We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY AMAZING STAFF” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“SIMPLY AMAZING STAFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My 3 kids and I recently started our 4 week trip to the US at the Magic Castle Hotel. We had a car and apart from finding it difficult to actually know where to park whilst checking in (signage could be better) once we got over that we had an amazing time at this hotel. The staff were nothing short of exceptional providing us with a travel adaptor and endless snacks and advice about getting around (to/from Universal etc). Thanks Darren for the great "day trip" that you suggested. The lunch at Paradise Cove was fantastic and my kids loved the frozen yoghurt place you recommended. Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Linda,

I loved meeting you and your kids! I was actually wondering if you ended up going to the yoghurt place and Paradise Cove. I'm so glad your kids like the yoghurt place (so do mine). I'll have to recommend that route more often...it's a good day trip.

Thank you so much for staying with us!! Please come back and see us again soon. Between now and then....I'll think of a new day trip for you and the kids.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,200
    558
    120
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,369
770
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Magic Castle Hotel, we had heard so many great things about this place and were not disappointed. We were given a suite with a balcony, overlooking the pool: our room faced east which meant some pretty brutal morning sunshine, but by late afternoon and evening the balcony was just perfect for relaxing on. The staff were all amazing, friendly and professional and possessed a lot of useful local knowledge, regarding restaurants, attractions, and which sections of the LA freeways to avoid at which times! Location great also, an easy walk to Hollywood Blvd and surrounds. We also enjoyed the free snacks from reception along with the complimentary breakfast (toast, muffins, cereals, fruit etc.). They also had a tube of Vegemite placed next to the toaster at breakfast - so good! During our stay, the staff organised a dinner reservation for us at the actual Magic Castle (located uphill, behind the hotel) - this was one of the most fun nights of our life! This place can be difficult to gain access to, but you can visit there if you're a guest of the hotel. I can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmcat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The team at the Magic Castle are possible some of the best hoteliers I've met. Their efforts to make sure that you have a great stay are second to none. I've stayed here two times and both times the staff made every effort to keep us happy. However.. The hotel looks a little tired, to the point of nasty stains on carpets, scuffs on the wall, worn furniture and questionable grime around bathroom windows. Our room was generally clean, but there were obvious signs that hundreds of people had stayed there before, and some had left their mark. At the moment the levels of service from the team, outweigh the tiredness of the hotel... just, but it's a very close run thing. As time goes on, I'm not sure if highlights like lemonade when you check in, ice lollies by the pool and the 'free' snacks are worth living with dirty carpets and well worn furniture.

Room Tip: The small rooms are very very small, not really big enough for 2 people. Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear PaulOB,

Thank your for writing your review of your experience at Magic Castle Hotel. While I'm very happy you returned to us and still love the level of service, I was very sorry to read your comments regarding the room itself. If you wouldn't mind, please contact me directly. I would love to know exactly which room this was. It sounds like you were in one of our seven smaller "Single" rooms by your tips to other readers after your comments. Typically, when there are stains in the carpet that we just can't get out, the carpet is replaced. We're very quick about this. Scuffs on the walls should be taken out and touched up with paint. This is all a part of our daily operation. The area around the bathroom windows should be perfectly clean. I'm sincerely sorry that this wasn't the case during your stay. I look forward to hearing from you directly, if you don't mind. Thank you so much. Please come back soon.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having stayed at some very nice hotels during our 2 week holiday we stayed here for the last 3 nights of our trip.
How do I start to describe this hotel without repeating what has already been said?
Location is excellent for walking and freeway access. The rooms are massive, clean and comfortable. On-site parking is great and very reasonably priced. Free DVD rental (if you have time to watch a film). Breakfast is continental but more than adequate and a good selection. But what really makes this hotel is the staff. They're very welcoming and can't do enough for you.
I was so impressed with the hotel I felt it necessary to mention it at the reception only to be approached by a gentleman in a suit who turned out to be the manager who thanked me for my comments.
On another day I happened to spot him from my balcony talking with people around the pool and checking that everything was okay.
All I can add is that next time I'm in LA this is where we will stay and won't bother looking anywhere else.

Room Tip: Try get a room with a balcony so you can enjoy breakfast looking over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Exceptional service! Our family loved staying here, & wished we'd booked longer. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms are a little tired, but I actually found this a relief with two small children. Less for me to worry about! Free snacks, free laundry service, free breakfast, free movies, all just perfect for families!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beema12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

They welcome you with a sparkly beverage, they give out free snacks, free movies, free parking, free shuttle service. Once were inside, there is a kitchen, robes, chocolate, and water. The beds are pure heaven with down comforters that mold to your body. The main pool area looks like an oasis surrounded by villa rooms with whit shutters. They even give us a morning newspaper and breakfast. The breakfast is nothing special though.

Helpful?
1 Thank boobam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Magic Castle Hotel is truly a home away from home. We stayed here for 4 nights and were blown away. The rooms are clean and massive (ours was a one bedroom apartment) and you are only one block from the walk of fame and everything Hollywood has to offer. The pool area is super cool and reminds me of the TV show Melrose Place. Special mention needs to be made about the service of the staff at the Magic Castle Hotel. The are incredible!! They were friendly and informative and bent over backwards to accommodate our every request from getting us free snacks at all times of the day and night to arranging tickets to a baseball game at the last minute. Special mention must be made of Nick and Mallory at the front desk but really each and every single staff member was brilliant. I think the Magic Castle is fantastic value for money and will be telling all my friends and family to stay there. Thanks for looking after us. It was the perfect start to our holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Ryan,
Thank you so much for the review! I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much....that's great news.
We get the "Melrose Place" comment a lot. Our guests really do seem to love pretending they're staying in their own Hollywood Apartment. I always say we're like Melrose Place...but without all the drama.
We're very lucky to have both Nick and Mallory...thank you for mentioning them.
I hope you'll come back soon.
Sincerely,
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing