We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the money”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, Canada
210
Reviewed December 9, 2004

We stayed at the Magic Castle for 3 days and it was fantastick. We stayed in a lovely updated room. We had two kids with us, so having a big place with an extra room was a great treat. Especially since we had all just spent 5 days in Disneyland in a hotel room... The staff was courteous and very helpfull. The breakfast was what we expected fruit, juice, coffee, muffins. The pool and all the facilities were very clean. For the money you just can't beat it.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,821 - 2,827 of 3,183 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2004

We stayed at the Magic Castle on October 26-29 on the last leg of what was a California Adventure for 4 women. When we arrived late, we were greeted with a very hospitable staff. Our luggage was whisked away to our room, (which was an upgrade)! These rooms are huge and in apartment style. The price was right on and the location was fabulous. The staff was very helpful giving us pointers to enhance our trip. The rooms are very clean and there are aroma therapy products in the bathroom, a very nice touch! Also, if you must wash clothes (on vacation?), you have an opportunity to do so in the coin operated laundry on the premises. I recommend this hotel. You won't be disappointed! Thank you Magic Castle for a great birthday trip...We won't forget you!

5  Thank JessicaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas
13
Reviewed November 11, 2004

Magic Castle Hotel in Hollywood is now our home away from home. The rooms are larger than mine at home. Employees are great! Always a smile! So courteous and helpful! Didn't get a new room, but my room was great! Had a balcony so I can smoke since its a non smoking hotel. Its nice that my room didnt stink like old smoke. Breakfast was free and great too! Try the scones! All I can say is, if you are looking for a great LA getaway, check this place out! You won't be dissapointed.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2004

Great location above Hollywood Boulevarde, we would walk down to there every night for dinner. We stayed at the Hollywood Hills Hotel, great views and very quiet, away from all the hustle and bustle. Housekeeping let the side down though, no toiletries in the apartment when we arrived, not even soap, these were supplied promptly when asked for. We had no coffee pot when we went to make coffee in the morning, and had no plug for the sink to was the dishes that housekeeping never washed. Dont let this stop you going there though, as the location is great and the rooms are clean and have a great view, management were fantastic (have probably fixed housekeepng problems already) the pool is fantastic, can definately recommend this one!!

3  Thank Pukeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2004

We spend 8 nights at the “Magic Castle Hotel”. Our room was not overlooking the pool, room 305. We had no trouble with noise from the street. Our room was normal size. The bathroom too. Everything was very clean. We want to say a good word for the great job of the people at the reception: Mike, Nick en Gretchen were always very friendly and helpful (they also booked for us a studio tour). They are really doing a great job over there. The staff were amongst the most helpful and friendly we have ever come across anywhere.
A few mins walk to Hollywood Blvd, subway, restaurants etc.. Great breakfast served in the lobby (pastries, coffee and cereals) that you can take to your room or sit and enjoy around the pool. You are given a key to open the electronic gate into the underground garage. You get a coffee pot, fridge, and iron in the room. Internet access in the lobby (10 min. for 2 dollars). It was an excellent hotel, in a super location, and we would certainly stay here again on our next trip to LA.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stefanovas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2004

Hollywood Hills Hotel & Magic Castle Hotel are run by the same people. Walking distance to Mann's Chinese and Hollywood Blvd. Walk of Fame. Check-in at MCH lobby. Gated parking is $8. The HHH is at the top of the hill, across from Yamashiro Japanese restaurant. MCH at bottom of hill, across from the famous Magic Castle. Great views on top at HHH; there's a big, quiet pool up there too but it needs a new pool floor. MCH pool is much smaller & less private but newer/better maintained.
My first room at HHH had a fantastic view but carpet and chairs were worn and stained. I asked to be moved to one of the newly refurbished rooms (improvement going on at both HHH & MCH). The staff was very understanding and immediately moved me to a new suite at the same price. Nice staff here, unlike some other uptight LA places.
Continental breakfast served in MC lobby is great, but somewhat incovenient for HHH guests who must walk or drive down the hill. Not enough seating too.
If you stay at either HHH or MCH, you get access to the Magic Castle next door, an extremely cool private club of magicians. Plan a night for dinner there-- wander around the club afterwards, it's awesome. Jacket/tie required for men.
I'll be back!

2  Thank HARPMOBILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ireland
24
Reviewed September 28, 2004

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,136 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#5 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,298 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 358 in Los Angeles
3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Kimpton Everly Hotel
Kimpton Everly Hotel
#1 of 358 in Los Angeles
175 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,198 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $225 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing