We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room at great Hollywood location”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic room at great Hollywood location”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Minutes from walk of fame and Dolby Theatre. Close to red line metro. Complimentary snacks and drinks and breakfast are a bonus too. Swimming pool is lovely and warm.

Rooms very spacious with separate living area and kitchen. Plenty hot water and loads of TV channels including on demand. Staff very friendly too.

All in all a lovely hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,254
    575
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,409
794
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We recently stayed at Magic Castle with a large group of dancers from New Zealand. I have never experienced such wonderful cheerful nothing is a problem staff in all my travels. The breakfast was right on the money with a mixture of fresh fruit, cereal, toast, pastries, juice and tea and coffee. The rooms were a decent size with a small dining area, kitchen and lounge which converted into a pull out bed (which was comfortable enough for and adult and teenager to sleep in). The free snacks were great too, actually after our kids did you have any left!. The staff with bookings for restaurants, order in food, taxis etc. They really know how to make you feel welcome. Definitely recommend to everyone who wants fantastic service right in the middle of Hollywood. I have already recommended your hotel to friends heading your way in September.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolmstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Our overall experience at the magic castle hotel was near perfect. After an exhausting journey the wonderfully exuberant staff welcomed us warmly (with a free drink) the rooms were slightly dated but very clean. Location was spot on. Breakfast was great. Pool is open 24hours. Wifi was fast.

This place has a laid back/less rules equals more fun approach - which is very refreshing. Also what needs to be mentioned is the snacks...the free snacks...the unlimited free snacks...the unlimited and we won't judge approach free snacks - they were amazing!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat_Pow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel will ruin all other hotel stays for you. It was one of, if not THE best hotel we have stayed in, and we've stayed in lots! There is absolutely nothing I can fault about this hotel. We stayed there as a family of 6, including young children and teenagers and Magic Castle met every one of our diverse needs. The kids didn't want to leave.....despite the next stop being Disneyland!! Great location, faultless superior service, amenities galore, timeless rooms, fun pool, Great breakfast, and the kids favourite part - free snacks and drinks!!! We will definitely be back, as will our kids and their families when they grow up :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marknhuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a enjoyable 3 night stay. The staff are so friendly and contributed to the wonderful atmosphere. The pool area was a great way to meet fellow travellers. If you are looking for a happy hotel, this is certainly the one for you. Thank you Magic Castle staff !!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The staff was pleasant and helpful. Access off Franklin is better than most Hollywood hotels as long as you plan ahead to turn right into and out of the property. I parked my car in the garage then had to walk up three flights of stairs to access my room. It looked as though most rooms faced the pool and the noise in that area was constant. The white duvet cover had an ugly stain on it. The floor by the shower had mold damage. The window AC was very noisy and the window shutters did not block out the light from the fixture outside. The end of the bed was so close to the dresser I almost had to shuffle get from one side of the room to the other. Granted, I'm spoiled when it comes to hotel accommodations, but I don't understand how others are able to write such rave reviews of this old place. I did have the smallest unit available which may have a bit to do with my disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The magic castle hotel was an absolute pleasure to stay at. The hotel staff could not do enough for us. This was our first stop on a 3 week holiday in Calafornia and we were blown away by this hotels hospitality. From the complimentary snacks all day to the free laundry and complimentary breakfast as well as offering the kids iced poles by the pool, they aimed to please.
Yes, this hotel is a little dated but neat and clean. The position is very central only a casual stroll to Hollywood blvd. we highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be tipping!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,108 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,826 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,509 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,340 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing