We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is second to none.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service is second to none.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at The Magic Castle Hotel in Sept. The staff here are second to none. Every staff member is very friendly, obliging and helpful, even the manager Darren has time for a friendly chat.
The free snacks are a really nice touch which the kids loved. There is always fruit and refreshing iced water in the lobby. The breakfast has a vast erray to choose from too. Lovely Lizette even did our laundry for us, I dont know of many hotels that would do that.
The rooms are a little dated but very clean and comfortable. They are not 5star but the hotel doesnt claim to be either. The location, amenities and staff more than make up for this.
We would definitely recommend this hotel. Thanks Magic Castle for making our first stop on our USA adventure so pleasurable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNNCHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,197
    558
    120
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,367
770
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

It was an amazing hotel the rooms were absolutely Brilliant and Kevin, Darren, Nick D and Nick M were absolutely amazing help! I recommend this hotel to everyone that comes to Los Angeles!!!

Very Good!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 119 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Ok never written a review before but this place is so cool, we did Beverly Hills Hotel, Viceroy in SM, Carmel Valley ranch and Montage all in the same trip with a six year old. Forget the stars this place is up there with them all, the pool isn't so big but nor is any pool in LA. The rooms are great, as good as any 5 star hotel, if you want a fawning [--] to carry your poodle up the stairs you should be in a mental home anyway, if you want really helpful friendly people who actually care, you are set here ! Nick and Kevin and the couple of girls on the desk got us checked in quicker than a vindaloo through an old lady and were really genuine, friendly, fun people. The parking is secure and reasonable and everyone had eaten at Bossa Nova a restaurant we were going to that night, so first hand reviews.
Im not saying all the other hotel here weren't great too because they were but this was as good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 234chris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just got home from another very happy stay at the Magic Castle - this was our third stay and won't be our last. Arriving after a long day of flying and finding we'd been allocated our preferred room made us feel like we were coming home. And the balloons, gift and cake awaiting our daughter who was turning two, was such a lovely and special surprise! Was a little apprehensive when seeing a lot of new staff but the customer service was consistent as always and our stay was flawless. Thank you for providing such a great alternative to traditional chain style hotels ☺ As for the lipstick on a pig review....it seems that for all the positive people out there, there's always someone who can only find fault. Not a fair review at all and for the price I would challenge anyone to find similar accomodation in terms of location and size in Hollywood. This hotel is always spotlessly clean and whilst it is an ageing property everything is very comfortable. We are frequent travellers and often stay five star and the service here is comparable to the best hotels anywhere we've had privilege to stay. It is to be noted that none of the five star hotels we stay in offer free snacks, beverages, movies and wifi...perhaps this is why they don't rate number one!!! Thanks team for another terrific stay. Keep up the good work and the Vickerys look forward to coming 'home' again soon☺

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

From the minute I booked our stay I explained our sons food allergy, the staff emailed me back and asked about our sons special dietary needs. On arrival we had the best introduction to Magic Castle Hotel's customer service or as I like to call it real customer care! Allergy Free products and treats had been left in our room, so he could enjoy the complementary treats everyone else gets throughout their stay. The staff are very helpful, the place is clean and has all you need for self catering giving mum's like me peace of mind. The Pool is available to you day and night and has floats and arm bands for little ones. It is fun for all the family. To top that off they give you complementary Ice Lollies poolside. It really is an excellent Hotel and made even more so by the very lovely and charming staff. You are located right in the heart of Hollywood and it is easy to get about, the Metro is very nearby as are many buses and taxis. Also the town car service you can book via the hotel is really good and very handy for parents not hiring a car during their arrival, stay and departure. I booked this hotel as a result of all the good recommendations and they were all true. Thank you reviewers and thanks again to all at The Magic Castle Hotel

Room Tip: one bedroom is good size for 4 people- 2 adults and 2 children 6 and under
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ubahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We only had one night here on 16 th august 2013 but it was one of the best places we stayed on a 3 week trip
We had a large 1 bedroom suite for 4 on the 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking the pool
The room was bright,spotless and really well equipped and recently refurbished- the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The staff were attentive and exceptionally helpful. Although Hollywood boulevard was a few minutes walk away the hotel seemed like a haven of peace and tranquility in a busy city .
The kids loved the free snacks and the fact that the pool was open late(all night actually if you wanted it)
The young staff group really went the extra mile-we were served a cool drink on arrival and my husband who was waiting in the car even had one delivered to him!
I don't usually write reviews but felt I should make the effort as far as this hotel is concerned.

Room Tip: Email the hotel before booking to discuss what you want and to ask about the best/ most recently upd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 142sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff there was so friendly and accommodating. The location is fantastic just a two minute walk to Hollywood boulevard.
The rooms are adequate bit old but very clean. No complaints would highly recommend. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing