We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a tourist”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for a tourist”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed here in August 2014, family of 4 with 2 teenagers. Best thing about this hotel is the location and the staff. The staff could not do enough for you and they made you feel like you were the most important guests at all times. Breakfast is complimentary, with an endless supply of snacks and non alcoholic drinks whenever you choose. Wifi and TV channels ideal for teenagers. Rooms are decorated basically, but honestly, who cares? It was a base to stay and the good location was more important to us. Walking distance to Hollywood Boulevard, restaurants and cinemas. If you want a quick stop in LA to use as a base to see the tourist sites, then this is ideal. Tour pickups also offered from the hotel.

Room Tip: For less traffic noise, try and secure a room not in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0lege0rgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,235
    567
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,398
782
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was our second stay at Magic Castle, and if we are ever coming back to LA, this is where we will stay again.
The hotel as such might be a bit dated, but it is clean, the rooms are spacius, and the bed are just what you need.
The gems of Magic Castle are the staff. From the moment you set foot at Magic Castle, you only see smiles and a lot of effort to make you feel comfortable.
And then there is the service - fantastic with the free laundry, the fabulous breakfast, evening paper and the free snacks. The kids love the latter.
The first time you come to Magic Castle, you choose it because of the location (also great). Next time you choose is because of the experience. I know we are.

Room Tip: The Family rooms easily accomodate five adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5-Danes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel is one block from Hollywood Blvd so it is set for the tourists. Breakfast is provided along with an endless supply of snacks. There's wifi, a pool and a supermarket close by, which is good as there is no room service office. Our room was massive. A king bed in the bedroom with a double sofa bed in the lounge. Two plasma TVs and a nice enough bathroom. Large kitchen and dining table. Laundry facilities are available and reception staff are always willing to call you a taxi or make restaurant recommendations or bookings.

Room Tip: no lifts, so be prepared if you have a room at the top. But the rooms are massive. High rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pocketgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

From the outside this hotel doesn't look like much - it's bright yellow and ageing. But we were pleasantly surprised. Right around the corner from the Hollywood walk of fame it's location is perfect. The rooms are well sized, the staff are very friendly and helpful and there is complimentary wifi, snacks and breakfast. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to be close to Hollywood attractions and universal studios

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My family of four stayed here for four days in the beginning of July. Service was the best I have experienced anywhere. There was a very welcoming atmosphere and staff was always warm and helpful. The location was great. We were offered free See's chocolates from the hotel manager, kids enjoyed the snacks, we borrowed a movie from their dvd library and they even gave us popcorn to accompany it. The staff did all my laundry and returned it wrapped in brown paper with a sprig of lavender. The room itself is a converted apartment around a central pool. The room was spacious and gave our family plenty of room to spread ourselves out. Breakfast was good if unremarkable. There was a $11/night parking fee but although the garage was small there was always a space available. Definitely would recommend and return if I pass through LA again.

Room Tip: We did not have a balcony in the room but really I don't think there is a bad spot to be had. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepGoingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The accommodation may be dated but it is very clean and the level of service cannot be faulted.

I had a two night stay at this hotel which is ideally located for Hollywood boulevard. The room was more than we needed and very comfortable.

I didn't take advantage of the pool as I was on a short sightseeing trip. The staff were eager to make sure I made the most of my time in Hollywood offering friendly unbiased advice. The reservation included breakfast which was more than adequate.

I will always be in debt to the member of staff who managed to get my husband and I a last minute dinner reservation to the Magic Castle itself. It was one of the best experiences I have ever had.

If you want to be in the heart of Hollywood and want good value for money you won't go wrong at the Magic Castle hotel.







Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichellePJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family of four stayed at the Magic Castle hotel during a recent trip to Los Angeles and San Diego. From the moment we pulled up we were treated like a royal family. The hotel itself is cute but the service and all of the extras make it exceptional. We were greeted with sparkling lemonade on our arrival. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The front desk offers free snacks and movies - 24 hours a day! I don't want to ruin all of the little surprises that make this hotel an experience in itself but if you go, use the phone by the pool to order a special treat! There is also a nice, free breakfast that we all enjoyed. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. The pool and the grounds were kept clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing