We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Exceptional and outstanding Service!!!! Home away from Home :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional and outstanding Service!!!! Home away from Home :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Location,location, location. Short walk to all attractions. Room was clean, tidy and spacious. The staff very welcoming, accommodating and friendly, they're overall service was exceptional. Family loved the free snacks and the yummy continental breakfast to start off our day of sightseeing. We also got to go to The Magic Castle Club next door, which we all loved and enjoyed.
We would definitely recommend staying here, very family friendly place and relaxing, just like a home away from home. Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so enjoyable :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgjulem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,142
    538
    117
    50
    23
See reviews for
1,317
755
64
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I don't know who trained these employees , but they were all nice and helpful. I was very impressed with the service and value of the hotel! You will feel very welcome here! And kids are very welcome too. The location is great if you want to do anything in or near West Hollywood. Please take advantage of the pass to get into the Magic Castle. You will love it! I can't say enough about the helpful staff- they will help you with anything you need! You can just be yourself here and enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The room was more apartment like than hotel like, with plenty of space, a decent kitchen area and lounge + a lovely main bedroom. Staff were wonderful, both friendly and helpful, probably the best group of front desk staff I have encountered - special mentions to Nick and Gabriela.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbeer560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Good points:
The rooms were more apartment like than hotel like. Rooms were spacious and clean.
Very family friendly - plenty of room for cots and for kids to run around.
Staff were exceptionally helpful, personable and friendly...best lot of front desk staffs I have ever came across.
Very short walk to Hollywood Blvd, where it is all happening 1 block away.
FREE buffet breakfast, all you can eat and drink.
My all time favourite FREE mini bar!!! Loved it!!!!
Only bad point was that air-con was abit noisy.
Overall, it was an excellent stay. The true test is that I would recommend it and would stay there again. Best value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street Franklin St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxzoomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived and straight away thought thismwas going to be great. The staff are flawless. The only critisim i have was our room was one of the 7 smaller rooms and once we seen the other rooms people were staying in we were a bit disapointed. Other rooms are large and have balconys, kitchens etc.

Only other thing is the noise level at night. There are no restrictions on the pool use so at 230am we had people yahooing and carrying on ( being an enclosed hotel you hear everything thats going on ). I would have like there to be maybe a 12am curfew on the pool maybe?

If i come to la again i would stay here for sure. Very clean, very good service, very homely.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a large room with kitchenette and balcony or you will be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

You will be blown away by the service level of this little gem. It doesn't look like a lot from the outside but once you enter, it has a charming "Melrose Place" courtyard. Excellent sized rooms for the price. The shower was a lilttle under powered and we had a queen bed mattress on a double base which was a little difficult. The location is a 5min walk up to the touristy bits which is very handy. I would not hesitate returning here anytime I holiday in LA again. Great work ladies and gentlemen!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_lee_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hospitality. We really enjoyed our two nights at this little hotel. I loved the charm of what appeard to be a former apartment complex, right out of Karate Kid. After a long day at a local theme park, we were so glad to arrive to a nice welcome at this hotel. What my children enjoyed most was the list of COMPLIMENTARY snacks that we received upon arrival. Anything from snickers, to popcorn, and soft drinks were offered. What a surprise. I've never been in a hotel that offered this. They loved it!! The snacks were just what we needed to entertain the kids, and hold them over, while we all got cleaned up for dinner. Location was great. Just a couple of blocks away from the walk of fame. Close enough to walk safely and far enough to be away from the tour buses and the mayhem. You could see the Hollywood sign from the corner. Nice shopping center with plenty of restaraunts within walkin distance. The front desk staff was very helpful with directions. The Magic Castle Club is right next door. The hotel gets it's theme from there. The Club is an adults only attraction.
The rooms were spacious. We stayed in both a one and a two bedroom suite. Like I said, they were apparently refurbished apartments, with kitchens. Both of the rooms looked like they had been recently rennovated and modern. The small courtyard pool was nice and quite. This is where the breakfast was served. If you have children request one of the rooms that overlooks the pool, if you'd like to keep an eye on them in the pool. It seemed safe since the courtyard was totally enclosed from the outside.
On our next trip to Hollywood, I would definitely feel comfortable staying here again.
Oh, offstreet parking was a definite bonus.

Room Tip: Definitely request a courtyard room to enjoy the view of the pool from your room or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVCAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing