go in town to see the sights. I wanted to recommend the Magic Castle and Darren the general manager to anyone who wants to be pampered and tended to while staying in Los Angeles. Not only affordable, but outstanding service! Great place to stay!
MB Wash DC

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MB2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

For my first vacation to California, my sister chose this place due to the awesome reviews. I was a little hesitant because of all the places to stay, why this one, it looked old, but I have to tell you, I was pleasantly surprised. The stay here was so wonderful, we actually stayed an extra night. The place is immaculate, extremely clean and fully stocked with everything we could ask for. The staff was amazing!!! They went above and beyond. The turn down service was really nice. The free refreshments 24/7 was so convenient. We absolutely love this place and it has made our first visit to California so wonderful. It is located in a great area next to everything! I will be back in a few months and will definitly stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristie7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,108 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,825 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,503 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,339 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing