We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly Hollywood Hotel”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly Hollywood Hotel”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013 in a 2 bedroom suite. Although it was winter in LA people still swam in the pool as it is heated. On site parking was a bonus as we had a hire car. The staff were fantastic, printing off driving directions for us. As guests we were able to go to the brunch at the Magic Castle with our 18 year old son, which was expensive but a lot of fun and we enjoyed the shows and food. As we did the brunch after flying in from Australia that morning, the hotel allowed us to use a room to shower and change until our suite was available at normal check in time. The hotel was great value for a family of four, with continental breakfast and snacks included. The food is set up in the foyer so you can help yourself and either eat in the courtyard or take back to your room. This is great if you want to be quick. The location is ideal for walking along Hollywood Boulevard and is minutes from the Chinese Theatre and subway entrance. Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite is great for a family with older children as there is a double sofa bed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,282
    576
    123
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,430
799
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Same experience as everyone else. Stayed in a two bedroom suite for two nights. Very spacious. Great location. Friendly staff. Great snacks & breakfast. Clean rooms. Cheap parking. Walking distance to the famous bits of Hollywood & to bus sightseeing tour stops. Absolutely no complaints from us & will stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wearyn0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great location for visiting Hollywood attractions. Staff really helpful. Room was actually an apartment and was huge with cooking facilities and big flat screen TV in bedroom and lounge. Only criticism: Sweets, snacks and fizzy drinks are provided free but you have to pay for water. Weird!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed at the Magic castle for 2 nights in December 2012, but wish it was longer. We chose a 2 bedroom suite which was upstairs overlooking the pool. It was very spacious, quiet, well-furnished and well-appointed. THere were three large flat screen TVS all with complimentary cable and movies. The kitchen and bathroom were perfectly clean. THe beds and bedding were comfortable and immaculate.

THe hotel is walking distance to the "Walk of fame" and a ten minute cab ride to Universal studios.

We had stayed for one night before in 2010 and what my 6 year old son remembered was all the snack food you can get for free. We certainly made great use of and appreciate the generosity. THe pastries and cereal available to take back to your room at breakfast time also make life easier for busy families. THe staff and management, however, remain this hotel's greatest asset. Everyone we came into contact with were professional, friendly and very helpful. As we were leaving, the Manager, Darren was out front and took the time to have a conversation and thank us for staying. We would not hesitate to stay at the Magic CAstle again and would recommend the 2 bedroom suite as a good base for a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charltonshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Magic Castle with our three girls for three nights. We could not have been happier. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who really went above and beyond to cater to our needs. Special mention here must go to Joslin and Nick who helped us out in many ways.

Because our East Coast flight was put back a day, we had to arrange an extra night and the staff were very accommodating and made it happen easily for us.

In terms of location, this hotel was perfect for our needs. Only one block from the hustle and bustle when we wanted that, but that block made all the difference in terms of noise and chaos.

The free breakfast was perfect for families and much superior to what we were offered in Anaheim the previous few days. And as for the free snacks - what a treat that was (for us as well as the kids)!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindy_Craddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Magic Castle Hotel

Having been to LA before we only had two nights at the Magic Castle Hotel. Last time we stayed at the Hollywood Celebrity Hotel. Magic castle is an extra few hundred metres down the road, however I preferred the room and amenities of the Magic Castle Hotel.

Our room was large however fairly basic. Everything functioned and it had a few modern features such as Ipod player and LCD TV.

The reception staff were very friendly and the goodies they had for free was fantastic. They have DVD's to watch, with soda, chocolate and popcorn all for free. So cool!

As it was our honeymoon they had placed a basket with a number of soaps, chocolates and a bottle of wine in our room with a card from staff. It was a nice touch.

The location is very nice, it's on the main road but the rooms are set back and quiet. It is only a short 5 minute walk to the walk of fame, Chinese theatre and Hollywood bowl etc.

For anyone wanting an affordable fun friendly hotel, this is a great place to stay and walking distance to most of the Hollywood action.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle_and_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were a family of 6 arriving after a long haul flight from New Zealand, arriving late morning at the hotel. Our 2 bedroom room was not ready,so they happily stored our bags and offered us drinks and snacks before we set off to have a look around before coming back to check in. Our room was clean and roomy and the staff very helpful with all our questions.We all enjoyed all the free drinks and snacks. Although we were only there a night on transit to Mexico,we very much enjoyed our stay and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,150 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,672 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,032 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 350 in Los Angeles
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing