We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough stars available to rate this hotel!!!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
New Albany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not enough stars available to rate this hotel!!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My family and I have literally stayed in hotels all over the world. This is not the most expensive hotel we've stayed in, but most definitely our favorite.
From the time we checked in we were pampered and catered to. The staff said they wanted us to feel at home, but we were much more comfortable! There were slippers and robes waiting and of course mints on our pillows.
The room was large and beautiful. It puts you in mind of old Hollywood grandeur. The pool was immaculate, not a leaf or bug in it. The room was spotless.
We were sorry we checked in late on our first night. We felt we had cost ourselves almost a whole day at the hotel. We immediately changed our plans and canceled our site seeing for day 2 and spent it lounging by the pool and enjoying the amenities.
The location couldn't be better. It is a very short walk to the excitement of Hollywood Blvd, but far enough away your aren't bothered by it.
I honestly can't say enough good things about this hotel and it's staff. We enjoyed every second of our stay and want to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,234
    566
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,397
781
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a gem! The staff here are lovely. Nothing is too much trouble. The apartment was a good size, and very clean. A continental breakfast is provided each morning and they even had vegemite. A perk of staying here is that you can get into the Magic Castle club. They have a snack menu and you can get whatever you want off it whenever you want - free. The location is great for seeing Hollywood, and not far from Universal Studios. The only reason I didn't give it excellent was that the fridge was very noisy as was the outdated air con in the lounge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethDid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We took a chance on an early check in and indeed were rewarded! We stayed four to a two bedroom suite. One couple and two friends. The room was PERFECT. I'm not a "fancy four star hotel" person so this place appealed to me immediately upon reading other reviews. For the price between four people this place could not be beat. The whole suite was spacious enough for us to spread out and not feel crapped like you would in a regular hotel room with two double beds. The staff was AMAZING - incredibly helpful and positive. Laid back but super professional at all times. They were not cold, stuffy or rude EVER! Not even to us hicks from MN! We sought out dinner recommendations from staff members and were not disappointed. The room was clean, fresh, comfortable. The shower pressure....EXCELLENT. The pool was quiet. We stayed in the back area of the hotel so we didn't hear any traffic. The location of the hotel was just perfect for walking to Hollywood Blvd for the people watching. We had dinner one night at the Cat and Fiddle on Sunset - walked there and it was no problem. We never took the metro - we had a rental car. They have underground parking (extra for parking). If I was heading back to LA again and needed a base near Hollywood I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Magic Castle! It is a lovely hotel and the staff are just amazing - so helpful! All the staff during our stay were great, but particularly Nick - he gave us great lists of what to do. It was so nice to have such a welcoming hotel as the first stop on our trip. I was traveling with my husband and my parents also joined us on this leg of the trip so we had a 2 bedroom apartment style suite. The room was great - plenty of room, two spacious bedrooms, lounge room and a complete kitchen. Another thing we loved was the separate shower because one of my pet hates is showers over a bath which is all you get in hotels these days! The breakfast at this hotel was fantastic as well as the free snacks. If we ever returned to LA we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KateBitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room, although obviously quite old was well kept up, neat and clean.

The obvious reason to stay here is to enjoy the Magic Castle next door, but we would return to use as a base for Hollywood Blvd and Sunset Strip wanderings, also. Since the Castle requires formal attire they supply a nice shuttle even though it's literally about 200 yards to the entrance of the Castle which made the ladies of our group extremely happy (doggone those high heals anyway!). One of our group had an ant problem from leaving out a snack, and the staff was there to fix it within 5 minutes with a smile (and with odor free ant killer!). While I had read elsewhere in these reviews about their 'free snacks' I was totally shocked at the good quality of items they had on the list they gave you upon their friendly check-in (although I never had the opportunity to actually take advantage of it).

All in all, an enjoyable stay. Only downgrade is it seems a little pricey for the rooms, especially the 'normal' rooms (the 1 bedroom King Suite we had was awesome and priced fairly IMHO).

Room Tip: If you can get the large 1 bedroom King Suite in room 211 or the mirrored one next door to it, the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and it was an amazing stay that I would recommend to anyone visiting LA.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The free snacks from reception as well as a number of movies you could borrow added a nice touch. They even ordered us food when we returned from a night out slightly worse for wear.

The suite was huge with 2 wide screen wall mounted TVs, couch, dining table and kitchen. It was like being in a homely apartment, especially with the cake, card and bottle of wine as a token towards our 2 year annivers.

We booked via Booking.com and believe to have got a better deal than booking direct. This may have been a 1 off.

We stayed poolside rather than street side and had no trouble with noise.

The only "negative" is the location. The hotel is that nice you can't be bothered going outside to explore.

Room Tip: We booked via Booking.com and believe to have got a better deal than booking direct. This may have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of your experience.
Also...thank you for spending your anniversary with us. Please come back and see us.....every anniversary.
Just one clarification for TripAdvisor Readers, Booking.com should not have been lower than our own website.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Magic Castle for one night on June 2nd. We, consisting of two moms and our daughters (17, 14, 9). We stayed in a two room suite which was nicely appointed. The room is not one of the newly renovated rooms and was fine. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. It is the layout of the hotel and staff which makes this place awesome. Check in was easy and fun. Kids were given a list of free snacks to chose from. They loved this! We felt our daughters were circling too many choices and were quickly reassured by the staff that they could choose multiple items. The guy checking me in remembered talking to me on the phone when I made my reservation, he was great! I wish I could remember his name but he was very helpful and friendly. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating. The manager of the hotel literally helped us take all our luggage out to our vehicle and load it up for us. That was a nice surprise. We loved the layout of the hotel. It reminded us of a mixture of Old Hollywood/Melrose Place. The heated pool is in the middle of the complex with the rooms surrounding all sides of the pool. Our balcony facing the pool was perfect for our morning coffee and complementary breakfast. Even our daughters said this was their favorite hotel of the whole trip. I like trying new places each time I travel, but will definitely return to Magic Castle on our next trip to Hollywood! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I remember you (and those suitcases). I'm so glad you had such a great experience here.
A lot of people mention that we're like Melrose Place. I so enjoyed talking with all of you that morning as you were leaving. Please come see us again very soon. We have the best guests!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing