We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place.......but if you are expecting 5 star luxury it is not for you.”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in June and we loved the fact that it is different from anywhere else. We had stays in 5 star luxury during our US holiday (Fairmont in San Francisco, Signature MGM Grand in Las Vegas) and whilst the facilities might be a bit better, their service and attitudes do not even begin to come close. Some of these bigger and supposedly better hotels could do a lot worse than send their staff here to work for a while to find out what customer service really is.

We had a 2 bedroom suite which was enormous, and with 2 teenage daughters who love anything with a touch of bling about it being very hard judges, were a bit worried that it might not live up to their expectations. We had no reason to worry as they absolutely loved it as well.

I have checked through some of the other reviews and I am always interested in the ones that say "terrible" to see what it is that other people don't like, and in the case of the Magic Castle it just seems to be the fact that because it is so highly ranked on TripAdvisor they EXPECT it to offer everything that a 5 star place does. It's not 5 star and doesn't claim to be but along with the Saguaro in Palm Springs (another quirky place) it was our favourite place in our whole trip.

The staff are fantastic and as everyone else mentions, nothing is too much trouble for them. On the night we checked in after a long drive, we were too tired to go out but fancied a glass of wine. I asked at reception where the nearest liquor store was (the hotel does not have a liquor licence) but was too tired to make the 10 minute walk, but 5 minutes later a knock at our door delivered free of charge a nice bottle of red that had been left behind by another guest apparently....service way beyond the call of duty. Thank you Joslin !!

The facilities in our room could not be faulted -- plenty of room, huge comfortable bed, decent shower, 2 massive flat screen TVs. Even the decor which others have mentioned as being tired looked pretty decent to me, all white-washed walls and wood. Yes, it has a vague sense of having seen better days but it is just so different from most other standardised corporate chain hotels that it makes a refreshing change.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernardShakey2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel. I sincerely appreciate the time you took write it...very descriptive. Your comments were extremely meaningful to us and we were very happy when we read this one. Thank you again. Please come back and see us very soon.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,517 - 1,523 of 3,154 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We (2 adults, 2 children (15 & 12)) stayed here in July. I had read all the reviews on Trip Advisor but was still so surprised when we got there. We had flown from Perth, took about 22 hours and to be welcomed by such lovely people was fantastic. Everything you read about welcome drinks, free snacks, Wi-Fi etc. are true! There was nothing these wonderful people wouldn't do for you. They fully arranged car hire for us and the laundry fairy was my new best friend. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to families or couples, it suits everyone. We had a 1 bedroom apartment. The apartment was a great size for all of us and the kids shared the queensize sofa bed, no problems. 2am snacks, after being hit by jet lag, was great fun. A massive thanks to "The Nicks" and my laundry fairy Lizette. You guys made our stay awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teeuwissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed the hotel so much. Please come see us again soon. I'm going to share this with "The Nicks" and Lizette.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Slightly tired but clean and functional rooms in a great location with truly incredible staff. Nothing is too much trouble or too cheeky. The breakfast was ok. The staff really are doing everything they can and more with the hotel, with a bit of a hotel make over they would be 100% perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I cannot tell you enough how great this place is! I think it used to be an apartment block. Most rooms have balconies looking over the heated pool. If you look at the website they have pics. The staff will do anything for you. It's a small community. It is not a traditional hotel, so no room service or meals, but all snacks are free all day long (chips, soft drinks, chocolate bars etc.) all rooms have kitchens, stoves and large fridges. Being a couple on holidays, we didnt use any of it, but i would imagine it would be great for others. It is a 1 min walk to the Boulevard and the best area of the Boulevard. I so wish we had more time to stay there, as this place had a great feel about it. See you next time we are in LA, Magic Castle.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel on my way through Los Angeles to San Diego with my teenage daughter. What a fantastic way to be greeted with a refreshing sparkling beverage. Marcus at the front desk is the perfect person to ask what tour he recommends as in his second breathe he was calling to secure a reservation for us. Mallory is new to the team but shows exactly why she was selected; her effervescent personality. You feel as though you stepped through the door right into hat old Hollywood must have been like. Thank you for such a fantastic respite....lookong forward to our next stay on our return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HallmarkInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at the Magic Castle in June 2013, made to feel very welcome. Our children made the most of the complimentary snacks, yummy breakfasts and the pool. Rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. Hotel is in close proximity to Hollywood Boulevard. A nice gesture by the manager bringing out a cold soda to a travel weary Mum by the pool was much appreciated. Will definitely return to the Magic Castle next time we are in Hollywood.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I once again just completed a stay at the Magic Castle Hotel and, as in the many times before this, it never disappoints. The attendants were outstanding, the room was super comfortable and I loved the new HD big screen TVs. It is probably the most convenient lodging in the area, right in the middle of Hollywood, within 10 minutes walk from beautiful Runyon Canyon Park, minutes from great restaurants, and a quick ride through Cahuenga Pass into the San Fernando Valley and the deserts and mountains. It is also about a 45 minute ride to the coast in city traffic, which is outstanding. Although budget is not the sole determinant for where I stay, this hotel is surely the best bang for your buck and, because of the convenience, amenities, location and hotel personnel, although I do have a choice, I would stay no other place in L.A. The General Manager, Darren Ross, is the best!

Room Tip: Any room is fine. Rent a small car as the parking spaces in the garage, like all other hotels and ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,067 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#22 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,879 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,180 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
805 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $229 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing