We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice !!!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location between the Hollywood bowl and Sunset boulevard... Close to chinese theater. Nice pool, beautiful yellow color, very big room with kitchen... And most of all very friendly staff (Nick and gretchen especially)... FREE softs and snack on demand 24/7... We really love it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMSparis03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,468 of 3,145 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This accommodation was chosen on basis of excellent reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel is within walking distance to many attractions. Although rooms were a little dated, beds were clean and comfortable, air conditioning was effective and unit was quite spacious, with full kitchen, lounge/dining room with sofa bed and separate bedroom with 2 queen sized beds. As stated in most reviews, service is what set this hotel apart from the rest. Free snacks and refreshments, ice blocks by the pool, DVD hire were all winners for the grandchildren. Nothing was a trouble for Gretchen and staff (advice on tours, shopping, transport, beds turned back in the evening with chocolates left on pillow, newspapers left by the door in the morning) all staff was friendly and helpful and because hotel is relatively small, the service was more personal than other hotels.
Highly recommended and if I return to Hollywood, I would definitely use the hotel again. CRimmington

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 220Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The best part of this hotel is without question, the staff! We had a wonderful stay with fantastic qulaity service at every turn and nothing was ever too much trouble. Being a short walk from Hollywood Boulevard and right next door to the Magic Castle was a treat... The rooms were well set out for families with all the amenities you would need for a great stay in Hollywood.

Room Tip: We stayed on top floor which meant we didn't hear the guests in the swimming pool but I didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in room 107 with two teenagers. The room is near the back and does not have a balcony which was initially disappointing but the temperature was over 90F both days, so we would likely not have used the balcony anyway. The best parts of the stay were a) the friendliest staff anywhere b) large rooms with a kitchen c) convenient location close to Hollywood Blvd, shopping and other tourist areas d) free snacks e) free continental breakfast around the pool in the morning f) the hotel has a "cool" retro feel and g) relatively inexpensive parking compared to other hotels. The front desk organized a two hour LA tour which we all enjoyed and we were even picked up from the hotel. And although the pool is small, we were happy it was there in order to cool off. The negatives were a) the sleeper sofa was not all that comfortable for the teens so if we come back we would definitely get a two bedroom room b) the rooms are a little on the dated side and c) our room was not ready when we arrived just before 3 pm so we had to wait until about 3:30. Positives greatly outway the negatives and we loved our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room near the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdfroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you are travelling with large teens, this is the perfect hotel. The rooms are very clean, spacious and practical with a kitchen.The location is excellent in Hollywood but not cheek by jowl with the hustle. The staff couldn't be nicer. If you don't want to eat out every meal there is a Fresh and Easy very close. Breakfast is good too. Really excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms like 207 are high with a nice little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrinaChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the magic castle hotel as a family of 5 for 5 nights. Great staff, friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for us and our kids. Room was great and spacious, nice to have kitchen included in stay. Kids loved the endless supply of snacks. Daily continental breakfast excellent. Made our stay in LA so easy as was so close to everything. Rooms very clean, pool good fun. Would highly recommend this as great accommodation in LA.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Gavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had been recommended to this hotel and I was super impressed with the warm welcome from the staff on reception, better customer service than any hotel I have ever been to !! nothing was too much trouble they helped with directions provided free snacks and drinks, popsicles by the pool were handed out and they even did a small load of washing for me ! secure parking was under the hotel and we never struggled to find a space (parking charged extra for) The only reason I have not given 5 star rating is the rooms are a little bit tired looking and the air conditioning very old and noisy. My children struggled a bit on the sofa bed as it was not very comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean and there were small chocolates left on my pillow each evening ! a nice touch. A great location for seeing the Hollywood attractions lots can be walked to. We were advised by reception to catch the underground to Universal which was great as no driving and parking to tackle. Altogether a warm friendly family hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,038 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,856 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 355 in Los Angeles
797 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,173 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 355 in Los Angeles
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $229 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing