We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably good service”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had read the reviews on Tripadvisor prior to booking. Almost without exception everyone raved about the customer service; now I know why. We spent our first 4 nights of a month long trip to the US here in June and we couldn't have started at a better hotel.
The downside, if there was one, was that the rooms are a little dated but we expected that from the reviews.
They were clean and comfortable and very spacious, something we appreciated even more after we spent the next two weeks in a shoebox in New York. The hotel provided a very nice and fresh continental breakfast together with unlimited complimentary softdrinks, chocolate and snacks; day and night.
But the Customer Service is what sets this Hotel apart from any other we've stayed in around the world; it truly was unbelievable. Imagine, when asked if they had a laundry room, being told 'Yes, if you'd like to leave your laundry with us, we'll do it for you free of charge'
We declined, my wife likes to do her own, but that was typical of the level of service this hotel offers. From travel info, to restaurant recommendations, to bookings and transfers, nothing was too much trouble for this hotel's wonderful staff.
The hotel has a well maintained heated swimming pool and boast a great location being only a five minute stroll from Holiwood Bvd.
Would I go back? You Bet. Would I recommend it?100% Fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,506 - 1,512 of 3,123 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Even a month later, I’m still thinking about the wonderful stay my husband and I had at the Magic Castle Hotel. From the warm and welcoming staff (we were met with delicious drinks upon arrival) to the gigantic one bedroom suite to the all-you-can eat complimentary refreshments to the more than filling breakfast – everything was fantastic! Unfortunately, we didn’t have time to make use of the free DVD service or the gorgeous pool, but we definitely will on our next visit. When the staff found out we were there for a taping of “The Soul Man”, they even surprised us with an adorable welcome card and gave us a bag of gourmet popcorn. How thoughtful and amazingly wonderful!

Seriously though, we simply can’t figure out what took us so long to find this truly magnificent place. We’ve stayed at so many hotels in the Los Angeles Area – from the Beverly Hills Hotel to Loews Hollywood to the Hilton at Universal – and none of them compare in service and amenities. Staying here was a vacation in itself. While as a guest, you will find yourself within walking distance to all the attractions near Highland and Hollywood, but you will probably be like us and not want to leave the comfort of the Magic Castle Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wow - The Magic Castle Hotel in Hollywood is great. The people working there could give seminars on customer service. As an example, we asked one evening about the menu of a restaurant nearby. In addition to giving guidance about what to order, they handed us a menu. We decided it wasn't right for our children, so we set the menu back on the counter and headed outside, figuring we would find another place nearby. When we got outside the door, the kind woman at from the front desk chased us down and gave us several other options. When we indicated that we would like one, she went back inside an gave us a coupon for $5 off our meal. From housekeeping to front desk personnel, all went out of their way to keep customers happy. The front desk provides free snacks around the clock, and frequently made rounds to the kids at the pool with popsicles.

Our room at the Magic Castle Hotel was more like an apartment. It was huge. We had a bedroom with two beds, bathroom, full kitchen with dishes, etc., dining room, and living room with foldout sofa bed. It was awesome and very comfortable. The shower even had 2 shower heads, and spa-like products. The room had some minor details that made it seem dated, but the overall feel and furnishings more than made up for that. And, significantly, everything was very clean. It was also quiet. You could hear an occasional siren from an emergency vehicle, but no noise from other guests, etc. Also, when we made our reservation, I requested a crib. Upon arrival, the crib was set up in the room, along with a box containing baby shampoo, powder, etc., a kid size robe, and a rubber duck. Very nice touch.

The hotel has a terrific location just about one block from Hollywood Boulevard. Even with young children we were comfortable walking to/from the sites. There were many restaurants nearby; short drive to the Hollywood Bowl; short walk and drive to view the Hollywood sign; etc.

The pool was a little small and deep for our kids. The hotel made up for that, however, by providing floaties, wings, and pool toys. They also offered goggles. Also, although we didn't have time to view/do them, the hotel had DVD's to borrow, and activities for the kids. The television also came with more than a sufficient number/selection of channels.

The complimentary breakfast was really nice. Sometimes we had a tough time finding a table, but made due on chairs by the pool. They offered coffee and juice, about 8-9 cereals, yogurt, fruit, baked goods, etc. We were all more than satisfied starting our day here.

Our family was thrilled to have stayed at this hotel. If ever traveling in the area again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights(June 26-30) during our two week visit to the US. I usually don't stay at the smaller hotels like this, but after these four days I have changed my opinion. You feel welcome from check in to check out. They serve a small but tasty complimentary breakfast and they offer you a free mini bar. Just say what you want from a list and you get it. My son just loved this!

We stayed in room 114 which is one of the small rooms with one bed and bathroom. It was more than enough for us. We mostly use the room for sleeping. The whole hotel was clean and the swimming pool in the middle was so nice to relax after a long day sightseeing.

The locked car park under the hotel was great too. They charge you a small fee, and you can come and go as you want. Just use our room key.

The only small glitch was that they did not automatically give you new shampoo when the old one was empty.

All the staff was great and serviceminded. I am sorry for not remembering your names(not my strong side), but you are all great assetts to this hotel.

Would definately stay here if we were to returnere to LA in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lars H A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I love the people working in Magic Castle. The interior arrangement with the rooms looking at the pool feels like home away from home! The best park is u are allowed to request for snacks and drinks from front desk anytime of the day. Rooms are clean and spacious for 1 bedroom suite.

Only have problem with small carpark and bed comfortness.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank snowei1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough. The staff was fantastic--helpful in every way and took great pride in doing their job well and caring for the customers. The rooms are comfortable and stylish and huge. We stayed in a two bedroom suite and had more than enough room-full kitchen dining room and living room. Three flat screen TV's. The continental breakfast and the snack bar was a definite hit with our family We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom suite (more like an apartment) and were surprised that for a very reasonable ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LonghornTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are a family of 6 and to be honest we booked this more as a random place... we were blown away the room was amazing, service second to none and they even had free snacks for the family (which I have to say we did not use but still impressed). We got a refurbished room that was really good, and a lot larger than we expected, and for a family of 6 it still had lots of room.
Thanks for the great service and great rooms ! next time we will Stay Longer. Hopefully 2015

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnlyStraightTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,996 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,180 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 354 in Los Angeles
3,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,159 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $229 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing