We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and it was an amazing stay that I would recommend to anyone visiting LA.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The free snacks from reception as well as a number of movies you could borrow added a nice touch. They even ordered us food when we returned from a night out slightly worse for wear.

The suite was huge with 2 wide screen wall mounted TVs, couch, dining table and kitchen. It was like being in a homely apartment, especially with the cake, card and bottle of wine as a token towards our 2 year annivers.

We booked via Booking.com and believe to have got a better deal than booking direct. This may have been a 1 off.

We stayed poolside rather than street side and had no trouble with noise.

The only "negative" is the location. The hotel is that nice you can't be bothered going outside to explore.

Room Tip: We booked via Booking.com and believe to have got a better deal than booking direct. This may have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of your experience.
Also...thank you for spending your anniversary with us. Please come back and see us.....every anniversary.
Just one clarification for TripAdvisor Readers, Booking.com should not have been lower than our own website.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,577 - 1,583 of 3,168 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Magic Castle for one night on June 2nd. We, consisting of two moms and our daughters (17, 14, 9). We stayed in a two room suite which was nicely appointed. The room is not one of the newly renovated rooms and was fine. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. It is the layout of the hotel and staff which makes this place awesome. Check in was easy and fun. Kids were given a list of free snacks to chose from. They loved this! We felt our daughters were circling too many choices and were quickly reassured by the staff that they could choose multiple items. The guy checking me in remembered talking to me on the phone when I made my reservation, he was great! I wish I could remember his name but he was very helpful and friendly. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating. The manager of the hotel literally helped us take all our luggage out to our vehicle and load it up for us. That was a nice surprise. We loved the layout of the hotel. It reminded us of a mixture of Old Hollywood/Melrose Place. The heated pool is in the middle of the complex with the rooms surrounding all sides of the pool. Our balcony facing the pool was perfect for our morning coffee and complementary breakfast. Even our daughters said this was their favorite hotel of the whole trip. I like trying new places each time I travel, but will definitely return to Magic Castle on our next trip to Hollywood! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

I remember you (and those suitcases). I'm so glad you had such a great experience here.
A lot of people mention that we're like Melrose Place. I so enjoyed talking with all of you that morning as you were leaving. Please come see us again very soon. We have the best guests!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Could not fault the service we received at this hotel in our recent stay. Yes the rooms are a little dated but everything was clean and it meant was had so much more room than a pokey hotel room. For us it just added to the charm! The front desk staff were so helpful with suggestions for what to do, where to go and eat - all the advice was spot-on and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend to anyone staying in the Hollywood area!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

What a way to end our 3 and a half week holiday in the USA! We stayed 6 nights here and could not have stayed in a better hotel. Location was great...just a short walk to Hollywood Blvd and the metro. Agree with another review to head out early mornings to chek out the walk of fame as the afternoon/night gets very busy! Breakfast was great and they even had vegemite for all of us Aussies!! The 24hr snack menu was great, we were offered a drink every time we walked back into the hotel after our big days out! The staff couldn't have been more helpful, always smiling and asking if they can do anything for us! Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making us so welcome! Will definitely recommend a stay here!!!

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom apartment with a kitchen and balcony overlooking the pool which was perfect for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This gem of a property is just a stones throw from all of the action of Hollywood, the Kodak Theatre and the Walk of Stars. Above it is the amazing restaurant, Yamashiro- a must do! The hotel is intimate and the staff are friendly. By staying in the hotel you are entitled entry to the famous adjoining restaurant which is closed to the general public and serves only entitled magicians and stars alike. So if you're looking for something not in the L.A. downtown core, a little more intimate and quite romantic, stay here! You won't be disappointed. The pool is fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a great hotel...The physical structure is a little dated, but the location and the staff cannot be beat. If you are coming to Hollywood this is the place to stay. The most helpful and friendly staff I believe I have ever encountered. Nothing was too much to ask, they helped straighten out our tour reservations (which was also wonderful), gave us gret tips on restaurants, and on and on. The location is right off Hollywood Boulevard and within walking distance to anything you want to see, Chinese Theater, Dolby Theater, Musso and Frank all within an easy walk. The place is terrific.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend & I stayed in this lodge (cant name it Hotel) for 2 nights. We are globetrotters and usually when tripadviser says that 3 star hotel taking #1 position it means that the Hotel is very very good or at least not below average in some aspects.What a surprise to discover a shabby unpleasantly looking "room"... I can distinguish "specially disgned" to look old premises and... "naturally" dilapidated housing... Unfortunately, it wasnt the second case...
Besides, be careful and not close the doors - we were unable to reopen it and forced to call for the assistance.
Even the good staff didnt improve our impressions ((
Positive sides:
- price;
- location;
- staff.
Negative ones:
- obsolete deteriorated interior;
- poor choice for b/f;
- noisy bedroom;
- weak water head;
- noisy fridge;
- no tea bags;
- not working remote in bedroom;
- awfully noisy old-fashioned a/c if I may call that way;
- heavy luggage we had to lift ourselves;
- no elevators.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for writing about your opinion of our hotel. It’s very unfortunate that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us.

I appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff, price, and location. These are three very important elements of any hotel and I’m glad you were satisfied with them.

I went through each of your other comments and I apologize for all of these issues you had and all will be addressed.

I’m so sorry that you found your refrigerator to be too noisy, water pressure too weak and the furniture in the bedroom not to your taste.

We’ve made a transition to free On-Demand movies/shows on HBO, Showtime, Starz, and network TV. In this transition, we have had a few issues with some of the remote controls not working which we are actively addressing with the media provider, but they do usually work great.

Your room should have had tea bags in a basket, along with coffee. We would have been happy to bring some up to you, and I’m sorry for the oversight. We also have a tea box with an impressive variety of types of tea available at breakfast, or at any time a guest would like a cup of tea. Also, for anyone considering staying with us….please let us know if there is a specific type of tea you like and we’ll do our absolute best to have it for you in your room or at the breakfast waiting for you each morning, at no additional charge.

We have staff here 24 hours a day to assist with luggage being delivered to and from the rooms. We do not have an elevator. I also noticed that on your reservation you specifically requested a room on the “highest floor possible”. We did have other rooms available during your stay, and would have been very happy to change your room assignment to a ground floor room.

While we’re constantly improving our guest rooms and the building…it’s true, we’re an older building. It’s important to me, that anyone considering staying with us know that ahead of time. At one time, it was a very typical Hollywood apartment building, often compared by guests to “Melrose Place”. One of the advantages to this is that all but seven of our rooms are enormous One & Two Bedroom Suites with full kitchens, dining area, living room, and private bedroom. Staying at an independent hotel in Hollywood in which people used to live, often adds to our guests' Hollywood experience.

Again, I was sorry to read about your experience. We will address each issue you mentioned.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,101 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#5 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,286 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#22 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,188 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
824 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 355 in Los Angeles
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $224 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing