We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Woodridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Well deserving of its #1 ranking on TA, the Magic Castle Hotel is calm oasis in the craziness of Hollywood. We were greeted by friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable staff. While they were explaining the amenities (yay free snacks and drinks!) and local attractions, they provided a lovely welcome gift of sparkling lemonade. After noting our room was up several flights of stairs, they arranged for someone to deliver our luggage.

We visited the farmer's market recommended by staff (awesome views and food). A courtesy car drop us off and pick us up (much appreciated, as the market was at the top of a long, winding road).

The room itself was neat and clean, the breakfast was varied and delicious (including several flavored syrups to add to your coffee), and the location can't be beat -- it's less than a 5 minute walk to Grauman's Chinese Theatre and the tourist craziness. The price was great for the area (AAA discounts available).

Stay here. It's an awesome experience in a unique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jassy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,061
    520
    115
    50
    23
See reviews for
1,259
729
61
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Yes when you first arrive you might wonder what you have done. The property is somewhat dates a converted apartment building I'm sure in its earlier life. But, it doesn't matter the rooms were clean and well kept, the staff was honestly the greatest. We have never stayed at a 5 Star hotel where the people actually were this attentive. Great location in Hollywood, nice pool, good access to restaurants really a huge surprise from our pull up at the front door. We would stay again and wish we could always have people this friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staying in Hollywood can be difficult so we headed straight to tripadvisor for our direction. The other reviews put this at such a high rating that we immediately called and booked directly. We are so glad we did it is a wonderful property. Upon entering the reception you are warmly greeted and give refreshments. The check-in is quick, smooth and most professional. Then proceeding to the courtyard is like stepping into the movie set from LA Confidential it exemplifies an era of old Hollywood. The room was wonderful, full kitchen, living area, bedroom and bath.
We would definitely return to this magic place.

Room Tip: You are allowed to dine at the Magic Castle next door, however dress is formal and we were not prepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parisbynite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived at The Magic Castle after a very long flight and were ready to lay down and go to sleep. The actual castle attached to the hotel, which is only one block back from Hollywood Bld, is magnificent and looked beautiful coming down the road all lit up. The hotel next door is a lot less majestic but nevertheless is a great place to stay. On entering our room we were flabbergasted to find an apartment. We were there for 3 nights and it was great. The hotel provides everything you need and the snacks and treats list is amazing. They are so friendly and will supply you with whatever you need within reason, at any time. You can take a breakfast tray of goodies back to your room and have breakfast at your leisure or sit by the pool area and enjoy. This may not be the newest, most upmarket place to stay but I would highly recommend it to anyone who's going to LA. A bit of a treasure amongst all the glitz!!

Room Tip: Oops pressed the fitness centre and room service by mistake and can't get rid of them. They don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from our honeymoon in the states and our last stop was at Magic Castle Hotel in Hollywood.
Our travel agent had advised us that it wasn't the flashiest hotel but that it was very convenient & close to everything. We ended up looking online and found the rates cheaper than our travel agent was able to also.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a champagne flute of lemonade & a selection of icy poles.
Nick at reception was extremely helpful with advising on local spots to visit, eat at, great places for star-spotting and also the hotel amenities.
Not only does the hotel offer free Wi-Fi, but there is also free unlimited access to the candy bar (heaps of snacks & sodas to choose from), free laundry and free DVDs to watch in your room.
The room was huge and a lot more than we expected.
We were greeted in our room with a complimentary cake for our honeymoon along with a card signed by the staff.
The room included a full sized kitchen with microwave, stove, oven, fridge with combined dining and a 6 seater dining table. The lounge room was spacious with a large sofa bed and two additional seats along with a large wall mounted flat screen TV. The main bedroom was bigger than my bedroom at home with a very comfy bed, two mirrored double built-in robes and another large wall mounted TV. The hotel also has a heated pool.
We were very close to all we needed, walking distance to Hollywood boulevard and Sunset boulevard, it only took us about 5 minutes to get to the Chinese Theatre.
When we left we were allowed an additional hour to check out free of charge and were able to leave our luggage with the concierge for our transfer back to the airport later that night.
We were also greeted by the hotel manager upon leaving just to make sure we were happy with our stay at Magic Castle.
The only downside (and this is very small in my opinion as we stayed at many other hotels with a higher star rating that were much louder than the Magic Castle) was that we could occasionally hear people walking who were in the hotel room above us.
The hotel seemed very family friendly also.
Having come from the lush Cosmopolitan in Vegas to the Magic Castle we were expecting to be a little underwhelmed but this definitely wasn't the case.
I highly recommend Magic Castle Hotel to anyone looking to stay in Hollywood. It was a great experience and a perfect way to end our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I chose this hotel simply because it was rated number 1 from all hotels available in los angeles and it proved me right because the people were lovely, the rooms were lovely and it was situated in a lovely area right beside the hollywood boulevard! I really couldn't complain as they even gave us free snacks and there was also a pool with a beautiful view, which although we didnt't go in looked very nice. Breakfast was also delicious and overall the hotel was just great! It is great for staying for a weekend or so with family because the rooms are massive with a kitchen and everything included.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I knew we were off to a great start when we received a warm welcome that included a cool beverage. We truly felt welcome. And, they do offer that anything we need or want to just ask. To get to our room, we walked through a courtyard with a pool at the center. There were a few flights of short stairs to get to our 3rd floor room. It was worth it! Our room had a living room, kitchen, vanity area and the bedroom. Tons of space, including a patio area if we had the time to enjoy the view. Comfortable bed and immaculately clean (just how I lie it). I really enjoyed the uniqueness of the decorations and style of the room. You could tell this is not a cookie-cutter chain approach. This carried over to the breakfast in the AM which featured first rate pastries. We were only there for one night. I would have liked to stay longer to enjoy the location and all the tourist attractions so close by. The location is a huge plus. I'd recommend driving or walking up to the top of the hill and getting a meal or even a beverage at the restaurant up there - just to enjoy the view or LA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaorskisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,856 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
#6 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing