We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourit hotel of our holiday”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Favourit hotel of our holiday”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We've just completed an epic tour from one side of the US to the other and the Magic Castle tops our list of hotels. The service is fantastic. There was a mix up with our check in and the manager was so mortified we were offered a free night's stay instantaneously! We had guests come and visit and they were given free parking and we all got a ride up the hill to the amazing japanese restaurant, and back again when we were finished. The staff here are no identikit people who've been on a customer service course. They are their own people and seem geuninely happy to have us around. The rooms are very spacious - we had a suite. This isn't a place to stay if you want 5-star facilities but it doesn't set out to be. Absolutely lives up to its promise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,268
    575
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,419
796
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights in May 2012 and it soon became apparent that this was the best hotel we had ever stayed in.
The location could not be better only a short walk to all the sights in Hollywood. As soon as we entered the hotel we were greeted with a smiling face and refreshments, our suit was massive and had 2 LCD TV's and a really large lounge/second bedroom that opened out onto a large balcony overlooking the pool.
The thing that stood the Magic Castle out from the other six hotels we stayed in on this trip was the extras and personal service they showed us on this trip. When you were by the pool one of the staff would come out and give you ice lollies or a frozen infused towels. They had a list of snacks and sodas in reception which they would get for you for free as well as DVDs if you were staying in, they would even offer you microwave popcorn to accompany you're movie.
Every member of staff was friendly and said hello when they saw you, they could not do any more to make you're stay welcoming.
Even when we checked out the reception staff gave us a bag of snacks and sodas for our onward journey, I can't wait to go back again and would recommend this hotel 100%. As I said at the start this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in, Oh and for the location the cheapest.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The staff is awesome. The location, a block from the heart of Hollywood blvd, is awesome. Staying here provides the ability to get into Magic Castle, which we did and thoroughly enjoyed. Also, I forgot my coat, which Magic Castle requires, which I realized ~15 minutes before we wanted to arrive. Magic Castle Hotel staff to the rescue! They have some loaners! Parking is underground, so secure, but don't bring your lifted suburban.

The walls are a little thin, so sounds from other rooms carry. There were some minor issues with the room, like difficulty tweaking A/C to get cold air and small scuffs on walls, but these are so minor they don't detract from the otherwise excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knight2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for a week and would stay here over and over again! Great location, quick walk into the main street of Hollywood. We stayed in a 1 bedroom, lots of space and everything was perfectly clean. The staff here are amazing and make you feel extremely welcomed! Don't hesitate booking a room here, you will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for a week. Normally choose 5 star hotels, but this was spacious, staff bent over backwards to help (when I asked for directions to the laundry room they offered to do the washing).

Room was clean and the space was welcomed. Bedroom, living room, bathroom and kitchen.

We landed from a 15 hour flight at 7am in la (when booking we advised them of this). On arrival we were given a complimentary drink and our room was ready about 15minutes after our arrival.

Location is great for Hollywood sightseeing, 1 block from Hollywood bld where most tours leave from.

Free snacks available are a bonus and the included continental breakfast was a great way to start each day.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room near the front which looked over the road and it was quiet. A couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We returned to LA this August for a Neil Diamond concert at The Greek Theater and we spent 4 nights at the Magic Castle Hotel. Right from the outset all of the staff made us feel most welcome and this continued for the entire stay. From the excellent complimentary breakfast around the pool to the complimentary late night snacks this place is excellent. Add to that the fact that all of the staff really seem to want you to stay there and care about what they do and it makes this the only place in LA that we will stay in the future. The location is great being just 5 minutes walk literally from the Hollywood walk of fame etc but not right in the busy part of town, so you get the best of both worlds. Also a special mention for Darren, the General Manager who is certainly a man of his word and stays in touch with the guests on a daily basis.Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metroburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Magic Castle Hotel is terrific! During check in we were given sparkling lemonade to cool us down as it was so hot last weekend. When we got to our room there was a present and card on the dining room table for us it was a "Happy Anniversary" chocolate cake from the hotel, how thoughtful! The room was huge, cool, and really nice. We had a king suite which is a one bedroom apartment. It had a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the pool, kitchen, dining room, living room, hall, bathroom and bedroom. It had 2 air conditioning units so the room stayed nice and cool.
The staff was so nice, they packed a bag of goodies for us to take up to the Hollywood Bowl. They also provided a shuttle to the Hollywood Bowl. The staff was very professional, warm, and eager to help any way they could.
The hotel provides a daily LA Times even on Sunday, turn down service with Andes mints and a weather report for the next day. The hotel also offers a really good continental breakfast.
The hotel is in a perfect location for all that Hollywood has to offer. We walked back from the Bowl and the next day walked to the Pantages Theatre. Graumann's, Dolby and El Capitan Theaters are all within walking distance as is the Hollywood and Highland center. We would stay here again, and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianalexmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,125 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,861 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,983 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
700 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing